Skip to content

I’ll Begin Here

February 6, 2010

I don’t even know where to begin. So I’ll begin right here.

Wow.

The surgery. My husband. My family. My friends. My peeps. All of you guys.

So very overwhelming.

Thank you all so very very very much.

I am grateful.

I got home from the hospital Friday afternoon and there’s so much to tell you but I don’t have the energy to do it right now.

But I will share it all when I find my strength.

Know this, women who have gone through this before me are braver than I ever thought possible.

And know this…

My pathology report came back last night and the verdict is Stage 2A, with a slight positive for some sort of hormone doohickey. Meaning that I’ll be having chemo and I’ll be having hormone therapy of some sort for awhile after the chemo is done.

The surgeon said this is great news. So I believe her that it is. I was still hoping for that “Sorry, we made a mistake, you have a pouch of garbage in your boob. Go home now!”

I’ll learn more about what I’ll be doing next after I meet my oncologist this week.

Cripes. Never thought I’d say that, “my oncologist.”

I have so much to share with you. But I have to go lay down.

Again – thank you thank you thank you!

p.s. I lost about 5 pounds of boobage and then after eating my sister’s Magic Poop Muffins, another 5. Awesome! And? I can lay down on my back and sip from a can of soda. Couldn’t do that with those evil boobs in my way.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 10:32 pm

    I am so glad you are home!!! I have been so worried -we all have. Your news is great! I hope you got my card!

    xxoxoxo – Marna

  2. katie permalink
    February 6, 2010 10:44 pm

    Okay – Wonder-Woman!!! – get back to resting. But, THANK YOU for letting us hear directly from you. Take it very slowly – this is your warning. Be Good to yourself. Keep getting stronger – – – we’ll hold you up when needed. xxoo

  3. Kim permalink
    February 6, 2010 11:18 pm

    One more step out of the way. Keeping you in my thoughts.

  4. February 7, 2010 12:25 am

    Glad to hear from you at last. Also glad your oncologist used the phrase “great news”! That’s great news!! Rest, relax, enjoy life!

  5. February 7, 2010 12:30 am

    It’s so good to see you posting! Thank goodness you got good news, even if it wasn’t the garbage pouch news you were hoping for. That’s one hell of a diet, though. I think I’ll just stick to the Weight Watchers!

  6. February 7, 2010 1:11 am

    So glad you posted. I’ve been wondering. I am glad the news is positive. Whew! Too bad they don’t do boob transplants because I have enough for both of us if you ever wanted more.

    Hey…does your family need food, a hotdish, chili, anything? I make a great beef stew, chili, spaghetti and meatballs…amongst other dishes. Please email me if you could use a meal brought over. I am home all day and would love to do it.

  7. February 7, 2010 7:28 am

    Welcome home! Take it easy.

  8. February 7, 2010 8:14 am

    Take good care of yourself, and know how much we care.

  9. February 7, 2010 8:32 am

    So glad to hear from you and that the surgeon said there was some good news. I’ve been thinking of you constantly, but have no idea what to say. I’m glad your family is rallying and you have so many wonderful friends who are helping take care of you. Take it easy.

  10. Ruth from SC permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:04 am

    It is SOOO good to hear from you!! Great news! Now go lay down and rest……we will all still be here waiting for you when you build up a bit more stamina – now GO!!

  11. February 7, 2010 9:05 am

    It is so good to hear your “voice”. Take it slow and be very gentle with your self and know we are all here cheering you on.

  12. February 7, 2010 9:18 am

    So good to see you again. Take your time and be comfortable in the 3D world and get back to us when you’re ready and not a moment before. And know that you are now in that category of brave women. xoxo

  13. Floweer permalink
    February 7, 2010 9:25 am

    AWESOME news. 2A is great. You will make that cancer regret ever stepping foot into the logic household!

    I am ready when you are – watermelon – latte – icecream – or?????

  14. February 7, 2010 9:41 am

    I’m so glad you’re home. I’ve been thinking/worrying about you. Take care!

  15. February 7, 2010 9:47 am

    Wow, you’ve posted already! Thanks for letting us know how you are. I’ve been thinking about you these last few days. You’re extremely brave, and extremely strong. Sending you all my best! (I wish I could come cook for your family. I need to get my transporter out of the shop!)

  16. February 7, 2010 10:22 am

    You are AWESOME and you are STRONG and it’s so good to hear from you so soon!

  17. February 7, 2010 10:24 am

    I’m so glad you’re feeling up to posting. Your news is good because (1) it’s only 2a and (2) it’s hormone-receptive. The hormone meds you’ll take are different from the kind you’ve heard of. For me, the worst side effect was a craving for chocolate.

  18. Gretchen permalink
    February 7, 2010 10:30 am

    Great to hear from you! Now take it easy!

  19. poolagirl permalink
    February 7, 2010 11:59 am

    Rest up and know we are all here holding you in our hearts and thoughts. I was glad to see the update! Take it easy, okay?

  20. February 7, 2010 1:29 pm

    I’m glad you are home and the pain is minimal. I only had to have one breast removed, but you are sounding like me – three years ago. Right now things are good, and I am on the hormone “avoiding” medication. Hang in there. You are doing great!

  21. February 8, 2010 12:35 pm

    So glad you are home, and for good news. May I pass on two pieces of advice that have helped me with all the appointments and procedures? First, if possible, take someone with you to your appointments, and if possible try to get someone who has been through breast cancer. They will help you hear what the doctor is saying. I was very lucky and had a great friend do that for me. Second, ask someone who has offered to help you to go and get you a big accordian storage file. Get it in your favorite color and decorate it if you want, but keep all your papers, appointments, info sheets, instructions from treatment in there. It helped me to have one central place to keep all the info. I’ll keep the prayers going!

Trackbacks

  1. 33 Baubles – About Forgiveness Or Not Forgiveness «

Leave a Reply

