Skip to content

The Lumps: Parts 6 & 7

January 25, 2010

Howdy friends. So. The Lump. It has a friend. And both of them are no friends of mine.

What we all thought was going to be some sort of obnoxious cyst is apparently a couple of troublemaking not-cysts. After a series of needle biopsies, tissue samples are in the hands of the breast clinic’s pathologist and I should have some more details tomorrow afternoon.

The original lump is about 3/4″ across. The other one is smaller, nearer the underarm. But I don’t know how much smaller. All I know about that one is that when the radiologist was performing a needle biopsy, she hit a lymph node, turning that into a game of STOP THE BLEEDING, NOW!!!

They put some sort of metal “tag” into the first one for whatever reason they do that, but were unable to put a metal tag into the second one, because of the bleeding. Me, not having any clue as to how bad things might become asked “So, how do you get that metal tag out? Do you use a magnet?” Duh. Apparently the masses guaranteed that I’d be having surgery.

Fuck.

A magnet. Good gravy, what a dope.

I should have known things weren’t going my way when the techs turned way too nice for my taste, as did the radiologist.

I have a huge hemotoma because of the bleeding lymph node. And I have six sites where needle biopsies were performed. I am a painful mess.

I am a fucking mess.

Tomorrow I’ll have more idea of what sort of battle lies ahead.

You people need to start thinking benign thoughts because if this goes bad and I end up losing my hair, you’re all getting your heads shaved! I just pinky sweared you! Bet you didn’t see that coming because had you seen that coming, you would have stopped reading this entry before I pinky sweared you.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 10:13 pm

    Hang in there. You know we are all behind you!!

  2. January 25, 2010 10:17 pm

    Dammit!!!! OK, just keep putting one foot in front of the other and know that we are walking beside you. All these prayers are going to get you to the other side of this crap!!!!

  3. January 25, 2010 10:18 pm

    Truly, hang in there. You can get through this. You have known worse!

  4. January 25, 2010 10:23 pm

    Crap. I’m sending benign thoughts as hard and fast as I can. Also I’m sending a hug. Or two. If you don’t want them, put them away someplace for next time you do.

  5. Dawn permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:35 pm

    Good thoughts coming your way, zapping away the stupid lump and its evil friend. Just breathe, you can get through this. One foot, one breath at a time. Funny lady, you are strong, remember this. But at the same time, when you feel the need to do some of your own leaning on someone’s shoulder, do it. You don’t have to be strong all the time for everyone in your life, sometimes they need to be strong for you.

    Will be thinking of you tonight and tomorrow, and will send thoughts, prayers, and good vibes your way. Ain’t no Efing lump got nothing on you. Believe it.

  6. January 25, 2010 11:09 pm

    Sending you benign thoughts. I know people say this and nothing ever happens but I’d love to do something JUST for you. Clean your house, bake you something, make you more dishclothes, take you to lunch, fill your gastank…something. What would you like JUST for you? Let me know and I’ll be sending all kinds of positive healthy vibes your way.

  7. Lyndell permalink
    January 25, 2010 11:16 pm

    Good thoughts coming your way from Oregon.

  8. January 25, 2010 11:19 pm

    BENIGN BENIGN BENIGN BENIGN!! Did that help???? Sending you lots of love and hugs, etc. Also waving my magic wand with all the force I have.

  9. January 26, 2010 12:23 am

    I’m positively pulsating with benign thoughts for you. I sent them forward from NJ tonight – they should reach you by the morning.

  10. Paula permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:34 am

    Eh, what’s a little surgery? Get rid of the lumps, stay in bed, eat pie. Sending benign thoughts and support. Hugs.

  11. January 26, 2010 2:12 am

    Big giant BENIGN hugs to you Kathy. Would you like a batch of my delicious almond raspberry thumbprints?

  12. yaketyyak permalink
    January 26, 2010 5:54 am

    I’m so sorry you have to go through this ordeal. Sending lots of benign thoughts.

  13. January 26, 2010 6:26 am

    When I first saw the x-ray of my head with a silver spot on it the size of a quarter, I swear I thought it was somebody’s thumbprint on the film and they’d make me go back for more tests. Uh, no. But it was BENIGN, as is yours. Some of us are just lumpy people, and doctors who work with breasts, so to speak, are trained to be ultra-cautious these days, for which we are all very grateful. So they will remove your BENIGN lumps and then you’ll go on your merry (or not merry, your choice) way.

  14. goatbarnwitch permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:45 am

    Benign!!! You don’t need no stinking lumps so let them be taken away never to be seen or heard from again.
    We are all here for you, never forget that and if you need to lean or whatever the door is always open, the coffee is always on, and a shoulder is always available.

  15. Debby permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:08 am

    Benign, benign, benign. I kept checking your page yesterday for updates and went to bed thinking about you. I’ll silently chant benign for you all day.

  16. January 26, 2010 8:28 am

    Damn! I’m sending benign prayers your way. I know you didn’t ask for and don’t particularly want prayers (noun), but tough tootsie rolls. I’m a prayer (verb), that’s what I do. {HUGS}

  17. Marcia permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:08 am

    Benign!

  18. Gretchen permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:12 am

    I’ve been growing out a short layered haircut since May and honestly, I’m about ready to shave my head. So just let me know. Hope it doesn’t come to that, thinking good thoughts!

  19. January 26, 2010 9:27 am

    Damn these BENIGN lumps causing you all this grief! (And I would’ve asked the same question about the magnets and their removal.)

