Skip to content

Good Things

February 28, 2010

Thanks kids for dropping some good comments into my last entry. It’s not like I shouldn’t know the worst case scenario, it’s just that it’s not up to random people to decide when I should know these things.

You people are responsible for keeping me sane, okay? And if it means telling me how well your chemo went, know that I adore you.

Hey! I don’t think I’ve mentioned my best friend, Tammy, in this entry yet. What was I thinking? Leaving Tammy out  until later down in this entry!

 Take a look at these boobs! (Look away Tammy’s little brother, Poopsie)

Tammy had those knockers in high school. I think we’re seniors here. In this photo I hadn’t even had my period yet. And I now have the same size chest that I had then.

Tammy and Me – best friends since she was making out with Donny Chapman! Even before she got mono from him!

(Poopsie – you can come back now!)

Speaking of best friends – I want to give a shout out to my oldest friend (the friend I’ve known the longest, not that she is the oldest friend I have. I’ve got alot of old friends.) – Barb! Hi Barb! I’m glad Deb pointed you to my blog.

Do you think that breast cancer realizes how much it brings people together? It’s a bonus. Of course, I’d prefer traditional methods of bringing people together, like facebook, but hey – it’s nice to see old friends.

Did you know that I used to be a little Catholic girl? Weren’t we the cutest?!

How cute do you think it was the time I drank, while  underage, with Barb and then threw up in her car? Sorry about that, Barb. But hey – let’s do it again!

Speaking of bringing people together, The Collectible Sues came over and made dinner for all of us last night (except for Thing 2, who refused to eat any of it because there was more than one ingredient per dish and none of those ingredients were sausage & pepperoni pizza).

The Collectible Sues are in the bottom row, left. Collectible Sue #2 and Collectible Sue #1. They look pretty much the same now as they did then. I, of course, am laughing with my damn mouth open. Typical.

It’s awsome to sit back and watch somebody else do the cooking. And it was nice to hang out in my house rather than trying to sit comfortably in a restaurant.

Mostly it was awesome to hang out with girlfriends and catch up and make plans. Thanks Sues!

p.s. I used the potatoes with breakfast this morning!

I had trouble sleeping last night. I think I need to get the CPAP in for it’s final adjustment. Right now it’s set on “Auto” so it goes to a higher air pressure when I stop breathing. Which is a good thing. However, when it kicks into higher air pressure, I wake up. They’ll set it to the higher air pressure so that it will start off low and then within 30 minutes, it’ll will go to higher and stay there all night long. No ups and downs.

I woke up at 3 a.m. and decided to go lie on the couch. I was out within minutes. Some time around 8 a.m., I think it was, The Big Nugget came down to make coffee. And I swear I heard a knock at the back door. The Big Nugget said, “It’s my *mom’s next door neighbors*!” I couldn’t believe they were coming over at 8 in the morning on a Sunday! I love them but really? We didn’t answer the door and they went away.

At 9 a.m. The Big Nugget came back downstairs and I asked him, “What time did *mom’s next door neighbors* come over?”

“What?” he asked.

“Was it before 8?” I asked.

“Your *mom’s next door neighbors* didn’t come over this morning. This is the first time I’ve talked to you today!” he replied.

It was so real, I thought it had actually  happened. And I’m not even on chemo yet! I’m on nothing! What is going to happen to me once the chemo kicks in?

Wait. Don’t answer that.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. yaketyyak permalink
    February 28, 2010 1:14 pm

    Oh God, that photo with the uniforms brought back very unpleasant memories of my eight years with the nuns. Shudder.

  2. February 28, 2010 1:27 pm

    I just broke out in a cold sweat looking at Catholic School Girl uniforms:)

  3. Beth permalink
    February 28, 2010 1:30 pm

    Hi again!

    On a serious note, a friend of mine who is an attorney has a service called Cancerlegalline.org – her name in Lindy. She was just recognized with an Angel award and is a recipient of a Lance Armstrong Foundation grant.

    Long story short, she provides a free service to assist people with cancer and their families navigate the world of cancer. She has great resources with legal advice as well as helping guide people to services that may help them (wigs! she has major wig connections!).

    Anyway, I am just letting you know this in case it may help you in any way. Lindy is a wonderful woman – she may be someone who you just want to drop a line to and connect.

