Skip to content

Custom Cupboards by Ricky Nugget

July 9, 2009

cupboardsJamie asked about the other kitchen cabinets. Wondering were it Ricky Nugget who made them, too. Only Jamie used proper English and I’m answering this while hopped up on a McDonald’s Sweet Tea.

Yes, Jamie, Ricky Nugget made all of our kitchen cabinets. From scratch!

Seriously! My little software engineer slash computer geek built us a kitchen!

The seeded glass in the cupboards came at a great discount through the old frame shop that I worked at. I was able to go to Mr. Frame Shop’s glass dealer and get the glass at a wholesale price. We’ve got enough left over to make two more doors. Which I have planned will happen on the big bunch of cupboards on the wall where the curio cabinet currently resides.

from the laundry room 2Those cabinets on top are Second Generation. He’d built another cabinet with garage doors for the toaster and coffee maker. But I didn’t like it. Now mind you, I was going to tolerate it because Ricky Nugget isn’t exactly what one would call a Happy Home Remodeller. There are a whole lot of swear words built into each and every one of our cupboards. And floorboards. And drawer slides.

kitchen from the family room 3I can’t remember who brought it up first, but we agreed that the first generation of those cupboards look a wee bit not  nice so he took them down and started from scratch. Those are gorgeous!

And! The doors close all by themselves, once you get them sort of close to closing.

lab tableSee the black countertop? That’s a science lab table top. What is that, slate? (I will not call to ask Ricky Nugget another thing about what our kitchen is made of for fear I will hear his eyes roll over the telephone) He got some of that stuff (there’s more in the garage) at an auction for a song. Did I  mention that every one of the cabinet knobs were free? My husband knows who to talk to.

And see the black oven fan? Ricky Nugget bought a white one on-line (way cheaper than either stainless or black) and took it to a local auto painter and had them paint it black. Definitely less expensive than going the traditional route.

Oh yeah, Jamie? We didn’t move that wall to the left of the windows. Ricky Nugget put in new windows that were a bit higher and less wide so it just looks like the room got bigger.

Note about the walls around the kitchen windows. Those aren’t finished. We purchased tin ceiling tiles that I’ve primed and need to be cut and placed as a backsplaash. Just one of the many many many things that still need to be done. You know, like window trim, crown moulding, wall/floor trim whatever that’s called, new windows and new trim on all the other windows, hallway pasted removal and new painting, and more!

Any more questions, oh curious ones? Because I’ve got lots of answers and lots of photos to back them up!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. simplyjamie permalink
    July 9, 2009 4:34 pm

    If your kitchen has this much awesomeness (totally a word), then I want to see the rest of your house when you are finished, because I predict it is an entire house of awesomeness!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    July 9, 2009 4:42 pm

    Have you had to replace any exterior doors and if so, what brand and do you like them? Sorry, we badly need to replace a french door/patio door and we’re clueless. And kind of desperate for opinions, obviously.

    Your kitchen is awesome so obviously you guys know what you’re doing!

    • July 9, 2009 5:29 pm

      Oh Gretchen. I’m so sorry that I cannot help you. It is not that we haven’t replaced a door with a french door because we have put french doors into our living room. However, Ricky Nugget has picked up the doors from a local auction house. I do know that Ricky Nugget is a firm believer in Andersen Windows and Doors. He also likes the Marvin windows. But I do believe that our french doors are neither. They were just something that fight right into the hole.

      Wish I could help more. But that’s what one gets when one is married to a discount scavenger.

  3. July 9, 2009 6:44 pm

    Wow, I love all that yellow and gold!
    Your kitchen looks warm and spacious.
    Please send Mr Nugget to my home next.

  4. July 10, 2009 1:46 am

    Love love love the kitchen — question about the toaster oven. What kind? Love it? Hate it? I am thinking about getting one but not sure if they are worth the investment or not.

  5. geebamom permalink
    July 10, 2009 7:56 am

    I love the jar full of cups!! Only you would think to do something so imaginative.

  6. Gretchen permalink
    July 10, 2009 8:37 am

    Eh, I figured it was worth a shot. My dad, brother and BIL are also scavengers but unfortunately not close by enough to come up with an awesome door for us. We usually end up bumbling around on our own for this stuff. But practically anything will be better than the 14 yr old piece of low-end Pella crap we have now.

  7. capitolady permalink
    July 12, 2009 4:04 pm

    Officially jealous!

  8. July 14, 2009 3:50 pm

    I think you should have named your new blog “kitchenp0rn” because Oh My God, I totally went orgasmic over your kitchen. So friggin’ awesomely badass!!!

Leave a Reply