    I hope everything is all right.

  20. January 26, 2010 9:39 am

    Well hells bells. That is not how this was supposed to go down. I’ve been wondering about the lump. I’m sending you good thoughts. Haven’t you had enough shit flung at you the past couple of years? They’ll be benign. They have to be.

  21. January 26, 2010 9:43 am

    I’m so not shaving my head for you. The thought of it will not cause me to stop reading, though, so bring it on. However, anything else you want? Name it. The Bits is moving on to strawberry picker. Maybe a strawberry pie?

    (BENIGN! Little f-ers.)

  22. dakotagirl permalink
    January 26, 2010 9:49 am

    Damn Boobs!

  23. Jean permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:10 am

    If we all shave our heads, we can go to the Zsa Zsa Gabor wig shop (doesn’t the Maul have one?) and buy really cute hair.

    Love and good thoughts your way, Kathy! Boobs aren’t good for much except trouble, aren’t they?

  24. poolagirl permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:29 am

    Sending you love and good wishes. I’m sure everything will be just fine. Take care and know we are all in your corner. That’s one big corner!

  25. LAP permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:55 am

    The pinky swear is understood. I will even make Paulina pinky swear.

  26. Barb permalink
    January 26, 2010 10:58 am

    I’m not a big commenter, but I had to join the “Good Thoughts for Benign Lumps” group. I think we should be called the B-9ers. Anyone?
    Kathy: Only good thoughts from Pennsylvania!

  27. January 26, 2010 10:59 am

    Jesus Christ, I get a few weeks behind in my blog reading and come back to find you’re all lumped up!

    Cats have been scientifically proven to cure boob lumps. May I offer you a few kittens to speed the healing?

    (Benign thoughts headed your way!)

  28. January 26, 2010 11:52 am

    I’m thinking healing thoughts for you. I just went through this myself and would be happy to talk to you if that would help.

  29. lee permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:34 pm

    B9!

    B9!

    B9!

    BINGO!

    my thoughts and prayers are with you!

  30. Maureen permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:42 pm

    Sending positive, benign thoughts your way.

  31. Dana in NC permalink
    January 26, 2010 1:18 pm

    Hope they are benign.

  32. January 26, 2010 2:22 pm

    My guess is the techs became “too nice” because they were worried you would sue them for making you bleed and get a hematoma.

    Sending healing thoughts your way.

  33. January 26, 2010 2:26 pm

    I only live about 9 hours away from you…maybe you and your benign lump would like to go bowling some day.

  34. Lori in Houston permalink
    January 26, 2010 4:08 pm

    Breathe. It’s all going to be OK. I just know it.

  35. katie permalink
    January 26, 2010 4:28 pm

    First of all B E N E I G N ! ! !

    Then – don’t put the cart before the horse! I have four of those little metal markers – and no, they don’t set off airport security!! They are permanently there – so that in future mammograms they can keep track! And I, too, had a hemotoma on the first one. Hurt like hell – and they promised me I could play golf in a week (right hander and it was the right side) – didn’t play but eventually it went away. I can honestly say I never let my imagination go to my hairless self playing golf down the road. Nonetheless, I will ‘pinky swap’ with you – you’ll get thru this!

  36. January 26, 2010 4:43 pm

    I don’t know I’m brave enough for a full shave – how about punk enough people ask questions? Thinking good thoughts really hard for you! And if I was that lump I’d be really really worried because it is about to get its butt kicked! Gentle hugs Bels.

    PS Cats are good for healing so go take Scooter’s head back out of Stella-Mirra’s mouth coz you need the kitty more!

  37. January 26, 2010 4:51 pm

    Thinking benign thoughts. If by some remote chance you need to be bald, I will knit you the most awesome hats.

  38. fran permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:01 pm

    I’ve already been bald, thankyouverymuch! Been there, done that, it grows back though, it’s not so bad. One…day…at…a…time. I will wish only happy things for you, you’ve got a full plate, yet…isn’t that the way life happens??

  39. Rosie permalink
    January 26, 2010 6:07 pm

    Benign. Very benign thoughts. Now, as for that little fecker of a lump and his buddies, I know someone named Guido who would like to have a little chat with them, just to set them straight.

  40. Beth permalink
    January 26, 2010 7:04 pm

    B9 thoughts coming your way from Stillwater!!! And prayers too, and I’m not even being sarcastic.
    I wish you healthy boobies!

  41. January 26, 2010 7:13 pm

    Kath,
    Of course those lumps are benign, and probably won’t even need to be removed.
    On the other hand, the thought of all your peeps shaving their heads in solidarity with you in case you get chemotherapy … well, in support of that, you’ll all want to know that my friend’s daughter at age 14 or so had thin, lank hair when she shaved it all off for charity. And guess what? It grew back thick and curly! Maybe it’s not such a bad idea for straight-haired, too-lazy-to-curl-my-hair, perm-opposed gals like me!
    Thanks for keeping us in the loop. Try not to worry.
    Kate

  42. capitolady permalink
    January 26, 2010 8:50 pm

    b9 b9 b9 b9 b9 b9 b9 b9 b9
    Stupid ass hat boob!!! Damn it. They better stop that nonsense NOWW!!

    Stupid tech, can’t they get it ever get anythign the first time. Stupid nice people medical people trying to b e nice..

    Hang in there b9b9b9b9b9b9b9b9b9b9b9b9b9

Leave a Reply

