Skip to content

Chester Drawers

July 21, 2009

9 drawer just frontOne day I went away for a bit and by the time I got back, this was sitting in the kitchen.

And then, because if a surface is bare and I have to, I put stuff on top of it and then started taking pictures.

It’s a sickness. Horizontal surfaces are for stuff.

This is not the end result of this wall. Nay. This is a practice chester drawers* that Ricky Nugget made. Just so he could say that he did it.

9 drawer full onAnd now that his workshop has more space in it (he’s been complaining about the chester drawers getting in his way thereby slowing down the remodelling progress for months!) he can maybe work on the trim and the back wall and the windows.

The wood he used to make the chester drawers is reclaimed wood. He picked it up at an auction, which is where my remodelling scavenger picks up most of his supplies, including the guy down the street, who he accidentally met when buying the butcher block counter tops from the Minneapolis School Auction. Met a guy who lives 4 doors down that we’ve never seen before. They split the wood and became woodworking buddies from that day on. Anytime anyone needs anything to be lifted or moved or showed off to, they call each other.

9 drawer topSo this wood for the chester drawers is reclaimed from a horse corral. Which explains why the wood has some dark spots. Those would be horse rubbing against the wood stain.

Which is really cool if you can stop imagining horse hair being stuck in the cracks. I haven’t seen any and I have looked very closely but still, there could be microscopic hair that I can’t see with my naked eye.

But that didn’t stop me from putting stuff on top and filling up every one of those drawers in under 10 minutes.

9 drawer woodsmithBy the way, Ricky Nugget is not coming to your house. I took a picture of the magazine Ricky Nugget got the chester drawer pattern from . You’re on your own for the manpower. You can’t have mine. Sorry.

*Ricky Nugget’s Mom has a thing about making up her own words. Chester Drawers is a fine example.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. dakotagirl permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:36 am

    You better be damn nice to Ricky Nugget, and give him 50 pumps now and then, so he keeps making beautiful stuff. Nice Job Ricky!

  2. Ruth from SC permalink
    July 21, 2009 8:52 am

    Chester is gorgeous!!

  3. July 21, 2009 9:15 am

    You married well, I have to say. Crafty AND witty! You hit the jackpot, I’m just sayin’. I love that he made that from reclaimed wood. It’s gorgeous.

  4. July 21, 2009 9:38 am

    Holy crap, that is GORGEOUS. (I’m not even going to try to fool myself that Fred would ever make me something like that. He might MEAN to, but I don’t see it actually happening. Damnit.)

  5. Kat permalink
    July 21, 2009 9:52 am

    That’s gorgeous!! I’m so jealous. 🙂

  6. July 21, 2009 11:59 am

    That looks beautiful. And I love the idea of using wood that has proven its strength.

    But you gotta watch out for my brain — or disorder thereof. I was wondering why Chester’s pants were in your kitchen…

  7. Lisa permalink
    July 21, 2009 5:24 pm

    Such talent. And I love the way it’s decorated. I actually used to think they were called chester drawers. I was an adult before I learned the proper terminology. I also used to think “cup of coffee” was “couple coffee.” It’s just how I heard it!

  8. Karen permalink
    July 23, 2009 12:08 am

    My mom calls them chester drawers, too–so of course, I’ve used the term myself. Now I know that is should be chest of drawers–but I like chester drawers better. HA.

Leave a Reply

