Skip to content

Post-Christmas Savings

December 30, 2009

I love the after-Christmas sales! I bought myself a new winter coat, originally priced at $199, for $75. The Big Nugget thinks I’m a fool for spending $75 on a coat but dude? It is a great coat, the perfect coat, what’s $75 for the ultimate winter’s coat? We live in Minnesota! I need the perfect coat! This coat is going to allow me to donate the three coats that were not perfect coats. The minute they left the showroom floor, those coats were not perfect. This coat? Still perfect after wearing it for two whole days!

I also bought 3 sweaters for 25% of the original price. I know. They were overpriced in the first place but again, dude, sweaters in Minnesota are worth $24 a piece! And these sweaters are PERFECT! So perfect that I will donate SIX not perfect sweaters in their honor. SIX!

I’m still in search of the perfect Minnesota winter’s boot that will slip on and off and provide the support I need for my heel and arches. Does anyone have UGG boots? Do they have good foot support?

Today The Big Nugget sold his neglected Tornado foosball table, via Craigslist, to a woman who’s going to surprise her husband for his birthday. It’s kind of sad, really. The Big Nugget, an awesome foosball player, got a great deal on the table when he purchased it from his old office that had been shut down. I’m sure he envisioned lots of basement tournaments with friend and his own sons. Unfortunately, the most he got out of it was an occasional tourney when coworkers would swing by to play a round or two, and infrequent visits from his buddy, Dave. Maybe he could talk one of the boys into playing when they had a visiting friend who proclaimed to have fantastic foosball skills (The Big Nugget didn’t let them down easy)

I took the cash from the couple who picked up the table, thought I might go in search of those perfect boots. Until The Big Nugget didn’t let me down easy when he said “Hand over the cash! That came from the entertainment budget and it’s going back into the entertainment budget!”

Fucker. That entertainment budget better be gearing up to buy us a flatscreen television because I’m so dang sick of the family room television set that takes up 75% of the room, when embellishing is factored in. And embellishment is always factored in when I bring up the world’s biggest television set.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. lee permalink
    December 30, 2009 5:49 pm

    i’m waiting until the week-end to take advantage of the sales. i did manage to get some cholday-packaged ghiradelli chocolate at 75% off at target, so i can make brownies!

    i did find some $15 picture frames for .10! i wasn’t looking for them, i was digging through the clearance bin at kroger and found them. the cellophane is a bit torn but that’s why god made tissue paper. i bought all three and i am going to use them as my gift for the “regift” party my friends and i have every january.

    we do it then so we can recycle unwanted or fugly gifts, and also to reward ourselves for not going postal over the holidays! everybody brings snacky foods and assorted spirits. i actually look forward to it MORE than any of my holiday parties. lower expectations rock!

  2. Gin permalink
    December 31, 2009 12:13 am

    Uggs = Nooooooo! No support whatsoever (at least not the classic style). They’re like wearing bedroom slippers. I was seduced by a pair of Uggs at Nordstorm, but ended up returning them because I couldn’t imagine wearing them to walk for any distance further than from my bed to the kitchen. And I couldn’t justify $129 for house slippers, no matter how hard I tried. I’m spending the winter in a combination of winter-style FitFlops and my Columbia Bugabootres. Let us know if you find something better!

  3. poolagirl permalink
    December 31, 2009 3:55 am

    Uggs are only to keep your feet warm. People here wear them after surfing. No support at all.

  4. yaketyyak permalink
    December 31, 2009 10:34 am

    I couldn’t live without my Uggs – honestly, they are the most comfortable boots (or shoes, for that matter) I’ve ever worn, which is a real blessing because I have bad feet (hammertoes, bunion, etc). I agree with the others that there is no support, but, oddly enough, that doesn’t bother me at all. Uggs are the only footwear I can walk in for long distances without my feet killing me.

  5. Gretchen permalink
    December 31, 2009 11:42 am

    Check out Bearpaws boots. They’re on overstock.com, don’t know where else. Better sole and sturdier than Uggs, still shearling to make your feet happy. They fit pretty true to size.

  6. January 2, 2010 3:27 am

    I couldn’t make it through winter without my Uggs. No, no support and yes they are like wearing houseslippers. But my feet stay warm and dry and they are easy to take off and on. Mine were made in Australia, somebody has told me they are now made in China? Don’t know if that is true or not. I spent $102 on mine several years ago (from some shoe store in SD Poolie!) and they are still going strong. I definitely am getting my money’s worth and then some.

Leave a Reply

