Skip to content

The Old Man And The Hip Replacement

September 8, 2009

fence1Way to go Jean! You were right – My husband started the new fence. Funny how somebody else telling him to do it improves his hearing. I’m wondering if I can get Deb, friend and DVM to write a script for an inground pool?

Here’s a life lesson for you kids who still have a full life ahead of you…don’t play sports. Don’t exercise. Don’t even think about it. Go sit down. Grab some chips. Put your feet up.

fence2You see, my husband, The Big Nugget, played recreational soccer for 20 years. He was Ricky Nugget, Runner Extraordinaire. He ran up the field, he ran down the field. For two decades. Fast little fucker.

And now?

His hips are full of the arthritis.

Eventually the old guy’s going to have to have hip replacement surgery. That’s after he’s taken so much Advil that his kidneys are shot.

fence3I am married to a Geezer, my friends. Poor guy. Not even 50 and his hips have given out. I’m kind of hoping that he’ll have the surgery sooner than later. Not that surgery doesn’t scare the poo out of a person. It would be awesome if he could be without pain earlier.

But hey, I still like him. Especially after what he built for me and the retrieved golden. It makes me even more impressed after today’s hip health news.

fence4Just a few more panels to go and I can open the back door and let the dog go squirrel-chasing crazy!

So today at school? Two tests. One in Receptionist Skills – I think I did pretty good, and one in Medical Terminology – I also think I did pretty good. If I understood the questions correctly. Sometimes I wonder what happened to my comprehension skills.

fence5I’ll get both test results on Thursday. The same day I have two more tests – One in Business English (screwed!) and one in Word Processing (which is tested how, pray tell?)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 10:00 pm

    Your fence looks lurvely! Way to go, Mr Nugget!

    My husband is only 35 and already his knees are shot. Years and years and years of running up and down ladders on board ship, plus the wear and tear of being a brawny guy to begin with. And the hips aren’t far behind. He’s been complaining of pain in both areas since we started dating ten years ago. He’s old before his time, I’m telling you.

  2. September 9, 2009 8:23 am

    My sister had a hip replaced several years ago. She looked online for a doctor who used a newer technique that didn’t cut the big muscle there. Recovery was comparatively simple — but then, she believed that not getting to walk again was *not* an option.

  3. September 9, 2009 12:44 pm

    Hip surgery must be the “in” operation these days. Mine is scheduled for December 3rd.

  4. Floweer permalink
    September 9, 2009 4:23 pm

    Nice fence. Ellie Myrtle would love to come over and try it out. We will have a play date for moms and dogs – soon.

  5. Carol permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:50 pm

    Minimally invasive hip surgery-as mentioned by someone else-much better way. My mom had it this summer. I am a nurse on a surgical floor where we don’t have that so encouraged her to do it elsewhere. Oh yeah, great fence!

Leave a Reply

