Skip to content

Medicating Myself with Food

October 3, 2009

All those damn tests are behind me now. Just one goofy document production test in Word this week.

I went out to a sake bar with the lap and the akk this week. I had no idea that I even liked sake but I’m always up for trying something new with my computer-pretend- turned real-friends.

I like sake. Maybe even sort of love it. Not enough to become an alcoholic over it, but enough to know that I’ll be jonesing it from time to time.

The food was pretty good, too. And the chef who came out to talk to us? Adorable. In a pat-his-widdle-young-head kind of way.

My most fond memories of the night’s conversation? lap’s recall of a pair of four dollar shoes she once got, as a child, from the Sears Surplus Store in my suburb. A store I frequented at least weekly with my mom, grandma and Great Aunt Effie. So I imagine we crossed paths when we were kids before finding friendship in our beyond-kid years.

And akk’s tale of her daughter’s meltdown over a pair of pony-embellished clogs. I could see the Bits throwing herself down as though I was there. Naughty little Bits. Good thing she’s so cute!

Thanks for the fun, gals! And another fine restaurant was found!

~~~

I am currently suffering from a broken heart. After six months of being an item, my youngest son and his girlfriend broke up. I feel bad for the both of them. They’re both so sweet.

But what about me?

I loved having a girl around!

I loved having a girl around who managed to get my kid to stop playing World of Warcraft on-line from time to time!

And now, after six months of carting their butts back and forth, as neither of them had their license, even though they were both old enough to have had them a year and more ago, she went and got her driver’s license (4 times is a charm!) If only she’d had her license when they were dating, I wouldn’t have had that much contact with her and wouldn’t be so sad about the break-up.

I don’t want to break in any new girlfriends. This one was the perfect fit for our family.

*sigh*

Young love. It’s killing me.

I’ll be okay though. Don’t you worry about me.

~~~

I went to the doctor the other day. Paid for sympathy for my plantars fasciitis. Got my money’s worth. I also got some good advice, a refill on my Xanax (20 pills lasted me a year and a half last time!) and another lecture on weight loss.

But this time I am listening and heeding his advice.

After watching my mother have to deal with a faulty aortic valve, that can’t be repaired, and seeing my weight and my blood pressure creep up; it’s time. Well, it’s beyond time but just shush.

And so, I’ve begun my new life as a healthy eater.

I went right from the doctor’s office to Barnes & Noble. In search of a good salad cookbook. Because the 250+ cookbooks I already have at home have no salad recipes in them.

I am a liar. I own every Jamie Oliver cookbook. He loves salads. I even own a Williams-Sonoma Salads cookbook for stupid’s sake.

I was feeling sad about breaking with my old life of unhealthy eating and needed to medicate myself, like I normally do, with food. Only this is my new life and medicating myself with food is behind me.

Then I went to the grocery store yesterday and plunked down over $200 for groceries. Produce is expensive.

But I’m so worth it. Ain’t I?

The doctor told me to stop having meat for dinner. Not always, but mostly. He told me to have  a huge bowl of salad, with a sprinkling of cheese, for dinner. And if I felt hungry later on, have a little bowl of cereal with 1% or skim milk.

Not being addicted to salads, I am trying to find a way to make salads fun. So last night for dinner, I made The Pioneer Woman’s Black Eyed Pea Salsa. Only I used pinto beans because I’d gone to the grocery store twice in the same afternoon and didn’t buy black eyed peas either time, even though they were written on my two grocery lists. I cut the amount of dressing in half and then I served one cup of the salsa on a bed of butter lettuce. I was so full I thought I was going to die!

Tonight for dinner I’m making my corn salsa and having it on lettuce. I might party and have some southwestern chicken on top.

I’m going to lose the weight I need to, dammit!

~~~

Which should be a whole lot easier this week as I am shivering for exercise. I turned the furnace on at the beginning of this week and realized yesterday that it hadn’t been working at all. I called our gas company, who we pay a monthly fee to for the sake of keeping our furnace alive. They can’t come out until next Thursday. It’s supposed to get down to 37 tonight. Dammit, again!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. chickiedoodle permalink
    October 3, 2009 10:41 am

    This is an awesome list of salads, too: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/22/dining/22mlist.html

  2. October 3, 2009 11:32 am

    There are lots of things to go into salads besides greens, y’know. Raw broccoli florets. Or cauliflower florets. Chick peas (maybe you know them as garbanzos). Leftover cooked green beans. Mushrooms. Orange slices or tangerine segments.

    Have you ever taken cole slaw mix and dressed it with vinegar and oil instead of mayonnaise. (They call that health salad around here.)

    I once worked with a woman who prepared a large container of salad greens on Sunday and took a little of it each day for her lunch. (I think I would put a paper towel in the container to help keep it fresh.)

    It is well worth your while to buy very small amounts of vegetables — even if there’s a large economy pack right next to it — until you find out which ones you like the best. And consider this: when you serve cooked vegetables, try a small amount of salad dressing on them instead of butter or cheese. (I know it’s good tasting, but cheese is the enemy.)

  3. October 3, 2009 1:18 pm

    Kath, my younger sister has high cholesterol and high blood pressure and has started taking medications for it. I just read about a study suggesting that four or five cups a day of green tea may bring both down. Those medications scare me, especially for you young women! There is a history of death by heart attack in people my age and younger, on my dad’s mom’s side. Not advocating stopping your meds; just saying that if the green tea thing is true, one might be able to reduce them or even get off them one day. My sister is also struggling with getting and keeping weight off.

    • October 3, 2009 1:52 pm

      Thankfully, I’m not on meds, Kate. I’m trying to avoid meds. For as long as possible – hopefully forever!

  4. October 3, 2009 3:12 pm

    Fish oil capsules have worked wonders on the blood pressure of several people I know.

    I hear you on the girlfriend breakup thing. So sad. Michael is currently dating someone he’s been with for about a year and a half. I really love her, she’s so nice and fits in so well around here. All my friends say not to get too attached, it will be too hard when they break up. But I don’t want them to break up, darnit!

  5. goatbarnwitch permalink
    October 3, 2009 4:13 pm

    Oats for cholesterol and I can offer you the FARMER’S DIET PROGRAM if you can manage to come east for a bit. I promise you will be surrounded by cheese and forced to look at huge mounds of baked goods at farmer’s market stands but you will have absolutely no time to eat and when you find time sleep will be more important. Sooo…. when ya wanna sign up? Or… you could lock youself into the jewlery studio with nothing but lettuce, tomatoes, sunflower seeds, chickpeas, lemon juice and olive oil.

  6. October 6, 2009 8:41 pm

    Myself, I’m back on Weight Watchers. I love salads – I just hate making them with the rinsing and the cutting and the chopping. Good Luck!

  7. October 8, 2009 8:10 pm

    I lost a lot of weight by not drinking soda (pop) and just eating half portions of everything. That poop yogurt helps too *grin*. When I say a lot I mean from a size 12 to a size 6.

Leave a Reply

