Skip to content

Important Apple Science

September 13, 2009

People? I will let you know what is in that package when I know what is in that package. As of this moment, Sunday morning, about 10 a.m., the package remains unopened.

The package that was shoved into our mailbox at approximately 4 p.m., Friday.

The Big Nugget doesn’t seem to care about the contents. And to be honest, I haven’t said anything to him about opening it. Is this weird? Is there something clairvoyant going on here and we feel it would be better to leave it alone?

I mean, come on! It came from Honolulu. From The Big Nugget’s sister, who sometimes includes gifts of edible nature. Coconut edible things. She knows I love the coconut and she knows that one of her nephews loves the coconut.

Weird.

I still don’t feel the need to run upstairs and insist he open it.

Last night at approximately 9:45 p.m., The Big Nugget and I made a run to the grocery store for apples.

In important Apple News here in the Twin Cities, it was announced a new apple on the market, the Sweet Tango. An apple hybrid of the Honeycrisp and the Zestar. Sweet and Tart

Really. That’s a link for you with the big apple news!

Ricky Nugget loves the flavor of tart. Sure! It’s a flavor!

He’s been on this lemon-flavored kick. I’ve searched high and low for the popsicles that include yellow and lemon. Not yellow and banana. Hell, Mr. Nugget, himself, has made recent appearances at grocery stores, in search of lemon popsicles. Mr. Nugget hasn’t stepped foot in a grocery store unless I’ve had surgery or under extreme duress.

Oh. And when he needs his particular brand of Mexican salsa, which is not found in our regular grocery store or through the on-line grocery store.

So. Where was I?

Apples.

sweet_tango_apple01The University of Minnesota has an entire science department that deals in all things, apple. The University of Minnesota is the creator of the Honeycrisp apple. Which, by the way, is the best apple in all of the world. It’s sweet. I dislike tart in an apple. Love sweet. Go Gophers!

Back in the day, when the Honeycrisp Apple made the news, and was only found at the University of Minnesota apple store, near the Minnesota Arboretum, several suburbs away; Ricky Nugget and I got in the car and went out to fetch a bag or two.

And now…an apple hybrid that made the news? In my grocery store for a limited time?

We hopped in the car and grabbed three bags of apples:

1. The new Sweet Tango

2. The original Honeycrisp

3. A big bag of Zestars, tartest apple known to me

Today, there will be a taste-testing apple fest going on in this house. Unless Ricky Nugget polished off all the Sweet Tangos. Which may have happened. Hell, on the way home from the grocery store last night he wanted to start eating them.

“You have to wash them first” I said.

Apple in hand, he replied, “No I don’t”.

“Well, if you don’t mind eating other people’s bugers, have at it” I said.

The Big Nugget said nothing, sighed, and put the apple back in the bag.

The Lover of Tart with My Mother

The Lover of Tart with My Mother

Almost 50 years old and he didn’t know this about fresh grocery produce?

I did try a bite of a Sweet Tango last night and I give it a thumbs eh. Too tart for my preciousness.  But hey, the tart goes away when you’ve got a nice slice of Holland Gouda on top.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2009 2:40 pm

    I wrote a post about apples, six years ago:
    http://l-empress.liscious.net/older/005377.html
    They’re very good for me. I like Granny Smith for eating out of hand; they are hard and tart.

  2. Lyndell permalink
    September 13, 2009 6:07 pm

    Love the picture of Nugget with your Mom. I vote Braeburn as my favorite apple.

  3. September 13, 2009 7:11 pm

    Please stop telling the general public about the manna from heaven that is the Honeycrisp apple. They are already too expensive and hard to find…. if everyone tastes them, they will love them like I do, and there will be fewer of them for ME ME MINE ALL MINE. Ahem. Thank you.

  4. Jean permalink
    September 14, 2009 7:28 am

    That picture of you is CRYING to be on a t-shirt! So is that one of your mom and Ricky. In sepia, on a tan tshirt! I’ll take one of each!!!

    They need captions!

  5. Lisa permalink
    September 14, 2009 8:38 am

    I had never heard of Honeycrisp until two years ago, when they started appearing in Ames Iowa grocery stores during autumn. They are the best apples every. I’ve been on the lookout the last couple of weeks, and today I will continue my quest to see if they are, once again, IN THE STORES. I’ll also now be on the lookout for Sweet Tango. Sounds like they’d be reight up hubby’s alley.

  6. September 14, 2009 12:18 pm

    You’d better be calling for us to join you the next time you’re out hunting for special Minnesota Apples. And the Ba NEVER washes ANY fruit. Which has now been passed along to Mr. Boo. I’m assuming they’ll both die soon from pesticide and buger poisoning in their systems.

  7. October 12, 2009 11:20 am

    I stand here today humbled by the task before [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]dofus kamas[/url], grateful for the trust you have bestowed, mindful of the sacrifices borne by our [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]cheap dofus kamas[/url]. I thank President [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]dofus[/url] for his service to [url=http://www.bawwgt.com]buy dofus kamas[/url], as well as the generosity and cooperation he has shown throughout this transition.

Leave a Reply

