Skip to content

Scrape Me From the Ceiling

March 9, 2010

I took my second dose of steroids around 8:00 last night so I figured I wouldn’t get any sleep at all. I got a pile of books ready to go. Had an extra snack before bed (Steroid Kathy Want Food!) and watched “Intervention” and “Hoarders” on t.v. until 3 a.m. Thankfully it didn’t take me any time to fall asleep.

I think it  helped that I didn’t even try to use the CPAP. I figured if I didn’t start breathing after a sleep apnea episode I’d get out of going to chemo this morning.

I survived. So now I have to get ready to sit down in a chair while chemo destroys both bad and good cells.

Did you know that I have to stay away from most fresh fruits (except melons, bananas and peeled apples) and raw vegetables (salads, tomato sandwiches! and my favorite Subway veggie sandwiches!) while under duress of chemo? Thank god I’ll still be able to enjoy a warm beet salad with the sauteed spinach! Who wants to take me to POP!?

I also have to stay away from houseplants and fresh cut flowers in water. Who knew? Not me until I read the information they gave me from the oncology office.

But snot-nosed kids can crawl all over me in the infusion room?

Huh.

I woke up this morning and immediately was disappointed that my one dose of steriods didn’t give me more rage. Because had I been feeling all ragey when I bumped into Andrew Zimmern, instead of saying “good job, Andrew” I would have rather said, “Dude, I can’t watch your show any more because you smack your lips all the damn time and that is just so damn gross!” Also, “Where’s your neck?”

This is a posed and approved photo. In real life there is even less of a head to neck segue. And I am hypervigilant with these things because I also lack a strong jaw and tend to flow from head to neck without segue.

In real life he really looks like a human/walrus. Without tusks. Too bad. Tusks wouldn’t allow him to smack his lips.

Wow. That 2nd dose of steroids made me mean(er)!

I can’t decide if I should load up my rolling backpack, the one my school friends call me a nerd for using, to take with me to chemo. And stock it with all sorts of random things or if I should attend my first chemo, ever, with my Coach tote that my school friends covet. I’ve been going back and forth all week long.

All the decisions I’ve been making since January 18th and this is the decision I get stuck over?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 10:32 am

    The “no fresh vegetables” part really got to me. I eat that more than anything else — except ice cream, of course. Some things you can stick in in the microwave for a quick zap and you’re okay. My daughter would call from a restaurant and say, “would you like some deep fried cauliflower?” That worked.

    I found myself craving sushi…

  2. March 9, 2010 11:23 am

    I am thinking about you. I hope all goes well, and you feel just fine post chemo.

    I was surprised at the no fresh vegetables and house plants and all. I never was told that. I don’t know if I would have paid attention or not! They did, however, keep the snotty nosed kids out of the place. I was definitely more afraid of them anyway!!

    Hugs and best thoughts.

  3. March 9, 2010 12:24 pm

    Just think of the chemo as an elixir. Maybe then you can become better friends with it.

    Thinking of you kiddo.

  4. akkelly permalink
    March 9, 2010 12:26 pm

    LAP!!!! I’m sensing an outing…

    (/me crosses flowers off my list of things to send)

    Name the date and I’m in for POP! (Can we find a new and even better beet salad somewhere?!?!??!?!)

  5. poolagirl permalink
    March 9, 2010 1:10 pm

    No cut flowers? What the hell? Good luck, dear one. I am thinking of you!

  6. Maureen permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:00 pm

    Sending good thoughts your way, I hope everything goes well.

  7. Tonia permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:26 pm

    During my chemo I usually took a book, my water bottle (you HAVE to stay hydrated, trust me!), an mp3 player, and nintendo ds. I covered all the bases for ways to pass the time. I didn’t allow anyone to come with me, so I knew I needed options! Good Luck and you’ll do great! My experience with infusion nurses are that they are very committed to making you comfortable and helping you through all this.

    ps–I can’t stress it enough, WATER, WATER, WATER and stool softener. =)

  8. Floweer permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:41 pm

    Thinking of you a lot today. Amazing learning from your blogs. I am glad that watermelon is ok – as if not – I would be out of a job! 1 down – 5 to go. I am ready for #3. FLAG (Fight like a girl – in texting style – I am so cool – just ask me! – not my kids).

  9. March 9, 2010 9:14 pm

    I hope today went well and the next few days also. They always gave me Ativan during infusion and to take the next few nights and so I usually slept pretty well. After my first round of chemo (A/C), I switched to Taxol with Herceptin and they gave me benadryl with it, which made me really wired so I never slept well then.

    I was never told anything about fresh fruits, vegetables or fresh flowers either. Who knew? I’m sorry you’re not happy with your oncologist office. I was lucky to live near Duke and loved my oncologist and all the nurses in the treatment room. They laughed and joked and made it all tolerable.

Leave a Reply

