Skip to content

Finally Addressing Some Comments

March 5, 2010

Dear Agent 99. This is the kind of Dove chocolate I’m talking about when I’m talking about the size of the port-o-kath buried under my left collarbone. Only it’s sort of heart shaped. And less melty.

Collectible Sue #2. This was taken by my dad at my parent’s house. I have no idea what all of us were doing there. How rare was that?

Claudia – I did drop a hammer on my nose a few years ago. I was putting up twinkle lights on our porch, using a 6 foot step ladder. I got a phone call mid-light hanging. Came back to move the ladder, forgot I’d left the hammer on top. Moved the ladder. Hammer fell. Hit me smack dab on the nose with the back, tine-y side of the hammer head. Blood everywhere! I’m amazed that that dot is all I’m left with!

Blue Sleepy – I can’t mourn losing my red hair because I can have red hair any time I have enough hair to color! Heck, if I want, I can dye my head red!

Wig Suggesters – I am seriously not a wig person. I’ve got the cutest collection of the softest of hats right now. But I’m hoping to be brave and go bald (if all of my hair falls out, I could end up with patch baldness, that might make me feel more in the mood for a hat). I am going to be a walking learning experience. People stare? I smile and wave. People say words of disgust? I wish them a wonderful day while I smile and I wave.

And I do it because I have this addiction to killing with kindness. I suppose you thought I did it out of the goodness of my heart. You must have me confused with someone more mentally stable.

I’m kind of hoping to go out one day with my Aunt Idelle’s eyebrows. You can’t see them here because they hadn’t reached maximum height,  but she eventually wore the  kind that were drawn almost to her hair line! Also? That is my little grandma’s brother, Pat. How about that mustache?

To everyone who gave me such great news/advice about my port-o-kath: I thank you from the bottom of my heart. You guys calmed me down so much. You don’t even know. Well, you know now. Thank you!

Today, neighbor Judy is taking me to run some errands. And get some lunch. I need to get out of the house and have some fun today.

Tomorrow I have a dentist’s appointment. I keep reading suggestions that I should get my teeth cleaned before the chemo begins. The Big Nugget already shampoo’ed my  hair this morning so once I dip the bottom part of me in some sudsy water (HYSTERICAL BLINDNESS! WHERE IS THE OFF BUTTON ON MY COMPUTER?!!!!!) I’ll be fresh and ready to go. I can shower at 5:00 today (48 hours after surgery) so you know what I’ll be doing then. In case you were wondering. And wanted to drive by and see if you could see anything. Pervs! I’ve got “window treatments” (until the new window trim is in, it’s an old beach towel for a curtain)

p.s. The Big Nugget would make a great shampoo girl. In case anyone with a salon in the neighborhood is looking for a great shampoo girl.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 11:05 am

    When you are allowed to shower with the port in — do you have to cover it up or is it just good to go. Keeping you in my thoughts while trying to keep my collective poo together!

    Man this medical stuff ain’t for sissies.

    hugs you!

    • March 5, 2010 11:08 am

      I’m supposed to be good to go. No cover needed. My surgeon is the type who believes water won’t cause infection. Another woman at chemo class yesterday had a surgeon who wouldn’t allow her to shower for 4 days after her port surgery! 4 days!!!! When I came home after the mastectomy, I had plastic over the drain entry points but I was free to shower with just the steri-strips over the entire surgical incision site. Thank god for that!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    March 5, 2010 11:47 am

    That piece of Dove chocolate at the top is making me hungry. I can’t for the life of me figure out why I don’t weigh 400 pounds.

  3. March 5, 2010 11:53 am

    You should be good to shower with the port – that wasn’t a problem for me. Getting your teeth cleaned now is a good idea. After chemo starts, be sure to stay away from mouth ashes with alcohol. You don’t want to dry the mucus membranes in the mouth too much. That will help keep mouth sores away.

    You are doing great! Enjoy the shower.

  4. March 5, 2010 12:37 pm

    Well, I was going to suggest that you could always color your head with a marker to get the red back, but I didn’t want to come off as sounding insensitive. There are also loads of knit hats that look like a hairdo (like this one –http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=33278609&ref=sr_list_2&&ga_search_query=hallowig&ga_search_type=handmade&ga_page=&includes[]=tags&includes[]=title) that you can get if your bald head gets cold in those frigid Minnesota temps. Or you can just rock the bald. You’re so damn cute, I’m sure you could do it.

    (I so wish I could come over and just hang out with you, keep you company, make dinner for you peeps. We *almost* got orders to Wisconsin, but alas, they are sending us to southern Virginia instead. Oh well.)

Leave a Reply

