Skip to content

Addicted to Podium

October 28, 2009

So that paper I did on Humor Therapy turned into a power point presentation in front of my medical office procedures class today.

Yesterday I kept going back and forth:

To Xanax or not to Xanax.

It’s such a nice little class, filled with people who don’t all hate me. Yet. It’s nothing like standing up in front of my family, sharing a little something. There, I know that at least 50% of the people don’t like me much and one of them, my mother, can’t stand my guts (I really wish she’d admit to it).

So there I was. Xanax. No Xanax. When it hit me…I have Xanax, why not use it?

And so I did.

And I had 100% fun standing up in front of class, giving my speech, complete with my very first, ever, power point presentation.

Tomorrow in reception skills class I have to stand in a large room and make an introduction, using a microphone.

I could try it without the Xanax, but really, why?

Gee thee behind me, fear of public speaking!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 6:41 am

    I just love you. Not in a weird way. Ok, I guess it is weird, since we’ve never even spoken to each other. Your entries always seem like we’re chatting on the phone. I love the way you say what you think. I love that I don’t dare sip my coffee while reading your entries, because I know you’re going to throw in a funny line and make me spew coffee all over my computer.

  2. October 29, 2009 8:17 am

    I’m glad you got through it; I had no doubt you could, but you had some doubt… The first time is always the hardest. Next thing you know, you’ll be saving stuff to work into an Open Mike routine.

  3. October 29, 2009 8:31 am

    Wow, way to go! I have a horrendous fear of standing up in front of people and talking. Yeeesh. I’m so glad it went so well for you!

  4. katie permalink
    October 29, 2009 2:04 pm

    Now that you’ve got the first one behind you, you can save that Xanax for when you REALLY need it! You can drive a hard bargain to strangers in NYC = you can do this…..without further Xanax!! Of this, I am SURE!!

  5. Beth permalink
    October 29, 2009 3:06 pm

    You’re awesome and I’m glad you’re helping yourself when you need to. I’m going to get me some Xanax and see if it helps make me NOT feel like peeing when I have to do high anxiety things!! OK – I put that out there….now I have to ask, would the Xanax help?

    I hear you on the mom issue, it’s SO complex. And the most complicated part is how can a mother not accept their child? How is it possible to let your child know in various ways you can’t stand them? And how in the hell is it possible people don’t like you? I don’t know you, but from your writing I can tell you are fantastic!

    Best wishes on the next speech however you have to get through it.

Leave a Reply

