Skip to content

Roid Rage

March 8, 2010

Before tomorrow’s planned poisoning begins, I get to take steroids today. Because you know it’s not tough enough for me to fall asleep and stay asleep at night, let’s throw in some steroids that make me hyperactive.

It’s like (hyperactive)2.

Hyperactive x 100 = Me on steroids.

I have to take them this morning and this evening so that when the chemo starts tomorrow I’ll be less likely to suffer from an allergic reaction the the chemo. Besides the regular side effects.

I probably don’t even have any cancer left in me so it’s very frustrating to be putting my body through what chemo will be putting my body through for the next 18 weeks.

Do you know how long 18 weeks is?

It’s 4 months plus extra weeks!

Look at me, with all the math. Until the chemo kicks in and gives me chemo brain and I end up walking around, slack-jawed and drooling. And bald and bloated from the chemo.

I’m going to be a very pretty girl.

I took the steroids almost an  hour ago. I am peppy and ready to hop in the car and drive very fast to Target. I haven’t felt the urge to go to Target (let alone anywhere) for over a month now.

Me + Steroids + Driving = Decrease in Funds.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:59 am

    When you first said “roid” my mind went somewhere else – totally. LOL! Rest up and know we are all thinking of you!

  2. Gretchen permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:06 am

    Do you have any meditation tapes? Maybe now would be the time to use them. Calming thoughts and all that. Or maybe just Target. Target is good. Thinking of you!

  3. March 8, 2010 10:42 am

    Steroids… This public admission of steroid use may keep you out of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

  4. March 8, 2010 10:51 am

    Good luck tomorrow, Kathy, I’ll be sending loads of good thoughts your way.

  5. March 8, 2010 11:04 am

    Blaming steroids is always a good excuse to eat with abandon. Have at it.

  6. fran permalink
    March 8, 2010 11:53 am

    Kathy, wear elastic stretch pants (sweats) for when you have to go potty tomorrow. You’ll have to take the pole in with you and you’ll want things to be easy and comfortable. Yeah, you don’t have to dress nice, just be comfortable. With all the liquid they pump into you and the liquid they make you drink, you’ll have to go…alot!

  7. Sue permalink
    March 8, 2010 3:42 pm

    Good luck tomorrow! We’ll all be sending good vibes your way!

  8. March 8, 2010 5:13 pm

    Dude I thought when I rest read this you were talking about your butt. And then I was thinking Jesus that’s ALL SHE NEEDS.

    Glad to hear it’s just steroids. Well aside from having energy you are going to be freaking hungry like a logger.

    Or at least I was.

    You should text us from chemo central so we can make you laugh and send you ridiculous pictures of what we are doing to keep your mind busy.

  9. Leslie permalink
    March 8, 2010 5:19 pm

    I will be sending you lots of good vibes and positive energy tomorrow. And no kids!

  10. March 8, 2010 9:27 pm

    I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow…and please wear sneakers…you know, the flying toenails and all.

Leave a Reply

