Skip to content

Creme de Maalox

December 29, 2010

Susan commented in my last entry:

Kathy – you totally blow me away – Ive just read over some of your posts from the last few weeks and I don’t know where you get all the energy to do all you do.

I’ve got a secret, Susan. I nap. I nap hard. I take advantage of not working and not attending school by laying down on a couch at around 3:00 every day and crashing. It might last 15 minutes, it might last an hour. But it gives me enough energy to last until 10 p.m., when I hurry up and get ready for bed so that the minute I hit the pillow, I’m out again.

When I go back to school in a couple of weeks, I might go through an adjustment period where I’ll have to nap as soon as I get home from classes. But maybe not. Maybe my classmates and best teacher in all the world (Hi Susan! But not the Susan who commented above!) will give me the extrovert’s energy I need.

It seems to me that the more busy I am during the day, the less likely I am to need a nap. However, if I’m just hanging out at the house and get to feeling tired but want to stay awake? I’ll run to Caribou for a very big caffeine-filled coffee. But even that won’t keep me from napping if I’m not running around the Twin Cities Metro area. I guess I’m like a shark and I just have to keep moving.

I had one of my 3-month check-ups with the oncologist yesterday. #2 in a 3 year series of 12 3-month check-ups. (I’m doing a countdown of follow-up appointments and number of times I have to refill my Tamoxifen prescription. I think I’m at 57 more refills on the Tamoxifen. It would help if I were better at math. I should probably give up on the countdowns.)

My blood work came out good. My physical exam went well. No lumps or bumps where they shouldn’t be.

I didn’t make my next appointment while I was there and I wish I would have because when I got a call this morning from Minnesota Oncology, I got a whole lot of nervous when I answered the phone. Thankfully it was just them calling to schedule my next appointment in March. They also scheduled me for a chest x-ray which freaks me out even though I know it’s just routine. But why am I having one at my 9 month check-up? Why not wait until the 1 year check-up? That just makes me think that the oncologist is suspicious. Which I said to the scheduler, who replied that my oncologist is aggressive with the follow-up appointments and the chest x-rays. Which makes me suspicious that I’ll get cancer from all of these chest x-rays.

You just can’t win with me, can you.

We just got our third New Year’s Eve party invite. I don’t know that I’ve ever been this popular before! Must be the hair. Or the fact that our friends are having more parties now that their children have moved out of the house. Woohoo! Partying through our 50s and 60s!

Talking about our aches and pains. Reminiscing about all of our dead friends. Playing cards with a deck of large cards. Eating fiber-filled snacks. Drinking Maalox-based cocktails.

Oh. Hey. There’s an idea! Creme de Maalox. On the rocks!

Party on, old people!

p.s. Speaking of New Years. Anyone joining Weight Watchers who’d like to be a part of my Secret Facebook Weightwatching group? Write on my facebook wall and I’ll invite you!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 2:37 pm

    I’ve been thinking about joining WW (ugh). If you friend me on Facebook (Cetta Sole Hartman), I’d love to join your super secret group!

  2. Maureen permalink
    December 29, 2010 8:40 pm

    I have actually heard really good things about the new program. I think I have post traumatic stress syndrome from my last venture to WW, but I might give it another try-still trying to decide.

    • December 29, 2010 9:41 pm

      Cetta – I added you to the secret facebook group! Maureen – I’d done WW before and didn’t think I could ever do it again. But the new program is wonderful!

  3. Jean permalink
    December 30, 2010 8:51 am

    You could probably make a grasshopper with the mint flavored maalox!!! Hee!!!!!

  4. December 30, 2010 10:13 pm

    I nap too!! I don’t do it every day, but I want to. I’m having a hard time sleeping at night (stress, doncha know — did you know moving blows major chunks?!), so I really need a nap. 3pm works for me too; ME’s down and G’s just gotten home from school.

    Also now I want to move to Minnesota so I can party with you. Make mine without the Maalox, please.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

