Skip to content

Pricey Pets

September 4, 2009

I don’t have class on Fridays – did I tell you that? I just totally wasted my day off. Instead of getting ahead in my homework (2 tests next week…one of them all about the prepositions and adjectives and the conjunctions and boy, am I screwed) I took 2 benadryl and called it a day. My allergies are killing me and I am taking up prayer just so I can prayer for an early frost.

yodasept07Before I got all hopped up on the Benadryl I had to take Yoda, our 12-year-old cat, into the Vet’s office for a blood do-over. I’d taken her and Scooter in for their annual check-up and Yoda’s bloodwork showed possible diabetes and possible heartworm.

My cats are pretty much inside cats. Except for the 2 minutes each week that I sit outside on the patio with them. And apparently that’s all it takes for my cat to be bitten by an infected mosquito to get heartworm. In a summer that’s been behind in the rain therefore lower in mosquito population.

Poor Yoda. If she’s diabetic? There is no way in hell I’m going to give her insulin injections. After having to give her old buddy, Oreo, saline, with a 10-gauge needle (which is frickin’ huge!) for half a year, I vowed to never use a needle on a cat, ever again. So keep your fingers crossed that Yoda’s blood report will be okay because if it’s not? Well, I just hate to say it, but it’s not going to be a happy story ending.

I forgot to tell you but last week, when I’d taken Stella Mirra, retrieved golden, in for some shots (it was an expensive week!), I had my friend, our vet, write a prescription for a Finished Fenced-In Back Yard, and handed it over to Ricky Nugget for the filling. Of it. (crap! I’m grammatically screwed!) I’ve been at him ever since we got Stella, to finish the last part of our yard that’s not fenced in so that Stella can run and run and run in our yard. But he’s been stubborn about not doing it.  He doesn’t like me suggestin handyman projects. He gets one little piece of paper from our Deb (who he’s got a wee bit of a crush on) and BAM! He’s going to work on the fence this week.

I wonder if I can get Deb to write a prescription for those outdoor lights I bought at the beginning of summer?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. erinclot permalink
    September 4, 2009 7:01 pm

    John will only do things on his own if there are dire consequences. For example when we were dating I told him if he left the toilet seat up it might kill the cat because I use the bleach tablet things to keep it fresh. He’s never left the seat up and I haven’t used the bleach things for years. Now if I need something done I just say- “If you don’t do this, it might kill the cat.” It always gets done.

  2. yaketyyak permalink
    September 5, 2009 7:40 am

    I had to give my daughter’s diabetic cat his insulin shot once and it wasn’t as bad as I feared. Piece of cake, actually.

  3. September 5, 2009 8:27 am

    Stella will love her fenced in yard…and so will your joints! The vet could most certainly write the RX for the lights – Stella will need them when she poops at night in her prescribed fenced-in yard!

  4. September 5, 2009 11:57 pm

    Gord will do anything in our back yard as long as I don’t suggest it…asshole.

Leave a Reply

