Skip to content

Beer with Floweer

February 22, 2010

The Big Nugget suggested I put a new page up with a link to when the cancer began. It’s up there on the right, directly under the Norma Desmond banner. I hope to update it and add pictures.

We went to visit Thing 1 yesterday. He’s doing really well. Fingers crossed. The ride, about 30 minutes each way, was painful. My incision burns and the fluids tend to build up when I do too much. And I swear to god, The Big Nugget is not even attempting to avoid the potholes.

After our visit I got a boost of energy so made a call to Floweer and Mr. Floweer, asking them to meet us at the local beer and burger joint so that I could have a beer. And onion rings. Good gravy, our local burger joint has the best onion rings. And mugs of beer. I wanted a burger, too, but remembered that my little brother and sis-in-law were bringing us a secret surprise dinner that night.

Woe is me. I had to stick to a mug of beer and the best onion rings.

Thanks, Floweer, for saying yes to my surprise invitation. You and Mr. Floweer rock! I needed that so much! I wonder if we’ll be able to sneak beer into chemo. They have a McDonald’s at the hospital, why don’t they have a bar?

New idea – a bar in every infusion room!

Nobody better tell me that a cancer patient undergoing chemo should not drink beer. I don’t care if it raises my chances of speed-growing cancer cells by 1,000%. You better just zip it. Thank you.

You’d think I was an alcoholic instead of a person who drinks maybe 12 mugs of beer per year.

This was my first outing since having surgery, other than a visit to the doctor’s office – and it exhausted me. And I felt alot more swollen. But it was worth is because I really needed the fellowship.

Thanks again Floweers!

The secret surprise dinner from my bro and little sis-in-law was delicious! Some chicken with roasted tomatoes and cheese on top of them plus an angel hair pasta with tomatoes, basil, etc. I was so hungry. I don’t think I’ve been that hungry since surgery. Probably a combination of beer and healing.

Although if you saw me about 2 hours later, you’d have seen a big baby scene. I am so tired of the pain and the swelling and the inability to use my right arm. One part of me wants to lay down, sleep, and get up when the pain and swelling are gone. It’s been 2 1/2 weeks already! The other part of me wants to go out and do stuff, work through the pain and swelling, hoping that time will fly because I’m so busy. I just worry that if I do too much, I’ll set my self back.

I’ll be glad to see my surgeon at the post-op appointment tomorrow. I also meet the physical therapist, which I’m worrying about because I’m sure there will be pain and exhaustion. At least that was my experience with back therapy. Maybe I’m wrong and it’ll be an hour of massage. Man, I could use a good massage right about now.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Niki permalink
    February 22, 2010 10:29 am

    Stalwart. That’s what you are. And funny and warm and loving. I want you to have smooth sailing and get out the other end of this as soon as possible. You are the bomb!

  2. February 22, 2010 10:37 am

    Sounds like you had a wonderful day {in-spite of the discomforts}. Good for you!! Will be anxious to hear how todays appointment goes. **hugs**

  3. Leslie permalink
    February 22, 2010 10:46 am

    I hope every day gets easier and better from here on out. Thinking of you a lot.

  4. poolagirl permalink
    February 22, 2010 12:01 pm

    Every day brings you closer to complete healing. Glad you had such a nice day. I’m sure Thing 1 appreciated the visit too!

  5. Gretchen permalink
    February 22, 2010 12:11 pm

    I am sending positive vibes for an hour of massage instead of pain and exhaustion. Hope it goes well!

  6. February 22, 2010 3:28 pm

    It’s so wonderful that in addition to all of us internet people supporting you that you have such a wonderful support system with your friends right there in real life. Besides, who could have said no to having a beer in your company? It’s just not possible. Sending you all my best healing thoughts.

  7. February 22, 2010 3:38 pm

    Indeed, a glass of wine would have been wonderful during chemo. I couldn’t even accept a doughnut with my coffee, because I am already diabetic and take meds that don’t mix with alcohol. And then one of the accompanying meds — it wasn’t the chemo — raised my sugar so much that I needed insulin anyway.

    We get through it. One of the things that help us through is the courageous outlook of those women who came before us. Add Allyson to the group.

  8. capitolady permalink
    February 22, 2010 4:13 pm

    Glad you had a great time out! You so deserved it. Sending healing thoughts.

  9. Floweer permalink
    February 22, 2010 7:44 pm

    Thanks for calling the Floweers! It was good to see you both – and hear some of that sarcastic energy. Cancer is trembling. We will dine with you any time. Dinner will be delivered on Thursday. I’ll pick up beer – but tell me what kind. I am a beer dork – as you know.

  10. February 22, 2010 9:10 pm

    Hey, K Lo, just letting you know I’m having my mammogram on Wednesday morning. Of course I’m worried, but I know I have to do it.,,your strength and laughter inspire me.

  11. February 22, 2010 9:52 pm

    Oh, man – never let a physical therapist give you one of their trick ‘massages’! That’s how they get you to lie on the table so they can torture you!!!

  12. yaketyyak permalink
    February 23, 2010 5:52 am

    Three cheers for beer and onion rings, and three more cheers just for you!

  13. February 23, 2010 8:24 am

    Yay for good friends, beer and onion rings! I’m so glad you got out and enjoyed yourself for a while. {{HUGS}}

  14. February 23, 2010 6:09 pm

    here’s hoping you get not only a massage, but a happy ending too!

  15. February 25, 2010 1:44 am

    Kathy, you might look into acupuncture for the lymphedema.
    linda

Leave a Reply

