Skip to content

Crazy Ride

January 27, 2010

Wow. I knew I had friends who would help me get through this, I just didn’t realize how many friends I had and how willing I’d be to accept all of their thoughts and wishes and even those offers of prayering.

Dan? Really. Allison sent you a message from the great beyond that she didn’t want to see me yet?

Dude. That’s awesome. It’s bullhockey and I know it but it’s really awesome to think of it being a possibility. Iwonder how she’d react to my cancer fighting style? She was the Grace Kelly of cancer compared to my Norma Desmond style. Which explains why you married her while was I have always been just a friend.

Just a friend. Ha! Like we’re “just” anything!

People who don’t know who my Dan is…Dan went to college with  me back in the late 70s. He went for one year (while I went for 5…neither one of us graduated, but Dan passed our biology class – I did not – and it was my 2nd attempt at biology class) and we have been friends ever since. You don’t know lucky I am to  have a Dan in my pocket.

And that I have The Big Nugget (the husband – for all my school buddies new to the blog) who doesn’t mind that his wife has male friends. I hear that can be tough on some men. My husband is secure in the knowledge that I adore him and will never leave him. No matter how many times he asks.

So here’s the deal at this moment…

I had an MRI this afternoon. Got on the table and put my boobs in the boob-cups that made me want to start whistling the theme song from Austin Powers. I was really nervous that having to lay on my anterior (shout out Med Term pals!) side was going to cause alot of pain to my lump sites as my lump sites are horribly painful right now and incredily swollen from the needle biopsy. But they had it all nicely cushioned for me.

I had no trouble going into the big MRI tube. Probably didn’t hurt that I’d taken a Xanax after signing the consent form. I still had moments of near-hyperventilating but was able to control my breathing during the 40 minutes of scanning. That really wasn’t a big deal. I didn’t even feel much discomfort when they shot in the dye. Just a little cold and a weird taste in my mouth.

Tomorrow I meet with the surgeon to get more details and set the surgery date. I should have more info. then.

You know something? This has all happened so fast that I can’t even remember how I got on this crazy ride. A person’s life can change in an instant.

I’ve got so much I wanted to share with you all today but I’m so tired and need to go to bed so I can deal with more emotions tomorrow. This is exhausting and it’s not even the hard part.

Thank you, again, dear reading friends. Every one of your comments and e-mails lifts me up.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 11:44 pm

    Kathy, I’m so sorry. In my heart I just know you’ll be fine, because I think you’re about the toughest wiseass around. If anyone can kick this to the curb, you definitely can. I’m thinking of you and praying for you all the way down in Mississippi.

  2. January 28, 2010 12:17 am

    Kathy – I have signed up to go all the way with you, even if it means shaving my head. There are lots of things I suck at but supporting friends even if they aren’t 3D isn’t one of em. Hang in there — we are rooting for you. xox

    PS — Xanax? :):)

  3. poolagirl permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:04 am

    Lighting that candle just like I promised.

  4. January 28, 2010 2:25 am

    Hope all the achy bits stop aching and let you get a decent night’s sleep. Also that the funny taste in your mouth goes away and stays away! Bels

  5. yaketyyak permalink
    January 28, 2010 5:34 am

    Thanks for keeping us posted. We care – a lot.

  6. January 28, 2010 7:23 am

    Dear Friend,
    You are going to beat the shit out of this cancer.
    Bec

  7. lap permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:28 am

    You’re on my mind dear. I’m trying to cleverly figure out ways to get you to let me help you, and I realized I will just go about it the way you would which is brute force of course. That includes hugs…you’re going to be raped with social embracing.

  8. January 28, 2010 9:18 am

    Oh I couldn’t help but snort at lap’s comment that you’re going to be raped with social embracing… and now thanks to Yaketyyak I have Faith No More’s “We Care A Lot” (aka Mike Rowe’s theme song for Dirty Jobs) stuck in my head. Ooo you could have a theme song for this period in your life. Hey, not everyone gets a theme song.

    Thanks for the updates… Each and every one of us hold you in a special place in our heart. You are loved, dear KLo.

  9. Lori in Houston permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:07 am

    When I had ovarian cancer a million years ago, the one thing I couldn’t do was the one thing I should have done – asked for hugs, asked for help, asked for pizza … just asked for what I needed when I needed it. Don’t be like me. You’ve got a bazillion friends – both in real life and here on the ‘net – and we’d all do anything for you. Just ask and you shall receive.

  10. katie permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:13 pm

    Good advice up above – please – just ask. If for no other reason than to let us know that there IS something we can do – because this puts us all in a field of helplessness – and if you ask – then we can feel somewhat helpful! Does that make sense? Especially on Xanax?

  11. Barb permalink
    January 28, 2010 3:01 pm

    Still thinking of you and sneaking some prayers in. Ladies….Check your breasts!!! http://www.breastcancer.org/symptoms/testing/types/self_exam/bse_steps.jsp?gclid=CKWE3rzvx58CFYdd5Qod9079zg

  12. January 28, 2010 3:02 pm

    Kathy,
    I am rooting for you same as all of your other friends online and real. What ever you need I am going to be a friend, and all you have to do is ask. I called my daughter who heads up a lot of events and she is checking out a walk for breast cancer and she is getting me the details and signing us both up for a walk in your name and I just want you to know that I am thinking of you.
    Let me hear from you please, just to let me know if you are ok or not ok. Beth

Leave a Reply

