Skip to content

Nine Years Later

October 31, 2009

cakeandchampagneI can’t let November 1st arrive without first celebrating my blog anniversary. 9 years ago this very night, October 31, 2000, I sat down at the computer and started my diaryland blog. The rest has been a roller coaster of entries and comments and blog movings and meeting people in real life.

I’m glad I started blogging. I still love it, almost a decade later.

Thank you for reading and being supportive, and for being asshats when you felt the need to share your asshat with me. If it weren’t for the asshats, the rest of us wouldn’t look so danged pretty. I like to look pretty. Keeping on asshatting! (Hey! Is that a gerund?!)

And what a wonderful way to celebrate my nine blogging years…heading to downtown Minneapolis so see Ben Folds with the Minnesota Orchestra.  It was really good. Not great, but really good.

He’s so talented. And such a geek. I love talented geeks.

Guess I should get off of the computer and go hang out with my own talented geek.

Keep reading!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2009 11:56 pm

    Happy blog-versary! And that sounds like a total appropriate way to celebrate!. Here’s to many more years of writing! Bels

  2. November 1, 2009 9:38 am

    Happy blog-a-versary! I’m so glad I’ve found you and you are still blogging all these years later.

  3. Lori permalink
    November 1, 2009 1:50 pm

    Congrats! I’ve only been reading for the last year or so, but I’m so glad I found you!

  4. poolagirl permalink
    November 1, 2009 1:54 pm

    Happy blog-o-versary! I have read you for a very long time. At the beginning, I thought you were Annette Funicello in disguise. Why? I have no idea. Good thing you aren’t Annette. I make no sense. Bye!

  5. November 1, 2009 2:33 pm

    Happy Anniversary! I’ve been one of your semi-regular asshats for all 9 years. Keep ’em coming!

  6. November 1, 2009 2:45 pm

    Well, happy anniversary to you, and good celebrations for the rest of us. We’re so lucky you started.

  7. November 1, 2009 3:05 pm

    Thanks guys! It’s people like you who remind me of why blogging is such a great thing. And Poolie? I think you thought I was Annette Funicello because I had Connie Francis’ picture on my original Diaryland diary. Connie Francis is the poor man’s Annette Funicello. The crazy Annette Funicello.

    Also? I’m thinking it might be time to bring back the Celebrity Dibs List. Start ogling those celebrities! But keep your hands off of my Michael Keaton!

  8. November 1, 2009 7:21 pm

    Congrats on your blog-a-versary! I have no idea when I found you, but I know I have read you for years and years and years. You are so funny and engaging, and I always root for you. Keep up the good work!

  9. flybynyght permalink
    November 1, 2009 9:23 pm

    I do believe that I’ve read every entry you’ve ever wrote, going back to your blog that had something to do with coffee (??) – except for those pesky locked ones that I didn’t make it to before you had a chance to lock them… Wow, how stalk-er-ific of me! I’ve become such a devout reader of (good quality, funny) blogs, that I rarely seem to find the time to update my own. I put the blame for that squarely on you. lol. Congrats!
    Becky

  10. akkelly permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:02 pm

    Wow! You have me beat by 49 days. Happy Blogiversary! I still remember bringing Mr. Boo in a bucket to meet you for the first time. Life is funny…write about it! 🙂

  11. November 2, 2009 9:19 pm

    Happy anniversary…may you never set away from your keyboard.

  12. yaketyyak permalink
    November 3, 2009 7:12 am

    Happy anniversary!

  13. November 6, 2009 3:45 am

    9 years for sure, I read you the year my son was born, and you were one of a handlful of journalers who helped me with post partum depression. I laughed so hard I cried.

Leave a Reply

