Skip to content

More Before and After

July 10, 2009

kitchen window betweenI’m just about done showing you the kitchen & family room remodel not yet done. Which means I’m not yet done showing you photos. But you’ll get a photo break until the remodel is actually done. Hopefully in our lifetimes.

I still can’t believe that my kitchen used to look like this. I do miss the two ovens I had, though. See the stove & oven there on the left? Look a little to the right and you’ll see a second oven. That thing leaked heat like nobody’s business but it was so nice to have a second oven. I heard that at one point in time there was a third oven in the laundry room, just left of the stove & oven. A neighbor said the original owners kept a kosher kitchen. I’m not sure what that would entail.

family room window betweenSee that little pass-through window on the right? That looked into the family room. This was the other side.

It was a decent-sized kitchen. But that meant the family room and the dining rooms were the size of closets.

 

 

kitchen work areaAnd the way those little rooms kept everyone separated. This house is full of little rooms. Besides the family room, we’ve got a living room and a den. And a basement family room. There’s another room next to the basement family room that currently serves as my studio. Plus an entire unfinished basement that’s used for storage and general dumping grounds.

Then there are the bedrooms and a little hallway sitting area on the top floor. Where I used to keep a twin bed for late-night reading.

The living room is decorated nicely but the rest of the house needs to catch up. I’ll share the living room with you another time.

toaster ovenMarna asked about the toaster oven. It’s a General Electric that I picked up at Wal*Mart while it was on sale. Maybe $40? $50? Can’t remember. The only reason I picked this one is because it seemed big enough for small pizzas and looked like it would match my kitchen. It works just fine. But it scares me. I already have a huge scar on one of my arms because I didn’t respect the heating elements.

Gretchen asked about exterior doors. Might Ricky Nugget have an opinion on them. This is pretty much Ricky Nugget’s opinion on what’s a good door or window: Find yourself an auction house where you can scavenge a nice looking door that will fit into the hole of need. This is how he bought the french doors he put into the living room and on the den. We’re currently looking for 18 windows and Ricky Nugget’s partial to Andersen or Marvin windows. So far the best prices have been from Home Depot. And people, we have friends who are contractors that Ricky Nugget’s been bugging for pricing. He was tempted to accept a bid for some cheap windows that weren’t Andersen or Marvin. But then they seemed really cheaply constructed so he’s back to the Home Depot pricing. He just can’t seem to make the monetary leap and order them. Ricky Nugget does not like parting with his money.

family room from the curioThere have been many request for Ricky Nuggets carpentery skills. Ain’t gonna happen, ladies. Ricky Nugget and his skills are all mine.

 

 

 

So yesterday afternoon I had my meeting at the Secretarial School. Which isn’t really a secretarial school. It’s a business school that happens to have a medical administrative assistant program. It’s a nice program but it’s not going to happen. Because it would cost at least $24,000 to get their degree. They don’t have a short-time certificate, which is more of what I’m looking for. I don’t need to go for a two-year program. All I want is specific classes in medical terminology, coding and medical ethics. I’ve already got the rest of the administrative assistant skillz.

I was pretty bummed. The place is close to home and they have some great classes to offer. They just don’t seem willing to offer ala carte classes. And I really don’t think I need to be taking any keyboarding or business communication classes.

Oh well. There are other options. I just have to find them.

Reminder Before I Go: This is the last day of the 50% off everything sale at Kitschin Art!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ruth from SC permalink
    July 10, 2009 12:02 pm

    Did you ask at the school about financial help? Sometimes they have some wonderful money available for housewives looking to enter the job market………….

  2. July 10, 2009 12:30 pm

    See that was my biggest worry the heating element and getting burned! Ack!

  3. July 10, 2009 3:20 pm

    “Ricky Nugget and his skills are all mine.”

    Oh for heaven’s sake, Kathy. I’m sure Monsieur Nugget has enough skills to go around! Just sayin’ … (and I’m closer to the ice road than you are … surely he’ll want to come my way once he knows there’s an invitation…).

    Some people’s kids … just so … so … all about themSELVES. Hmph.

    🙂

  4. July 10, 2009 3:26 pm

    Check out a technical school for those classes, much cheaper. Been there, done that, got the certificate. Good Luck.

  5. capitolady permalink
    July 12, 2009 3:54 pm

    Damn! Missed the sale! Anyways, I looked into that as well. Just nothing out there in this tiny town.

  6. Jean permalink
    July 13, 2009 7:24 am

    Hope your trip today is…um…peaceful.

  7. July 13, 2009 11:18 pm

    That sure is one good looking kitchen.

  8. July 14, 2009 8:55 am

    You have done wonderful things to your house. The kitchen is to die for! RN is a master, indeed.

Leave a Reply

