Skip to content

The Before Picture

February 25, 2010

Yesterday, 3 weeks after my bilateral mastectomy, I finally got in the car and drove, all by myself to the grocery store.

Amazing!

These are the milestones of woman with breast cancer.

I didn’t need anything from the grocery store, it was just a goal. And I figured I could start stocking up on popsicles and jell-o, the things I figure I’ll be eating once my stomach starts to churn and I’ve got no energy to whip up a batch of mashed potatoes.

Enroute to the grocery store, I decided to stop and renew my now-expired driver’s license. I figured I better get my photo taken before the hair is gone. Although I did consider waiting until the hair was gone and then going in for the license photo. Could be fun.

But it could be the opposite of fun so I played it safe and did it while I still have hair.

I’m not sure how the photo turned out, the DMV gal and I got to laughing so hard that I forgot to check the photo before leaving the building.

I also forgot to put my goal weight on license, like I do, instead of my real weight.

Terrific. Just terrific.

C’mon ladies, you do that too, right? Nobody puts their real weight on their driver’s license unless they’re a guy or confused by breast cancer.

Last night my little brother drove me to visit Thing 1. It was too long of a drive and too late in the day for me to try to tackle that.

I think I may have mentioned a couple of times before that my little brother is a dork. But in case you missed those times, MY LITTLE BROTHER IS A DORK!

Case in point:

See? You want more? (He’s front, left – wearing my pajamas, I don’t know why)

So last night we go to visit Thing 1, who is in a secured facility that goes through anything you bring for a “resident”. (I intend to be vague so as to protect my son but some times I just have to share parts of it with you so that I can let you know things such as – my little brother is a dork).

“Do you want my cell phone?” little brother asks the front desk guy.

“No?” curiously answers the front desk guy because that was probably the first time a visitor offered up a cell phone – and maybe the front desk guy was worried that my dorky brother’s next move would be to spread ’em and ask to be patted down. And it makes me wonder, has my brother been frisked before and I’m not aware of it? Or does my brother have a secret wish that we’re now just seeing?

Anyone wanting to play Good Cop/Bad Cop/Very Naughty Cop with my brother should leave a comment and somebody will get back to you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 1:01 pm

    Your little brother is pretty hip. There are places that routinely take one’s cell phones, particularly if they are camera phones. The courthouse is one of them, even if the phone-owner is not a witness or (gasp!) a defendant.

  2. Leslie permalink
    February 25, 2010 4:22 pm

    I love that he was wearing your jammies in the photo. You have a great family!

    And congratulations on getting out and about so quickly. I know it takes a lot to do that, and I think it’s really good for the healing process.

  3. Ali permalink
    February 25, 2010 4:28 pm

    I have a little “big” brother who is a dork too!!! Funny on how all little brothers are dorks!

  4. February 25, 2010 9:09 pm

    I’m not entirely clear with what’s going on with your son..but let me just say that I”m praying for you…and him. I am having issues with my child…no one knows that path until they’ve walked it.

    I never thought to put my goal weight on my license….I will try that in the future. My last photo was taken in 2001. Yah crazy eh? In Florida they have been renewing with that same photo all this time. When people see it they always say “wow you look angry”. I always reply “that was in the husband #1 era”.

  5. February 25, 2010 9:26 pm

    Sure, I’ll play. But he’s got to promise to wear some lacy getup.

  6. February 25, 2010 9:53 pm

    Hey, hey. Visiting from June over at Bye, Bye Pie! If I lived close, I would bring you some comfort food. But since I don’t, I’ll just send some good vibes your way. Love your openess.

  7. February 26, 2010 1:48 am

    My heart breaks for your son, and whatever got him to the place he’s in.

  8. poolagirl permalink
    February 26, 2010 10:46 am

    I am the dork in our family.

Leave a Reply

