Skip to content

The Surgical Support Team

February 7, 2010

It’s hard to decide who should come to the hospital when you’re undergoing surgery. My entire family would have liked to have been in the waiting room. Chatting and supporting and running and fetching. My family has always rallied liked that. Waiting rooms are for family reunions.

But that was going to be The Big Nugget’s place. I was going to be sleeping. I wasn’t the one that needed the support, Ricky Nugget needed the support.

And if I know The Big Nugget like I think I do, the less family, the better.

However, my family loves me very much so I know we needed a family representative. And I chose my closest family representative, my little brother.

I haven’t gotten any negative feedback from my mom. So I’m going to assume that while she might have been a little offended, she was probably more relieved. Crazy with worry relieved, but relieved nonetheless.

So on Wednesday morning, the three of us headed into Minneapolis for my surgery.

To help keep things light, we said a whole lot of stupid stuff that a family, who is not white trash, would not say.

Special shout out to my White Trash Family: Love you, you inappropriate bunch of blood relatives of mine. Sissies are welcome to leave and get job demotions and other bad karma.

I can’t remember all the details of the drive to the hospital, but I do know that The Big Nugget re-termed my surgery to Tepanyaki Mastectomy – HiYa!

So wrong. But damn funny.

And really really really wrong.

The Big Nugget and The Little Brother tried to talk me into just dropping me off at the patient drop-off door (rather than the valet parking they offer) so they could run over to The Electric Fetus, a local music store, and then on to mine and The Big Nugget’s favorite restaurant, The Jasmine Deli.

I insisted that they accompany me until I was wheeled away from them.

Which they did.

And then they ran off to The Electric Fetus and The Jasmine Deli.

Seriously. While I was being operated on, they were off shopping and eating.

Which might offend some people. But me? I couldn’t love that any more. The last thing I want during all of this is for people to sit around and be sad or worried. They made it back way before I was done.

And they brought me presents.

It’s all good.

And really. That couldn’t be a better story.

Dorks.

I love them so much.

My surgical team was fantastic. My IV nurse was a god! She put that sucker in and I have absolutely no brusing. None. And no discomfort. If you’ve had an IV in before, you know what I’m talking about. If not…lucky!

I was wheeled into the operating room, moved onto the table. One arm to the left, one arm to the right.

Next thing I knew, I was waking up in the recovery room.

I didn’t even get to count down or say inappropriate things while going under.

The post-op nurse asked if I needed any pain medications. I didn’t. I know I’d just had both of my breasts removed and it’s crazy, but I was in no pain.

Time for a break. I’ll take  you up to my hospital room in my next, exciting entry about my Tepanyaki Mastectomy.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    February 7, 2010 11:32 am

    So glad to hear you are home and feeling well. Obviously none of your zany personality quirks dwelt in your boobs, nope, thank gawd that’s still intact! We know what’s really important.

  2. February 7, 2010 11:52 am

    welcome back! You’ve been in our thoughts. yay!!! so glad to hear the good news about the analysis.

  3. February 7, 2010 12:04 pm

    Hey kiddo!

    I’m so glad you are home. Wow, they sure let you out of the hospital fast enough. What did you do to them? heh. I have changed my mind about going bowling with you … without the girls you have an unfair advantage over me. I’m a poor loser.

    Take care
    balonie

  4. Lori permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:50 pm

    Delurking to say I’m so glad everything is going well….you are in my thoughts. And I definitely know what you mean about the IV!
    Now go eat some cake.

  5. February 7, 2010 2:22 pm

    I didn’t think to tell you that you tend to find a lot of real experts in stuff like IV placement. Lovely caring attendants, whether they’re RN’s, LPN’s, or even just helpers. The receptionist who made my pre-chemo appointments was amazing.

  6. February 7, 2010 2:32 pm

    So glad you got to come home so quickly and are feeling up to beginning to share your ‘adventure’ with us. Love you!

  7. February 7, 2010 3:51 pm

    HA! I love that they went shopping and eating. Waiting rooms are never fun; they just stress people out even more. And even better — they went shopping FOR YOU. What’s not to love?

  8. February 7, 2010 5:27 pm

    Woot for no pain/bruising round your IV! Glad you are up and sort of about – take it slowly! Looking forward to the next bit of the story! Take care! Bels (no hugs coz they’d make you go ouch!)

  9. Mia Kruse permalink
    February 7, 2010 5:29 pm

    Delurking to say happy you’re home and doing well. I worked at a local (to you and I) oncology clinic for 5 years making chemo for our patients. If you ever need anything or have any questions, or someone to vent at, please email me. You are about to meet some amazing people, staff and patients.

  10. poolagirl permalink
    February 7, 2010 5:48 pm

    Having a good IV nurse is the next best thing to having perfect creme brulee. Yes?

  11. momonroof permalink
    February 7, 2010 7:11 pm

    Oh, K-Lo, I love you for so many inappropriate, white-trash reasons! (I’m buttering you up for some of your sister’s magical poop muffins, I could stand to drop a 5 pounder myself…HARRRRRR!!!!!) ohhh shittttt…. funny stuff…. you’re the best, K, I’ve been wearing your peacocky earrings all week, thinking of you.. and wearing alot of purple and blue… to match the peacock earrings, and also the bruising you are about to go thru, just so you know, all the lovely colors are about to come out, colors you didn’t know you had in you! Love and hugs to you!

  12. February 7, 2010 9:36 pm

    I’ve been checking in all weekend to see how you were doing and I’m so glad to “see” your voice! We’re watching the Super Bowl and I grabbed my laptop and said to my family, “Let me check on my friend who had the double mastectomy. Both my husband and my daughter said, “Oh, yeah, how’s she doing?”

    I know I talked about you last week, but I didn’t realize they were all listening!

    So, just letting you know, the whole Johnson family is thnking about you. 🙂

  13. February 8, 2010 5:45 am

    Thanks for keeping us posted. You are in our thoughts and hearts.

  14. Sue permalink
    February 8, 2010 7:45 am

    Glad to hear you’re on the road to recovery. Still sending healing thoughts your way! Been thinking about you all weekend.

  15. Jean permalink
    February 8, 2010 8:45 am

    So glad to hear from you, Kathy! Thinking of you!

  16. Floweer permalink
    February 8, 2010 8:53 am

    Good to hear your voice. Another chapter in the book – or maybe this is its own book? You are going change a lot of lives girl! Luv ya!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

