Skip to content

Christmas Hero

December 28, 2009

This was Christmas Eve at our house. Well, part of it. There we were, just making pizzas and chatting when all of a sudden four young men came walking up from the basement carrying the Guitar Hero equipment, plugged it in, and turned the gathering for the birth of Jesus (*choke*) into a par-tay! Rock on!

I even took a turn at the microphone. We’ve had Guitar Hero in the house for years but I’ve never touched it. And mostly because it’s down in the basement room that belongs to the teenagers. I don’t go in that room unless I absolutely have to.

Anyway. Guitar Hero and pizzas were only part of the fun. I had made menus for my nieces’ children. Three different restaurant menus, laminated, so they could take them home and play restaurant with them. I’d included waitress pads in their packages. But I had wanted something for them to do besides watch the old people cook pizzas and chat boring old people stuff, so I set up a “restaurant” in our living room. I put three tables and sets of chairs, with table cloths, around the room; set up a kitchen and cashier area. I even purchased those fake tealight candles that they could turn on and set at the tables.

Two of the four little kids made it to my house that night. My great-nephew who’s 6 and his little sister, who’s 4. They had a blast! They’re such sweet little kids. They went to town playing restaurant quietly. I sent in the Guitar Hero 4, who actually went and played for a bit. How sweet is that? Their 15 to 21 year old male cousins came to play restaurant!

I took my turn and had “dinner” with my great-niece while her brother came worked the restaurant all by himself. My great-niece had just received a high chair for her baby doll, so it was a table for 3. My great-nephew came over to our table and asked “Can I get you a beverage?”

Oh lord. I thought I was going to die from the cuteness. I ordered milk, but my great-niece and the baby just wanted water, thank you.

At the end of our meal, my great-nephew came over with the calculator tape (I’d set it up as their cash register) and a pen, and asked his sister to “sign” the receipt. She (being 4) wrote a “U” and an “r”. I don’t know why, but I almost cried, it was so cute.

At the end of the evening, I bagged up their menus, their waitress pads, and a couple of votives with the fake tealights. We also tossed in some of the plastic plates and utensils so they could get right back to business after they got home.

I don’t know how I’m going to outdo the restaurant next year!

Even Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden had fun because her cousin, Frankie came over. BEST DAY EVER! (as Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden would say)

Christmas Day was at my sister’s house but we bowed out – and it’s a good thing we did because guess who woke up with her back out of whack?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lee permalink
    December 28, 2009 2:10 pm

    i love the restaurant idea! in fact, i did it for christmas a few years ago, for all 3 little girls. i even made them tiny apron to put their “tips” in. i even got them those 4-color bics to write out their checks.

    they loved it!

  2. December 28, 2009 2:16 pm

    Lee! That’s a great idea! I’m going to do something about aprons (or chef apparel for the 3 boys) for next Christmas! It could be Restaurant Plus!

Leave a Reply

