Skip to content

Wig Options

March 3, 2010

I got a few hats that I ordered from people at etsy so my hair can go ahead and drop out at any time. I know. I haven’t even started chemo yet and I’m ready for the hair to drop out. My luck, I won’t even lose my hair and get curly hair for all the bald suffering.

I wonder though, maybe I should consider a wig.

I’d wear a wig if I could get one like this:

Yes. That’s me. I really wish I still had those pants!  One day somebody cut a ball apart and my family spent way too much time putting it on and taking pictures of each other. I know there’s one of my dad somewhere, but I can’t find it. My big sis-in-law even mentioned it the other day. That’s how funny we think we are. More than 30 years later and we still think it’s funny.

We thought this was hysterical, too. I was the photographer. That’s my sister with the bongos. Dad’s wearing a Onesie and mom’s in her pajamas, even though we have family visiting. We really think we are just too funny.

I’d wear a wig if I could get one in my Grandma’s shade of purple. Lordy. My grandma. Such a sweet and gentle woman. I have no idea how she was able to get in her car and drive to the grocery store with purple hair.

Or having visiting family. I don’t recall them saying one word about her purple hair. Such polite Norwegians.

Which doesn’t explain my lack of politeness. However, know that I am only 1/2 Norwegian. The other half is from my mother’s very mouthy side.

That’s my not-Norwegian mom with the cigarette. The nurse in the middle is Jan, who lives right next door to me. Get a load of that short uniform, would you?! Jan’s still got those legs! But mom doesn’t smoke anymore.

This entry was brought to you by a woman on the verge of starvation and thirst. Outpatient surgery for the port will be followed by a drive-thru of the closest fast food restaurant.

Edited: I just found these pictures from the Christmas somebody gave a Mullet wig for a gag gift. Who’s got it now? I think a mullet would make a great bald-headed-chemo-gal wig! (That’s my nephew, Doug, with the mullet)

And this is my dorky brother in the  mullet. We are so funny!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 1:24 pm

    This is your big chance to channel Eva Gabor. Is her wig company still around? I believe that Eva is the most glamorous and most unlikeable of all the Gabor sisters. She sure knew how to class it up on that farm in Hooterville.

    Did you know that her wardrobe for that tv show was designed by Jean-Louis? If you can’t get an Eva Gabor wig, maybe you could dig up a Jean-Louis peignoir set to swan around in.

  2. March 3, 2010 2:04 pm

    My aunt over-processed her hair through years of bleaching in the 70s, to the point that she willingly wears a wig instead of showing her real hair. She gets compliments all the time on it. I’ll see her next week, and can ask her where she got it, if you’d like.

    Otherwise, I love the mullet wig! Either that, or a Norma Desmond one. You know there’s one out there. 🙂

  3. Stacie permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:10 pm

    Have been reading and am very glad you are doing so well (and I love your sense of humor!).

    You are not me but for what it’s worth I thought I’d let you know my experience with the chemo-hair (or lack thereof).

    I spent money on a wig (a pricey real-hair one) only to wear it ONCE and then never again. It was so uncomfortable. Hats and big earrings worked better for me. But I have friends that did the wig thing and were happy.

    I would advise to have a family member or friend shave your head once your hair starts falling out. I had my husband do it and it was a great decision. It’s much “cleaner” and less agonizing than having it fall out over time. Like you, I also had my hair cut short right beforehand (I thought the gal at supercuts was going to pass out; my hair was quite long).

    Finally, losing my hair was on the surface the side effect I was most dreading. But, after a few bouts of tears during the first week, I realized that it’s nothing. It does not hurt, it grows back, it’s really ok. It does label you as a cancer patient but you are already WAY out there with that one since you are blogging about it, lol!

    Good luck, I am sending positive thoughts your way!

  4. poolagirl permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:19 pm

    I like the mullet. It goes with any personality you might choose for the day!

  5. Niki permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:50 pm

    Ok. There is the picture with your sweet grandmother with the purple hair and 3 others. One is a man in denim overalls. Who would he be? He just fascinates me. I have so much fun looking at all the pictures. You are so adorable. You’re half Norwegian and what is the rest of you? I’m half Italian and half Irish. I think I got the wild streak of both sides.

  6. Claudia permalink
    March 3, 2010 6:43 pm

    Thinking of you!! Hope you’ve gotten something tasty to eat and drink by now! Love the ball cut in half hat. Striking!

    WIGS??! Well if you come to NYC while you’re still contemplating wigs….I’ve got 20 or more glam wigs from a show!! Styles from short Motown 60’s to 90’s and later including four different shades of blond long with bangs! I think these pics are all wigs except for in the black dresses — they have their hair pulled back.. The youtube slideshow shows the real cute short ones!

    You don’t even have to come to NY. Just tell me what you like and I’ll send it! xoxo

    http://girlznightoutmusic.com/

  7. fran permalink
    March 3, 2010 7:06 pm

    http://www.tlcdirect.org/

    If you’ll need it, this is where I got a wig from, not too expensive either. I actually bought 2 of them but I only wore the one that I liked better. A wig is not the most comfortable thing to wear in the summer and although I’m not vain and wasn’t afraid to be bald it was often easier to cover up in public than to be stared at or meet people you know that you don’t want to have to explain things to. (Mixing up my tenses?) Oh, and although it’s weird to lose your hair and be bald, I thought it was even weirder when I lost hair in..ahem..other parts of my body. Other advantages…you won’t have to shave your legs for a while, either…
    It all depends on your treatment…one of the gals that I got to know at radiation never lost a hair on her body.

  8. March 3, 2010 9:01 pm

    Can I be adopted by your family? They are CRAZY, but only in a nice way, of course!

  9. March 3, 2010 9:17 pm

    It’s fun going through the catalogs looking at wigs even if you don’t decide to wear one. I have seen women wearing very pretty ones that are attached to caps or scarves. The catalog I used allowed you to choose your color, along with the amount of grey you’d like. As I said at the time, since it was greyer than I had expected…this would be my only chance to be a “blond.”

    I still wear the little thing on occasion. (I chose the smallest one they made, and it was still a little big with no hair under it.) In mid-winter, when I am suffering from hat-hair, I find the wig warm. And it keeps its shape!

  10. March 4, 2010 1:05 am

    Somebody already beat me to the Nora Desmond one. Maybe the Carol Burnett show is selling that wig on Ebay? 🙂

  11. yaketyyak permalink
    March 4, 2010 5:35 am

    I’m digging the striped pants, your grandmother’s purple hair, and the mullet wig!

  12. Floweer permalink
    March 4, 2010 9:13 am

    Hey – I just got a haircut – and had it cut quite short on one side and the back – in your honor. I am there for ya! We will do lunch – or supper – or coffee – or whatever you want.

  13. March 5, 2010 12:35 am

    I noticed that baldness runs in your family!

    Your smile expresses your joie de vivre! and your creativity.

Leave a Reply

