Skip to content

My Funny Valentine

February 14, 2010

Yesterday was the worst birthday I have ever had in my life. I probably didn’t have to tell you that. We all tried to make it a good one. My sister showed up with a red velvet cake. She, my little sister-in-law, and my mom cleaned my  house again. I got cupcakes from Yum! Creme Brulee from Patrick’s French Bakery. Chicken chili for today’s lunch. Lots of cards and phone calls.  Thing 2 gave me some movies to watch. The Big Nugget ran to The Big Bowl to fetch me dinner and he gave me a really thoughtful gift certificate to Sundance, my favorite catalog, where I’ve never been able to buy a shirt because they didn’t sell them in my former size. They sell them in my current size and I’d mentioned that the first thing I wanted to do, when filling my new wardrobe, was get something from Sundance.

I just couldn’t be very  happy on my birthday yesterday. I was in a lot of discomfort. Not so much pain, more tugging and swelling and stinging and a general poor me feeling.

Today I woke up to the best Valentine’s Day I have ever had. Because I have the best Valentine that ever was.

Through all of this, Scott (The Big Nugget) has been my rock. He has been solid and taken care of me in a way that I didn’t know he had in him. If my breast cancer is a test, Scott has passed with an A+++

He has been taking care of my drains for almost two weeks now. Stripping them and draining them and measuring them and pinning them back in place. He has been showering me, drying my incision with the most tender of touches. Helping me get dressed, making sure I’m comfortable – even it means fluffing my pillows and then having to refluff them again because I can’t seem to get comfortable.

He makes me laugh, he helps me cry, he eases my pain. He makes me want to beat the crap out of cancer so that I can spend a lot more time with him. That is a threat and a promise.

I love you, you Big Nugget. Happy Valentine’s Day.

And the Valentine’s card you gave me. Seriously?

The best Valentine’s Day card, ever.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 11:57 am

    He’s one of the best! You are so lucky to have him!!

  2. February 14, 2010 12:03 pm

    Awwwww man now that made me cry. Happy Valentines day;)

  3. February 14, 2010 12:04 pm

    A treasure!

  4. February 14, 2010 12:31 pm

    Shock and awww.

    I’m sorry your birthday wasn’t better, but that card is the best Valentine I have ever seen.

  5. Leslie permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:31 pm

    I, too, wish you could have had a better birthday, but man, wait until next year! You will have to make it a celebration to encompass both birthdays. And then some.

    It’s amazing what we discover when the hard times hit. Like what’s really important, and what doesn’t matter.

    We had a VERY rough patch the second year we were married, and my husband came through with flying colors. It was then that I knew he was truly “the one.” We’re going on 29 years (in April), and whenever he does something that makes me a little crazy, I always remember when he was my rock, and I know if it comes down to it again (and I hope it never does), I can count on him.

    I think you are so fortunate to have a such a great husband.

    Sending healing thoughts your way –

  6. poolagirl permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:54 pm

    Blessings to you and the Big Nugget! I think I need to light two candles now!

  7. February 14, 2010 2:07 pm

    that made me cry a bit. mostly because I know my hubby would be the same way. I’m glad to hear good stories about husbands, it seems like lotsa people just complain. I know you are going through yucky stuff, but luckily it’s not forever (even though it seems like it now). Hang in there you are doing great.

    Love the card too! awesome

  8. February 14, 2010 2:09 pm

    Oh, yeah…………I am bawling my ass off here! And I just really can’t say anything else. I am overwhelmed by you and for you. Happy Valentine’s Day, my friend. And tell Scott that a whole ton of people that love you, appreciate his love for you ever so much!!!!

  9. February 14, 2010 2:42 pm

    I love that Valentine’s day card! Ricky Nugget is the bestest, and since all of us can’t be there to take care of you, I’m so happy that you have him there…and it’s wonderful that you each see and value the other person. Hugs to both of you! And Happy Belated Birthday!

    Oh, and I’ve tried to find where I put your snail mail addy, and I can’t find it! Could you possibly send it to me so I can deluge you with post cards? OK, maybe not deluge, but a sprinkle here and there.

  10. Floweer permalink
    February 14, 2010 2:50 pm

    Yeah for Team Logic. Makes my Valentines Day to read your entry.
    Luv ya all – and a smooch for Mr. Nugget!

  11. February 14, 2010 3:33 pm

    Belated birthday wishes kiddo.

    Damn you got yourself a good man! I real keeper. You gotta love a guy who steps up to the plate.

    Hopefully you can get the drains drained soon, and get back into action.

    The universe is smiling upon you.

  12. February 14, 2010 4:37 pm

    What a great card! What a great husband!

  13. lap permalink
    February 14, 2010 5:59 pm

    That totally made me shed tears. Thanks for sharing such a shining sense of optimism amongst all the rest Kath. Don’t worry about the tears either, apparently I even cry when Garry Marshall movies tell me I should cry, so a sweet story from a friend is a shoe-in for welling up.

  14. flybynyght permalink
    February 14, 2010 7:21 pm

    Wow – your post has made me bawl my eyes out. Why? Because I know that I have married the right person; the one who would take care of me as fantastically as Scott/Ricky/Thor has done for you, if I were in your same situation .
    Becky

  15. capitolady permalink
    February 14, 2010 7:25 pm

    Girl that one is a keeper. You really learn what men are made of when they are in that situation. I wish there were a wand to remove all the pain from you.

    Sending best wishes and gentle hugs to take away the pain.

  16. February 14, 2010 8:21 pm

    Some people really come through when you need them. Glad your Scott is one of those.

  17. Fay permalink
    February 15, 2010 12:07 am

    What a great husband and a great Valentine! 🙂

  18. February 15, 2010 1:10 am

    Your Nugget is truly made of Gold! Having his support will make your healing and recovery go much faster. Enjoy buying those new clothes.

  19. kim birt permalink
    February 15, 2010 1:46 am

    Wow!!! to have a rock for a hubby. I am sadden that you have to battle this.. you are a VERY strong woman with your bad ass ninjas beside you… I am praying for you… love the card. you can do it!!!! stay strong.

  20. February 15, 2010 4:19 am

    That is the best card ever!

  21. Sue permalink
    February 15, 2010 8:09 am

    You’re making me tear up! What a great husband. I know you would do the same for him if he was down and out. Sounds like you’ve got a great support team. Love the card!

  22. SueH permalink
    February 15, 2010 10:26 am

    Hey Kathy,
    I have been thinking about you; on your B-day and yesterday. How can one family have so much drama at one time?! Good to hear son #1 is taking steps in the right direction. Sorry to hear brother-in-law #1 stole your drama; hopefully there will be no lasting effects from his mini-stoke. How’s Scott’s aunt? Oh, and good to hear you can poop again – Plop-plop, fizz-fizz, oh what a relief it is….
    I am knitting 2 hats for you (the pattern you chose), not sure how they will turn out but I am buzzy knitting away.
    Hugs and Kisses – your Stitch and Bitch Slave,
    Sue H.

Leave a Reply