    I am serious that this is a free service, I am in no way spamming you or sending you some BS offer. I hope it helps you on your road to recovery. Lindy also helps navigate the world of insurance, I hope you won’t need that kind of help (I hope the fuckers just pay and don’t put you through the wringer, damn insurance!), but if you need the help, there is help available.

    Your friend in Stillwater, MN,

    Beth

    • February 28, 2010 1:39 pm

      Thanks Beth. I’ll keep your friend Lindy in mind if I have any insurance troubles. So far – no troubles! It’s awesome to know that there’s help out there if I need it. You are awesome!

      No wigs for me though. I plan on soft hats and baseball caps (with those soft chemo caps underneath to protect my sensitive noggin). I also plan on going out bald if I won’t be sitting in the sun, or suffering a chill. There’s nothing wrong with a flat-chest, bald-headed woman…the world is about to find out…other than the cancer thing.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    February 28, 2010 5:12 pm

    I’ll take a ‘flat-chested, bald’ YOU over an insensitive Carole any day of the week!!

    Hope your world is ready for the NEW YOU!!

    Best thoughts coming your way. Glad you had good friends cooking for you and that you put the left-over potatoes to good use this morning.

  5. February 28, 2010 6:19 pm

    Hey,

    On the bright side of all this is free food. Got to love that! And you don’t even have to cook it. Throw in a 52″ flat TV and the world is your oyster.

    Got to go Team Canada just won the gold metal in hockey……YAY…. to bad… those Americans are a bunch of losers. oops 🙂

  6. February 28, 2010 6:42 pm

    Checking in to see how you are doing. Spunky as ever! I keep you in my prayers everyday, even though I haven’t been commenting every day. Those uniforms look just like some I wore in school!

  7. February 28, 2010 9:04 pm

    I love that picture of you laughing so hard ’cause that’s what you’ve made so many of your readers (including me) do through the years! :0

  8. March 1, 2010 5:12 am

    My sis and I had very similar hairstyles at one time!
    Thinking about you every day girly! XO

  9. Lori in Houston permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:08 am

    I read a lot of magazines and news blogs and such and often come across information on breast cancer – new treatment options, things to do and not do, etc. Are you already completely overwhelmed with information or would you like me (us) to pass these things on?

    • March 1, 2010 11:26 am

      I’m overwhelmed with information, Lori. I appreciate the offer but I need to take in the info. when I’m ready to take in the info. Otherwise I start rocking and crying!

      xox

      • Lori in Houston permalink
        March 1, 2010 11:58 am

        That’s what I thought. If you change your mind, let me (us) know.

  10. poolagirl permalink
    March 1, 2010 10:43 am

    I loved my school uniforms – especially when my mom tried to make them last 2-3 years. I would drown in it the first year and stretch it to bursting by the time it was ready for the rag bag. Too funny!

  11. Sue permalink
    March 1, 2010 11:07 am

    You and Barb are so stinkin cute in your little uniforms! Love the haircuts, I had the same thing. I finally talked my Mom into letting my hair grow long in 6th grade.

  12. Leslie permalink
    March 1, 2010 11:39 am

    I remember those haircuts! They were called “pixie” cuts where I lived, and I begged for one for a long time before my mom gave in. Now, when I look at the old pictures, I suspect she did the cutting herself, but I don’t remember for sure.

  13. Niki permalink
    March 1, 2010 1:15 pm

    I really love, love, love it when I get to see your photos. You have such a great group of old friends. Your smile makes me smile. By the way, I have known so many people who have had breast cancer and they are all doing swell. They are perfect. You will be perfect. Plan a nice trip to New York City for when you are finished chemo. You’ll love looking forward to that.

  14. SueH permalink
    March 1, 2010 2:59 pm

    Hi Kathy,
    Glad to hear you ate the potatoes for breakfast…garlic that early in the morning?
    Would you please tell your husband I was sorry for burning the beans, stinking the house up and leaving a dirty pot for him to scrub.
    Which house were we in when “the seven” picture was taken?
    Sorry you were so confused Sunday morning, we probably kept you up too late Saturday night. Let that be a lesson to all future visitors – do not keep Kathy up past her bed time or she will have dreams she thinks are real! Do you think it was the stinky beans that made you have weired dreams?
    XO,
    SHE

Leave a Reply

