Skip to content

Technicolor Winter

January 23, 2010

This is the weather map of Minnesota right now. What you have here, is a mess.  I’m in the green right now. That would be rain (see the neapol? that’s me). Pink is freezing rain. White is snow.

Want to know what’s fun about rain in Minnesota in January? It turns everything into an ice skating rink. Yesterday I saw this guy walking to his car. He hit some ice and somehow managed to not land on his ass. But the dance that man did must have him hurting like crazy today. It was awesome!

I plan to stay in the house and study all day. There’s no need for me to get out there and see what else can go wrong with me.

So…I’ve been wearing the CPAP since Wednesday night. It took me about an hour of wearing it before I conked out. Now I can just slip it on at the bedtime and fall asleep quickly. On Thursday, after 5 hours of class, I was really tired and took a little nap. Yesterday I thought I was tired so I lay on the couch to watch a little t.v. and see if I’d fall asleep. I did not. Which is pretty amazing because if I lay on the couch late in the afternoon, I always fall asleep. I’ll keep you posted on this interesting news. Also, if there is any breaking news, I will interrupt this blog to keep you informed.

Hey…I got a free box of turtles at Sam’s Club yesterday. A sample person was giving out free samples of fudge from a candy place in Pittsburgh. I lined up. There wasn’t a line, but I ran up like there could be a line any second. And then the sample lady kept giving me more flavor samples. It must have been Diabetic Day at Sam’s Club because nobody else wanted to try her fudge. God. It was great fudge. I bought a box and then bought a box of the turles, which were 2 for 1. So she handed me my 2nd box. And then she handed me the box they have to go in for check out (you know how Sam’s Club is). But then she said “I’ll give you a 3rd box for free) and managed to fit the third box of turtles into the 2-box check out box.

That doesn’t happen very often. Pretty cool. She must have noticed my lump and though it’d like a box.

You didn’t think I was going to write an entry without my lump, did you?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    January 23, 2010 1:28 pm

    Once again, I mis-read you. Thought you said “wearing the CRAP.” I really need to be more careful! You be careful out there too with your crazy weather!

  2. January 23, 2010 2:20 pm

    For some reason, this thing ate my comment before I got to the submit button. Maybe I said something I shouldn’t have? But I wasn’t finished!

    Anyhow, I think that’s the fudge they had in Costco last fall, and it was delicious. Enjoy it; you need some comfort food.

    I’ll keep my weather comments to myself, except BE CAREFUL.

  3. January 25, 2010 8:25 am

    That’s interesting that you were able to get accustomed to the CPAP thing so quickly. Both my wife and my periodontist think I might need to use one and I am supposed to make an appointment with some doctor who specializes in sleep and breathing issues to find out if I should use one (for sleep apnea). I keep putting it off because I can’t imagine being able to fall asleep with one… but your good results make me think maybe I should look into it.

    • January 25, 2010 9:44 am

      Jim – It’s ironic that you would comment about this today because I had a heck of a night with the CPAP last night. First time since I got it. I just couldn’t get comfortable. But when I did…BAM! I was out, not to wake again until the alarm clock went off!

      I highly recommend the CPAP. I’m already feeling more energy!

Leave a Reply

