Skip to content

It Ain’t Pretty But I’ll Miss It When It’s Gone

March 1, 2010

Dear Diary:

Today I went to the salon to get my hair cut short so that it wouldn’t be so traumatic once it falls out.

While making an attempt to search for sympathy with my upcoming baldness, Lynn – my hair stylist – reminded me that I didn’t really have good enough hair to mourn losing.

Oh how I love my Lynn.

I felt relatively sort of kind of decent today. Relatively speaking. I’ve been very good at doing my arm exercises three times a day (although I slacked a little yesterday and only did them twice). I almost feel a teensy bit less swollen in the lymph node area.

My friend, Patty, came over with lunch today. Thanks Patty! Let’s do it again – soon!

Wow. I have gotten over my discomfort for asking people to do things for me, apparently.

C’mon over! Bring me some lunch!

My little mom, who can’t cook but continues to insist that she cook dinners for me, dropped off my favorite casserole for dinner tonight: Chow Mein Casserole. With the hamburger and the rice and the chow mein noodles. My favorite of all casseroles. Even my little mom, who can’t cook, can’t ruin Chow Mein Casserole. Although she did say, as she dropped it off, “I think I ruined it!” She did not. Because you just can’t.

I have absolutely nothing on my calendar for tomorrow. I plan to take advantage of it and take all kinds of naps tomorrow. I just can not sleep through the night. Today I argued with the CPAP people, told them it was all their fault. They would not agree with me. And they won’t set my CPAP to a level because I don’t meet with “compliance”. Which means that I haven’t slept more than 4 hours a night for 21 nights in a row. I can talk to the doctor and get him to override the compliance, but I just don’t feel like dealing with it right now. Not with everything else going on. I’ll just continue to start sleeping with it on and removing it the first time I wake up in the night.

Man, you think you get breast cancer and you wouldn’t have to worry about anything else. Stupid other stuff.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 7:35 pm

    My stay at the Ritz (Sleep Study at St V’s Hospital) Carlton is tomorrow night. I am a little anxious. I am concerned (now don’t laugh) what will happen if I pass gas when I am sleeping. I am sure I do along with snoring. I also throw the covers off at night and I don’t want my big fat rump exposed.

    I am glad you are feeling a bit better and the lymph area is less swollen.

    hugs – me

  2. March 1, 2010 7:45 pm

    We all need a Lynn to keep us humble! LOL

    I am glad you have a little less swelling, hope it’s a lot less and soon!

  3. poolagirl permalink
    March 1, 2010 11:44 pm

    You have Lynn and I have Joanie. Amazing women, aren’t they?

  4. March 2, 2010 12:34 am

    i like yr high school picture. I can tell it’s the 70s because I was in the 70s and I know how we dressed. Overalls! beigeiness!! Dorothy Hamillhair!! (unless one has nearEastern hair). I think the worst thing that I thought could happen to one in the 70s is that one would get married to someone who would expect one to cook. We were just old enough to miss hippie culture so there was always something to year for.

    Overalls were great! I remember carrying pens in the side pocket. I think that’s all I carried as a tweenager. Oh, and a lighter….

  5. yaketyyak permalink
    March 2, 2010 5:34 am

    Not being able to get more than 4 hours of sleep for 21 nights in a row sucks royally! I wouldn’t be able to function!

  6. March 2, 2010 9:41 am

    Haha you don’t have good enough hair to mourn losing. But it’s RED! How can you not miss red hair?!

  7. March 2, 2010 11:35 am

    I guess that is life! The CPAP folks want to keep your mind occupied, LOL! Keep hanging in there.

  8. Lynn permalink
    March 3, 2010 7:03 am

    Thanks…. for all the laughs Monday. Hope your school goes
    good today. Talk soon!!!

Leave a Reply

