Skip to content

What I Did on my Winter Vacation

January 10, 2010

I go back to school tomorrow. *sigh* I wish I felt like alot of my classmates seem to be feeling. They’ve been facebooking about being excited to get back in class. I guess I’ve had so much time at figuring out what to do on my downtime that it’s hard for me to get bored.

I did alot on my winter break. And I have proof.

Gumbo!

I cooked.

I made a couple of pieces of jewelry. (You can buy them here – I’ve been too lazy to put them on my own website. Posting something on Etsy takes seconds. Posting something on my own website takes a journey through paypal’s merchant pages and then through my own website that it drives me insane!)

I tried a bunch of new Christmas cookies, the Red Velvet Whoopie Pies being my new favorite (and definitely a must for my birthday next month).

I saw alot of movies (on video) and read alot of books, too.

I’d have to say it was a pretty successful winter break. I also know that were it not for going back to school tomorrow, I’d have taken it for granted. I’m definitely ready to move on from being a stay-at-home-person. But still, I’m going to hate getting up at 6:15 in the morning. Especially when it’s always dark and always so damn cold!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 1:01 pm

    I wonder if you can freeze those whoopie pies?? Any idea?

    • January 10, 2010 1:24 pm

      And I would freeze them because? It’s not like I can keep them around. I couldn’t believe how fast they went! Unless, of course, that was a hint. Like would they get hurt were they mailed somewhere? Hmmmm?

  2. January 10, 2010 2:13 pm

    Kathy,
    What is the secret to making those straight-pin things you used on those two bracelets actually stay on your wrist? I was given a bracelet this summer that uses that for a “clasp” and if I didn’t thread it through another bracelet that hangs onto it when it comes apart, I would have lost it umpteen times already. Could it be that the bracelet is too big for my wrist or something?

    • January 10, 2010 2:18 pm

      Kate – if it’s a well-sized, well-designed toggle clasp, I never have a problem with a bracelet falling off. You should e-mail me a photo of the bracelet you’re having trouble with and I’ll take a look and see if there’s something I could do to help you out. Might just be changing the clasp to a better one. Depends on the construction of the bracelet.

  3. January 10, 2010 2:52 pm

    Oh GOD! I read the Whoopie Pies wrong! Again! I need to slow down when I read! I saw “ss” instead of “es.” Much funnier that way, don’t you think?

  4. Jean permalink
    January 11, 2010 9:02 am

    I’m coming back to MN for work again soon. I’m going to crash your brulee party (I’ll bring my own torch) if I’m in town.

    Just kidding. Unless you invite me.

  5. January 11, 2010 11:47 am

    Love that red bracelet! Very cool. Also the gumbo looks fab! As for the weather brrrr.

  6. January 11, 2010 9:03 pm

    Where’s the recipe for the Whoopie Pies???? Please, pretty please? I found some Red Velvet twinkie-like things, not Twinkie brand, at the store that were pretty good. I have a good recipe for chocolate whoopie pies, but Red Velvet ones sound so excellent.

Leave a Reply

