Skip to content

Gravity

March 2, 2010

I took this picture of myself when I was 18 years old. Probably with one of those kodak cameras with the flash cubes. (And then I took a picture of the picture this morning.)

I took this picture of myself this morning, at age 51. With my digital camera. And then I quickly turned it to grayscale mode as the full color mode was something that scared the boobs right off of me! That damn dot on the bridge of my nose! Do you know that that’s not a zit? No, it is not! It is a permanent (unless I pay money to have it removed) dot due to the time I dropped a hammer on my own damn face.

What a difference 33 years makes! (I want you to know that it took me several times and a whole lot of fingers to do the math on that one)

And some mighty fine eyebrow plucking! Also? In that high school photo I know that I was seriously raising my forehead, making my heavy under-eyebrows disappear. I had heavy under-eyebrows then – and I know this for a fact because my friend Tony (back in college in 1978) used to make fun of how heavy under-eyebrowed I was.

Heck, I had big under-eyebrows back here in the 5th grade. Will you get a load of that kid I used to be. That right there is a photo of Naughty. Forced to wear a dress! With a bow! Also? Got teeth?

I bet I was wearing shorts underneath. My mom didn’t know this, but I wore shorts under my dresses most of the time. (Makes me wonder if any of the Duggars girls are rebels with shorts.)

Did I ever tell you about the time my little mom was trying to un-tomboy me and bought me a purse? The next day, after school, she said she heard the bus and then she heard a whole lot of yelling. She looked out the window and saw me hitting some boy over the head with my purse.

Will you look at that? I’ve come full circle. My little mom was trying to dress me then just like she’s trying to dress me now!

Here’s to my little mom!

Who I wish could have had stronger genes so that I’d get her hair! Instead, I have my dad’s hair. And will have even more resemblence of my dad’s hair by the end of  March!

And his talent for taking self-portraits.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 1:21 pm

    I love those photos of your family and yourself:) How are you doing today Kathy? Just thinking of you!

  2. akkelly permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:34 pm

    I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again…Could you just Age at some point? Like before you’re 90?? Sheesh.

  3. Barb permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:35 pm

    Thank heaven 18 year old Kathy was holding her chin up. Being 51 myself, I know that chin down pictures are the worst!
    You look fabulous, by the way. Hope you’re feeling that way too.

  4. March 2, 2010 2:51 pm

    Sorry, kiddo, even without some of the bulgy bits you are still all girl, so you’re not ‘Bob’. Unless you want everyone to call you that as your secret agent chemo name. My ex-MIL did that. Didn’t want her regular name all tangled up with nicey-nurse voices in her head. Said when she was done with all the therapies nobody ever called her by her chemo name again. It’s 15 years later and she has waist-length hair and a couple of smallish implanted silicone hooters to fill up her bikini top. Said she didn’t want to go back to big boobs, but thought her bikini looked dopey with none at all. Yeah, she had the double-whammy plus lymph nodes too, just like you. And here she is still sassy, working the St Tropez bikini and bossing the whole world. You will too. ~LA

  5. Niki permalink
    March 2, 2010 3:12 pm

    You have not changed a bit! I love it when you post photos. Your mother is a real beauty. Jeans and a cig hanging out of her mouth…..so freakin cool. Your father makes a wonderful still life in that photo.

  6. March 2, 2010 4:03 pm

    Do you know how awesome you are? You were taking self portraits WAY before these kids were on Facebook!

  7. Claudia permalink
    March 2, 2010 7:31 pm

    Oh so many things to say. First of all… YOU DROPPED A HAMMER ON YOUR NOSE??? wtf! Secondly, I feel so ungirly and so un-fashionforward because I have no idea what “heavy under eyebrows” are!! Even looking at all your fine examples. I think you made it up. Third, your mother is very Jackie O relaxed and glamorous with that cigarette! What is she holding in her hand? A flask!??? LOL And lastly, that’s the best bow on a dress I’ve ever seen!
    xoxo

  8. poolagirl permalink
    March 2, 2010 7:49 pm

    You rocked then and you rock now! You are amazing, Kathy. Absolutely amazing!

  9. March 2, 2010 7:58 pm

    Holy cow, woman, you look The Same. Seriously. How do you live 33 extra years, give birth to two children, and still look the same?

  10. Leslie permalink
    March 2, 2010 8:33 pm

    You are awe inspiring … you gave me a smile on a crappy day – and I am fully aware that my “crappy” day is nothing compared to some of your recent ones. Thanks, Kathy. You rock.

  11. March 2, 2010 9:05 pm

    you look great for someone WITH CANCER. Are you tempted to think/write prettygoodforsomeoneWITH CANCER everytime? There’s something amazing about kidpix from the 70s b/c we were all in those just-developed psychedayglo colors. My aunts’ high school yearbooks from the 60s — like 68, 69, all the girls have ironed hair or giganto bouffants (or both) but in the 70s the 60s finally hit.
    keep on…I’m trying to comment on every entry, to see if that gets me in a useful OCD frame of mind so I can go flog my damn book (see website). You need to be OCD to get anything done, apparently. Oh, and if you want a break from it all, come out here, I’ll take you skiing on some decent hills…

  12. March 3, 2010 10:47 am

    What a cutie.

Leave a Reply

