Skip to content

Listening to my Inner Dan

March 10, 2010

“Drink lots of water. Make sure to stay on top of your anti-nausea medication, even if you don’t think you need it,” were two of the things my friend told me to do, during our conversation the night before my chemo.

“I will!” I said.

But after all that chemo and all the other stuff they give you with the chemo, I figured I had the nausea covered.  Let’s see if I can recall: saline flush, steroid injection, anti-nausea injection, taxotere, cytoxan, blood thinner, saline flush.

I went to bed around 11:30, felt a wee bit nauseous. Figured it was the too  heavy soup I had for dinner plus the piece of chocolate cake. Damn you, chocolate cake! I thought I’d sleep it off. I woke up at 2:30 a.m., feeling incredibly nauseous so raced downstairs to find the medication. Took it and went back to bed, hoping to stop the churning. By 3:30, the churning was better but still there so I got out of bed and got a a little snack, which finally helped and I was able to get back to bed for a few hours of sleep.

This morning I woke up feeling less nauseous, but still a little naseous. So I took my next dose of the anti-nauseau medication and my next dose of steroids.

I just ate a plate of eggs with a side of gingerale and my stomach finally feels better.

I have a few lofty goals today. I’m going to try and get to the grocery store for gingerale. I could call someone, but I want to get out there. I’m also going to sit my ass down and write more thank you notes. Then I think it’s time to get back to jewelry making.

My family’s coming over for housecleaning tonight. Awesome!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 11:32 am

    Ugh. Listen to Dan! I feel so, so bad for anyone who has the churning nausea. I have no idea how it compares to pregnancy nausea. I can’t imagine it is worse, but it probably is. Not something I would wish on my worst enemy. Hope the meds work and you are feeling better today.

    • March 10, 2010 11:33 am

      Carrie – It’s exactly the same. And I know this because I suffered months of morning sickness throughout my pregnancies. I was warned that it would probably be similar!

  2. Niki permalink
    March 10, 2010 12:38 pm

    I am reading you every single day. My friend was just telling me that the chemo nausea is just like morning sickness, and she had chemo for breast cancer, and then was pregnant with 3 kids and had terrible morning sickness during her pregnancies. It sounds as if the medicine is really going to work for you. My friend said the medicine worked for her during her chemo, but of course she couldn’t take anything when she was pregnant. Can I do anything for you? I live in the Philadelphia area and I could fly out with some cheese steaks.

    • March 10, 2010 1:10 pm

      Yes, Niki. That’s exactly what I want you to do – hop on a plane with some cheese steaks!

      Ha!

      I’m chomping on candied ginger right now. Love ginger and hope it works against the nausea as it’s rumored to do.

  3. Leslie permalink
    March 10, 2010 1:18 pm

    I hope you’re feeling better … have been thinking about you a lot.

    My older daughter is pregnant with her second child, and has “hyperemesis gravidarum” (there’s a couple words for your medical terminology class!) – she had it for the entire first pregnancy, too … basically intense nausea for nine months.

    Her doctors have prescribed Zofran every six hours; otherwise she lands in the hospital on IV fluids. She says the Zofran is what is saving her sanity. Right now, she has a pass go directly to the chemotherapy unit, so if the dehydration gets away from her she doesn’t end up in the ER with all the uninsured H1N1 patients who are hacking their lungs out.

  4. erinclot permalink
    March 10, 2010 5:47 pm

    Zofran is saving my sanity right now- even if it just takes the edge off! I’ve found that if I ease up when I feel good I am much worse off the next day (or hours later). Thinking of you lots!

  5. March 10, 2010 6:44 pm

    I had told myselfl I would comment on all of your entries as part of my “Distract Kathy From The Horror Of The Moment,” but you are writing a LOT of entries. Especially for Someone With Cancer. As miserable as cancer is, it hasn’t slowed down your writing habit which is excellent. But I feel the slackage on my end, catching up w/a bunch of entries (omiGAWD yew r SO BRAVE!!!) and trying to remember amusing things here in New England. Here’s one: did you know we tap the trees? There are buckets attached to trees all over. Yet the trees are not crying or dying or muttering. Amazing. Do you need maple sugar?

  6. Mia permalink
    March 10, 2010 8:23 pm

    Since you’re a fan of ginger, have you ever tried ginger ice cream? One of my chemo patients swears by it. That’s her treat for a few days after each chemo cycle. I believe she buys it at Valley Natural Foods in Burnsville. The brand name is Reed’s and you may be able to find it at Byerly’s/Lunds too. She said Zofran and ginger ice cream are the ticket.
    Congrats on getting done with your first chemo. You will kick ass at this. Stay on top of the nausea, that’s always easier than trying to catch up with that bitch. Keep some saltines or graham crackers by your bed & nibble alittle before you even get up if you over sleep your nausea meds. Ok, enough of my assvice.

  7. March 11, 2010 5:02 am

    I hope the candied ginger helps. I hate nausea!

  8. Barb permalink
    March 11, 2010 10:48 am

    Niki: You cover the cheesesteaks, I’ll bring the TastyKakes for dessert. Then when Kathy’s feeling better, she’ll get a good taste of Philly!
    Kathy: Love all your Chemo-Color!

  9. fran permalink
    March 11, 2010 12:17 pm

    Are you asleep yet/still? The day after I had chemo, I had energy and felt strong but the 2-3 days after…Wow..I felt as if I had been hit by a ton of bricks and slept, and slept, and slept, and then slept some more. Except to take medication and go to the bathroom, I couldn’t get out of bed. Just go with the flow! I second the use of Zofran…good stuff.

    • March 11, 2010 12:22 pm

      I’m still awake! I think it’s because I took my final dose of steroids last night. That might get me through most of today but maybe tomorrow I’ll be sleeping more. I could use a good, long sleep about now.

Leave a Reply

