Skip to content

Preventative Maintenance

March 6, 2010

Before I get chemo (Tuesday) I wanted to get my teeth in for a cleaning. Unfortunately, they are connected to me so I had to go, too.

The dentist gave me lots of freebies. Toothpaste with extra fluoride and samples of saliva-activating mouthwashes and gels. One of the side effects of chemo is dry mouth and mouth sores. I’m going to try and avoid the mouth sores because I just know that will lead to my teeth falling out. And then my toenails flying off.

I could be wrong. I’ve read so much information about the side effects of chemo that I’m getting them confused.

I kind of wish I didn’t get my hair cut. Because it’s really cute. It wasn’t cute when it was overgrown and I’d gladly let that crap fall out. But this hair cut is really cute. Like I already said.

Oh well. It’s temporary. As are the side effects of chemo. Unless my teeth fall out. Thankfully that’s not a real side effect. Just one made up by the same mind who was sure we had visitors at the door last Sunday morning.

The Big Nugget finished our taxes this week and with some of the money we expect to be given back, (you’re welcome for the loan, federal government) we’re thinking about buying some new furniture. Inexpensive furniture. We spent a ton of money on our last sets of furniture, which was a big mistake. You spend alot of money and you have to hang onto that furniture for as long as possible. My tastes have changed in the past 15 years. So we saw this set that’s on sale that I really want.

I just don’t want it now. I don’t want to get it, spend the next 4 months being sick on it. Because then I’ll always associate it with how I was sick on it during The Cancer. I’m already sick of the furniture we have so I might as well spend my sick time on it and then happily get rid of it for newer, sick-free furniture.

Am I right?

This entry has been brought to you by a woman who’s thankful to be looking forward to getting done with The Cancer so she can have new sick-free furniture.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    March 6, 2010 12:33 pm

    I think sick-free furniture is the way to go!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    March 6, 2010 1:11 pm

    Hang onto the tax refund and then celebrate the end of chemo by getting new furniture!

  3. March 6, 2010 1:26 pm

    Ah yes, I think you are wise! Wait till you’re no longer sick and then you can enjoy your furniture! Such a wise lady.

  4. yaketyyak permalink
    March 6, 2010 5:30 pm

    I can’t get the thought of flying toenails out of my head!

  5. fran permalink
    March 6, 2010 8:45 pm

    You’re right! Anyway that you want to rationalize it, it’s right!! Go ahead rationalize away! It’s all gooood!

  6. Ruth from SC permalink
    March 7, 2010 9:24 am

    Kathy…I love your logic! You may have cancer but it damn sure doesn’t have you!! You are totally my hero – I vote for the cancer-free furniture celebration when you finish up all the crap-stuff!!

  7. March 7, 2010 12:31 pm

    I’m so glad the dentist gave you a lot of things to help with the effects of the chemo. You can avoid the mouth sores! I did have one toe nail fall off, but it was because I was bound and determined to wear a pair of tennis shoes that were almost too small. It put too much pressure on the big toe nail, and you guessed it – I lost it. That was the ONLY one, so hopefully you will get through it too.

    By all means wait on the furniture! You will associate it with the sickness (which I hope you can avoid like I was lucky enough to do). I took my daughter to eat Chinese after my first treatment. I thought I felt great. I am just now beginning to eat it again, but not with the relish I once did!

    Hugs to you. I will be following you in this adventure and praying for you.

Leave a Reply

