Skip to content

Postal

September 12, 2009

Our mailbox is one of those rural types that sits on a post across the street from our house. A suburb of over 80,000 people and we are forced to have a rural mailbox.

I thought it was because we didn’t have sidewalks. But neighbors to the north of us have sidewalks and they also have to have rural mailboxes. While the neighbors directly behind us have mailboxes affixed to their homes. No sidewalks in front of their houses. I don’t understand the postal rules. But I’m pretty sure they weren’t formed by a committee of rocket scientists or people with common sense. I might even go so far as to guess that our mailbox rules were made by a very fat and asthmatic committee, all refusing to walk.

Got that off of my chest.

My mail carrier sometimes is not in the mood to bring packages to our door and instead, shoves them into our rural mailbox. Whether the package is bigger than the mailbox or not. Doesn’t matter. Skippy the Mailman doesn’t want to get out of his truck and walk down our driveway, Skippy the Mailman goes against nature and squishes a rectangular package into a mailbox-shaped hole.

There have been occasions where I’d had to work so hard to get a package out of the mailbox, I’ve almost yanked the post right out of the cement. Other times, I’ve been tempted to call the fire department and ask them to bring their Jaws of Life with them.

postal1Yesterday, this was shoved into the mailbox.

Now I  understand that sometimes packages get squished while enroute. This one had a long trip. All the way from Honolulu, Hawaii to Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Somehow, somewhere, it got sat on or something. So the post office put it in plastic wrap and got it into the hands of our route’s carrier.

postal2A carrier who has had some issues with me before and didn’t want to face me with this one. So instead he shoved it into the mailbox. Erego the Mailbox Shape it has become.

I took it to the post office this morning. I just wanted to let them know that they’ve got to remind our carrier that packages need to be brought to the front door and not changed to accomodate the fact the he’s too damned lazy to hoist his fat ass out of his truck. Apparently, carrier boy forgot the rules and regulations at his end.

Lord, I am tired of being the world’s reminder.

It took forfrickinever for the supervisor to come the mail counter. I was patient. I was polite. I waited for ten minutes. When she finally Tim-Conway-Old-Man’ed her way up front, I was still polite. I said “I believe I am a victim of adding insult to injury”.

“Hunh” she replied.

“Hunh, indeed” I smart-assed back at her and then I told her that all I wanted was for her to tell my carrier to bring packages to the front door instead of shoving them into a hole they do not fit into.

“Unkay” she said and then grabbed a little memo pad, wrote my address down and “bring packages to door”.

Action! Adventure! Way to take control of the situation with your little 3 x 5″ notepad!

They deliver your mail through rain, sleet or snow. Hell, they’ll even bulldoze their way through spatial matters!

kittytearsAnd yes, poor treatment of Priority Mail brings tears to my kitty’s eyes.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2009 2:32 pm

    Some people! Makes me glad we have a good mail carrier. Of course, if we didn’t, I could always take it up with him after hours, since I’m marrying him in two weeks…Sorry for your trouble, though! How they ever managed to fit that big a package into your mailbox just boggles the mind.

  2. September 12, 2009 2:51 pm

    Someone recently sent a letter to our newspaper regarding various kinds of mailboxes on posts. “Why,” it asked, “can’t they just affix the mailboxes to the buildings, the way they used to be?”

    Well, in our neighborhood they are on the houses. I wouldn’t have it any other way, as there are teens with nothing better to do than drive down the road with baseball bats to knock the mailboxeds off their posts.

    Fortunately, in this small town, our postal workers are still polite and efficient. I wonder where the PO found them.

  3. September 12, 2009 7:16 pm

    And where we live you’re lucky if the mail even makes it into the mailbox. We’ve got a rural box also, but of course then, we’re rural. It’s not uncommon for me to find wet mail laying on the ground in the spring after the snow has melted – and our mail man WILL NOT bring anything to the house. He just leaves a note in the mailbox that we have a package in the post office to pick up – even if it’s small enough to fit into the mailbox. We just call him the crabby curmudgeon. He should have retired 30 years ago. I think he’s all of 106 or so.

  4. September 12, 2009 8:45 pm

    Oh my God – that’s horrible! But don’t you think it’s funny how us bloggers will stop and take a picture of something like that so we can do our poast later?

  5. September 13, 2009 1:40 am

    HEY! I’m Nosy – what was in That Package????? And in what condition were the Contents of That Package?

  6. September 13, 2009 8:39 am

    I’m with Paula — what’s in the package?? I have been fortunate in my mail carriers. When I lived in WA, I became good friends with both of them (the first one transferred to another route), and I used to go outside when I heard the truck coming and talk with them for a while. One gave Grace a first-birthday present, and the other is a Facebook friend of mine. Here, I don’t know our mail carriers, but they seem to be okay. One is an adorable young-ish guy with a beard, but another is this stick-thin woman of 60-some (she could be younger, but her skinniness has really aged her) with bad lipstick. She seems really grumpy, but I haven’t found fault with her delivery. Except that I don’t seem to be receiving catalogs anymore…

  7. September 14, 2009 6:32 am

    Our mailbox is a source of contention for me as well. We have cluster boxes here. (Yes, I always think of cluster f**k when I hear them referred to that way.) They’re not even located on our street. We have to go to the next side street to get our mail. We’ve currently managed to lose both keys to our mailbox. A visit to the post office is in our near future. Now…go open that box! Not knowing what is in it is hurting my OCD!

  8. September 14, 2009 10:35 am

    Same deal here. Population 85,000 and my mailbox is across the street and down one house. No mail delivery at my end of the street. Yes, my street consisting of a whopping ten houses has been divided in half for mail delivery. Most packages are left on the porch; only a couple of squished ones over the years. One lazyass carrier suggested I get a larger mailbox.

Leave a Reply

