Skip to content

Me and Tammy, We’ve Been Friends Since She Was Making Out with Donny Chapman

February 27, 2010

Dear Dan – I had to use you to compare my new body to because otherwise I’d have to compare my new body to The Big Nugget and well, I’m a bit more your size than I am The Big Nugget’s size – (don’t ever marry a man who weighs less than you! Not you, Dan, you can marry a man any size you want. Ha!) and he doesn’t drink beer (much). And I KNOW you drink beer because one night we drove all over trying to get to the liquor store before it closed. With your wife and children in the car. Such good role models, weren’t we? Definitely a lesson learned for me. If it’s 10 minutes to 10 and you’re in Edina or St. Louis Park, you are not going to make it to the liquor store in time. Stay in Bloomington, where you can’t throw an empty beer bottle without hitting a liquor store. Do you know there’s a liquor store that already has a lease for a space that doesn’t even exist? I know these things! I am on the inside of City of Bloomington liquor store news.

You’d think I drink more than a glass of wine on Friday and Saturday nights.

Do you wonder what the new readers think of my blog? You long time readers and people who know me personally understand my writing, but the new people who came to read due to The Cancer are shaking their heads, wondering what’s wrong with me. Perhaps thinking I might not have cancer at all but am just crazy.

Believe me, I have cancer. Don’t make me flash you!

Know this about me, dear new readers, I’ve been blogging for almost 10 years and it’s been a crazy blog for a long time now. (So crazy, that I had to move and change blog names several times over) I’m so glad that you’re here. Stick around, it’ll be fun. Cancer cannot permanently remove the fun.

I had a pretty quiet day yesterday. Except the parts where I was swearing like a very fowl-mouthed truck driver. (Fowl = shout-out to my DCTC Written Business English class peeps.) Really, I had a couple of swearing outburts that made even me blush. I was trying to sit on the couch and read one of my new breast cancer books (I’m being brave and reading about the cancer now) but I could not get comfortable because of the nerve noise my right arm was making. It feels like I’m being pinched and pinched and pinched. Or scratched and scratched and scratched. So I was swearing loudly and proudly while The Big Nugget sat next to me, waiting patiently for the outburst to just go away.

Between the discomfort of my right arm and the very giant belly I can now see, I am not a happy cancer camper. And it doesn’t make me feel any better to find out that I will probably end up gaining weight with the chemo, instead of losing weight like I had hoped for. (due to the steroids I’ll be on) If you want to come and visit me while I’m on the chemo and I refuse, know that I’m fine but that I’m incredibly vain. Also know that you can probably bribe your way in with a fresh gingerale from The Big Bowl. I’m just saying. I can be bought.

Somebody asked me how I keep track of my appointments. I use Microsoft Outlook’s calendar. Love it. Don’t know how I lived without it before. And do you know I’ve had it sitting on my computer for years but never used it until I learned how to use it in my Receptionist Skills class last semester? And I was all miffed about having to take a Receptionist Skills class after having been a receptionist years ago. Thanks Susan! Who knew this old receptionist could learn a few new receptionist skills?

Looking at this week’s schedule I have: Patty coming over for lunch (with lunch!), I’m having my hair styled with Lynn (while I still have hair to style), surgery to put in the port catheter, and chemo class.

I went onto the etsy website last night and ordered a bunch of knit hats. Collectible Sue #2 is knitting me a hat but I wanted a variety, plus I wanted a couple of those really soft caps that fit under scarves or baseball caps – the kind I can sleep in. Having been almost bald before (hi Buzz!) I know how cold I’m going to be at night.

I better go do my arm exercises and shower. I slept until after 10:00 this morning! (Benadryl – thanks Claudia, and propped up on my back, without attempting any other position. I have to quit fighting it. I have swelling and really big almost-scars.)

Before I go – a personal message to Tammy, who feels that personal messages to her in my blog have been lacking: Come over after work one day and we’ll hang out! (lord knows you won’t bring me any food) Who wouldn’t want a visit from such a pretty friend?:

Don’t wish too hard, or I’ll post pictures of you!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 3:10 pm

    What I discovered after everything else had healed was that my surgeon had removed lymph nodes from my arm by way of the original incision. That meant discomfort in my arm even though I couldn’t see any scarring there.

    Our cancer center has a little shop run by volunteers, where one can buy caps and scarves. They will also show you how to tie the scarves and how to apply makeup if you need help. (But there was no way to duplicate my eyebrows. Had I known, I would have used indelible ink to outline them before they fell out!)

    Once you’re feeling better, you might want to look into starting such a shop, if there isn’t one there already. There’s no better advisor than someone who’s been there.

  2. Carole permalink
    February 27, 2010 7:34 pm

    Both my sis and brother had chemo and not only did they lose their hair they lost a toenail. Sis lost big toenail & JW lost the nail off the his little toe. My sister had breast cancer 6 years ago and is still hanging in there but my brother has bone cancer and has decided not to finish this second round of chemo.

    Everyone reacts to chemo differently but all women hate hair loss. My sis couldn’t wear ball hats (her head was tender) but could wear extra soft do-rags (S?) and knit hats. It was during the winter and she was shocked how cold she was all the time. BTW she gained weight and managed to eat some of the foods she loved but some of her tastes in food have changed completely since the cancer & chemo. That’s wierd and something most people don’t mention.

    Anywho, I know you have a good support system and not the type to give up so all I can do is wish you well and hope that every day brings you closer to feeling better.

  3. poolagirl permalink
    February 27, 2010 8:18 pm

    However it works out, I think you are amazingly strong and magnificent!

  4. February 27, 2010 10:29 pm

    I don’t know, Carole – maybe it’s just me, but I don’t think you should tell me about people’s toenails falling off. Don’t I have enough to worry about already? I’m just sayin’.

  5. judybeauty100 permalink
    February 28, 2010 9:05 pm

    your also have shopping on friday…im looking forward to it!!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

