Skip to content

Stepping Out

March 5, 2010

My neighbor, Judy, offered to take me shopping today. We’d planned that before Wednesday’s surgery. I really do want to go shopping for new clothes, except I want to wait until the swelling under my arms goes away and I’m able to try on clothing without crying from pain when I accidentally move my right arm too high. And then the port-o-kath site is now red due to my allergy to adhesive tape.

I am a beauty.

So I turned Judy down. But Judy offered again to take me anywhere so anywhere we went. To the pet store to pick up pet food and a brand new shiny pooper scooper for Thing 2. He’s so excited!

Then we headed over to the Galleria for a Big Bowl fix. Only the Big Bowl had a 30 to 40 minute wait and I didn’t want to wait. Not even for a fresh gingerale. Not when there was a Good Earth Restaurant down the hall. Who only had a 15-20 minute wait.

After eating our matching Thai Chicken Wraps (I never order anything else there – haven’t in years) we walked around the upscale mall but bought absolutely nothing. It was just really nice to get out and not to a doctor’s appointment.

Here’s to good friends who offer to take me out and don’t take no for an answer!

And here’s to hoping for days where I don’t have to ride in cars with a little pillow tucked under my arm.

p.s. Buzz? Hello?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2010 10:08 pm

    you need to think of me tomorrow at 2 pm EDT b/c I’ll be in a sauna w/a bunch of hardcore Finns and then jumping in a frozen pond. Put it on your agenda when you’re healed up b/c it totally shuts off your mind for quite a while…

    • March 6, 2010 8:18 am

      Well, there you go. If I want to wear a prosthesis, I can opt for a handknitted set! I should have known that when my first class in college included a gay teacher, in a pageboy wig, taking the class with me, knitting boobs while he listened to lecture, was a sign that one day I’d be wanting one of those knitted boobs!

  2. Paula permalink
    March 6, 2010 7:11 am

    I am constantly amazed at your upbeat attitude, honesty and strength. I admire you.

  3. March 6, 2010 9:43 am

    Yay for good friends! You described my favorite kind of day. I love to do lunch and shopping with a girlfriend. Just looking and laughing at everything. No trips to a dressing room (I hate trying on clothes.) You’re in my thoughts every day. {HUGS}

  4. judybeauty100 permalink
    March 6, 2010 4:22 pm

    so this coming up friday we go to the big bowl…either earlier or later…no waiting. xooxxo

Leave a Reply

