Skip to content

Allison 3.

February 25, 2010

If you want a copy of Allison’s I’m a Lucky One brochure – click on this link. Following is Item #3 from Allison’s brochure:

3. “Let me know if there is anything I can do.” Helping this person and their family is a great way to show you care and it helps them in their time of need. I suggest you be specific about your help. Don’t leave it up to the person in need to call, rather, offer to do something specific and pick the day and time.

Meals are always a good choice. Comfort foods like chicken and noodles, tuna casserole, potatoes, hearty soups and gelatin are always a good choice. A lot of casseroles are freezable, which is very handy. Canned fruits like pears and peaches are good because of their liquid content and ease of digestion. This is one instance to avoid raw fruits and vegetables – the bacteria on the skins are tough on weakened immune systems.

Don’t be afraid to prepare more daring meals. For me, it was nice to know that my family was well taken care of. Since I could always find bland food for me, I loved it when a friend or family member brought my family’s favorite dishes…that way my family’s didn’t have to endure unseasoned food all the time.

No time for cooking? Gift cards and certificates work nicely, too. Or you can pick up the fast food and deliver it. It’s less about what you bring and more about the thought.

…When you make the offer to help, say something like “I’d love to bring your family dinner this week…how does Wednesday at 6 p.m. sound to you?”

It’s so hard for me to accept help. However, I’m getting a lot of practice and seem to be getting better at it every day. Can’t wait to see how long it is before this turns sour and I’m demanding food from strangers on the street!

If someone says to me, “Give me a call if there’s anything I can do for you,” and it’s not my mom, sister, brother, sister-in-laws, or Judy (who I will be calling to shave my head), it’s likely that I’m not going to call. I like the more specific offers like, “I’d like to bring you dinner. What night would be best?”

I got the coolest phone call yesterday from high school friend, Collectible Sue #2. She will be in town (she lives in Missouri but works for a company that’s based here so gets back to Minneapolis often) this weekend and asked if she could come over and make dinner for us on Saturday. She’ll be bringing her Sous Chef, Collectible Sue #1 (who I went to New York with this summer) (who can’t cook but is great at ordering deli platters) (but hey, not everyone likes to cook – she’s a great cheerleader!) (even played one in junior college!)

I can’t even begin to tell you how much I’m looking forward to Saturday. Sitting around with girlfriends while all I have to do is point to where the pans are. What a generous gift! I don’t care if we only eat grilled cheese. Right now I’m feeling so much better and ready for friendship. And I like that we’re hanging out in the house because I might be feeling peppier but I’m not peppy enough to sit in a restaurant yet.

The cutest thing that happened this week is that our neighbor, Corey (hi Judy!) showed up this week with a plate full of chicken drumsticks that he’d just cooked. We’d just been laying around, thinking about what we should warm up when TADA! Corey showed up with our answer!

How cool is that? And cute?

I was out last night, visiting Thing 1, (little brother was my driver) and when I got home, The Big Nugget said that Corey’d called wanting to know if we had any interest in lobster tails and that all we had to do was give him a call and he’d cook them up for us. He’ll leave them in the freezer until we’re ready.

I think that’s a call I can make!

I remember a night that I was at a girlfriend’s house. Her birthday was coming up. One of her other girlfriends stopped by, with a cookbook in hand, and she said, “Pick out anything in here and I’ll make it for you for your birthday – or whatever day you want it.” Another great idea!

And no, I am not hinting! Just making notes for when it’s my turn to do the offering again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:27 am

    Posting these tips is the greatest thing! And they are all such common sense things. Glad your friend brought over dinner! And you are so right about the need to be direct with things. Something nebulous and open-ended just doesn’t work. Good for you!

  2. February 25, 2010 11:03 am

    I would do the cookbook thing for you if I lived close enough! What a neat idea! Depending of course on which cookbook it was…..I”m pretty sure I still have the one Terri made in 2nd grade. That would be ‘safe’ 😉

  3. yaketyyak permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:40 am

    Food that somebody else cooked is always welcome!

  4. Lynn permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:03 pm

    I WILL SHAVE YOUR HEAD!! I”LL PICK THE TIME AND DATE, AND BRING DINNER.

  5. Collectable Sue #1 permalink
    February 26, 2010 8:06 pm

    I’ll be bringing the wine on Saturday 🙂 According to Collectable Sue #2. I make awesome Popcorn from scratch! When my oldest son was in the 2nd grade, he puts into his class’ cookbook a recipe for his favorite thing his Mom made. Yeah….”Baked Potato” Apparently I make a GREAT baked potato, too! Hell, with a microwave oven, who needs to know how to cook? Love ya Kath. See you Saturday 😉

Leave a Reply

