Skip to content

Rue Bosquet

March 10, 2010

I woke up at 2:30 this morning with a sucker punch of nausea. Took my anti-nausea medication and waited for it to kick the sucker punch. 3:30 in the morning and I’m sipping on a soda, still waiting.

I hate chemo.

I  needed to go to a happy place so I decided to hang out at Google maps, looking at the map of where The Big Nugget and I stayed, with his friend Chuck – who was attending the Sorbonne, in his tiny Paris apartment on Rue Bosquet. Mere blocks from the Eiffel Tower. Back in 1990.

View Larger Map

“A” is Chuck’s apartment on Rue Bosquet and “B” is the Eiffel Tower. I can’t believe how close we were to the Eiffel Tower!

Unfortunately, Thing 1 was 13 months old, had just had inguinal hernia surgery, and we left him behind with my mom, my little brother & his wife. I was so homesick that it was difficult to really enjoy the trip.

But what a life-changing trip it was. I love Paris. I love the Netherlands. I love Belgium.

I wonder if I got on a plane, could I make a run for it from the chemo?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 5:10 am

    You’ve been to Paris? That IS a happy thought! I hope the nausea goes away.

  2. March 10, 2010 6:21 am

    I’ll meet you in Brussels. Sounds like a divine and happy plan.

  3. Floweer permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:04 am

    I will go to Amsterdam with you! Tomorrow????? Let me know what you need darling!

  4. March 10, 2010 10:25 am

    You know you should make a list of all those cool places you want to go after chemo is all over. I would love to go to Paris. Are you feeling better this morning? I hope they gave you Zofran. That’s what saved my hide. Xo

  5. March 10, 2010 10:47 am

    Ooo I would love to go to the Netherlands! All those tulips! Wooden clogs! Windmills! Little boys with their fingers in the dikes! What’s not to love? Also my (step)mom’s from there, and I’d love to see her ancestral home.

    I’m hoping you’re feeling better now.

  6. May 28, 2010 11:56 pm

    If I had a quarter for every time I came here! Amazing article!

Leave a Reply

