Skip to content

Now, With Flavor

November 28, 2009

My brother had his german shepherd/husky-mix dog over for a visit earlier this week. Frankie loves to come over and run with his cousin, Stella. Well, once the dickering for who’s in charge is over. Frankie’s just a puppy (even though he’s pretty big) and Stella scares him. Once they’ve warmed up to each other, it’s a running fest.

My brother told me that he’s had problems with Frankie digging holes in their yard. He said that his wife had read somewhere that they should sprinkle cayenne pepper where Frankie’s digging so that he’ll come back, take a sniff, and get a snout-full of pepper. Should keep them from digging in the same spot again.

Stella is not a hole digger. But after Frankie left, I caught her digging a hole that looked to be about the size of a five gallon pail! There was dirt all over the patio. And it had been drizzling so the dirt was turning to mud. She was covered with dirt/mud and the porch, where she’d run into when I came out and caught her, was now covered with dirt/mud.

After I quit yelling, I got a shovel and refilled the hole, then swept the dirt/mud off the patio as best as I could.  I sprinkled cayenne pepper over where the hole had been. Then I let Stella out of the porch. She ran right over to the location of the crime, took one sniff…

…and started licking the dirt.

I just flavored her hole.

“MY HOLE HAS FLAVOR! THIS IS THE BEST DAY, EVER!” is what Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, would be saying were she to be a word-saying dog.

I have now covered her hole with lawn furniture and rocks. Now her hole has fiber.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    November 28, 2009 11:10 am

    As your page was loading, it did a little scroll jump and all I saw were the words “I just flavored her hole.” WOW! Taken out of context, this is a completely different journal! LOL! Thanks for the laugh.

  2. November 29, 2009 10:42 am

    Too funny! I don’t know why we try to outsmart our dogs. It never works. ;o)

  3. Kate permalink
    December 2, 2009 11:35 pm

    LOL
    thanks kathy, i needed that

Leave a Reply

