Skip to content

Stat!

September 23, 2009

I called my mom this afternoon, wanting to look at her old Physician’s Desk Reference. We were looking at PDRs today in class.

“Mom, do you still have your PDR?” I asked.

“I think so!” she said and then set down her phone and went off to look for it. A few minutes later she came back.

“I think I threw it away. Why?”

“We were looking at them in class today and I wanted to know what year yours was dated” I asked.

“Maybe it’s in the t.v. room!” she said and set down the phone (before I could stop her) and wandered off to look for it again.

Cripes. Lady. Don’t leave me hangin’.

A few minutes later she came back, again, and said “Nope. I must have thrown it away. I won that at the hospital one year. I never win anything and one day, I won that damn thing!”

I did not mention it again. I was getting tired of being set down on the boomerang countertop, original to the house.

I told her I was thinking about doing some videoblogging with her. Thinking she would ask me what I was talking about. Not having a computer, herself, how would she know?

“I remember when we had to sharpen the hypodermic needles ourselves!”

Okay. Mom’s already started.

“And when I had to call a Code Blue to the doctor, I was the Code Blue until he got there! One time I had to administer gas!”

“Mom! Wait for the webcam!”

“When I was in school at the one-room schoolhouse, we warmed our cocoa up on a woodburning stove, right in class!”

“Yes. That’s exactly stuff we’re going to talk about” I said, trying to get her to save her good stuff for the camera.

“And one time! I had to keep the phlegm from choking a female patient. All night long, I sat up with her. She died the next day, anyway. She had polio. I don’t know how I didn’t get it!”

“Mom?”

“And I had this one patient that was so mean, I would toss the washcloth into his room and say ‘clean yourself!'”

People! I need to get that webcam, stat!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2009 7:01 pm

    Oh yes, please do!! I love it when the older folks reminisce. That’s not sarcasm; I’m being serious.

  2. September 23, 2009 8:46 pm

    I am waiting anxiously for your mom’s stories… I think being funny must be a family trait.

  3. September 26, 2009 10:20 am

    A) Heart your mom

    B) Heart boomerang countertops

    C) Have a PDR, but it’s probably not the same as your mom’s from 1706 or whenever

Leave a Reply

