Skip to content

That Didn’t Happen

March 11, 2010

The only lofty goal I accomplished yesterday from my list of lofty goals to accomplish was to go to the store and buy some ginger ale. That I didn’t even drink.

But that’s okay because it was a pretty good day. A good visit from a friend (Thanks Corinne! The lasagna is delicious! But I knew it would be because, dear friend, I know how well you can cook!) and the Merry Maids Mom & Seestor came over and gave the house a quick go-over. I love  having a clean house. Especially when I don’t have to do it.

Wow. I seem to be getting over the guilt of accepting things from people. I could get used to this.

The Seestor brought a huge casserole dish filled with her homemade version of the Barefoot Contessa’s Pot Roast. I believe we have dinner for a month from that dish alone. Plus, the lasagna Corrine brought could feed my family for weeks!

Score!

I’m really happy that I seem to be able to keep the nausea at bay and that I don’t have a metallic taste in my mouth. Today the nausea is less nauseating. Thank goodness. I was kind of afraid that would be my daily existence throughout the entire chemo ride.

***

I’m kind of not looking forward to losing my hair. It’s not that I care if I’m temporarily bald but I don’t want have to deal with strangers talking to me because I have a bald head. Right now I’m just like the rest of the flat-chested girls in the grocery store. But once I’m bald, all sorts of people are going to want to chat, wish me well, and share their stories or the stories of their mailman’s ex-wife’s sister’s plight with cancer.

I do believe that’s really going to piss me off. And I’m saying that lightly.

It will not, however, lead me in the direction of a scratchy wig. I will work on my scratchy come-backs instead.

While we sat in the oncologist’s waiting room on Tuesday, there was a gal gone full-bald sitting nearby. More than a few people had to chat her up. She was very nice about it, even seemed to enjoy it.

I’m not so sure that will be me.

I’ll keep you posted.

But for today, my hair is all there and quite styling this morning.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 1:34 pm

    2 words: skull tattoo. Temporary is fine. Henna tattoos are easy. This way, you’re into political statement instead of empathy prompt….Or, rent out the space to an area business? 7-11? a local microbrew?

  2. March 11, 2010 4:13 pm

    Well, you know how it is: hair today, gone tomorrow.

  3. fran permalink
    March 11, 2010 4:57 pm

    This game has no rules. To each his own as to how to deal with every leetle ting. And that’s why I chose to cover up most of the time, I didn’t want to have to “splain to everyone I met.

  4. March 11, 2010 7:09 pm

    Here’s the thing, though — you see a bald woman, you know what the deal is. Most women don’t voluntarily sport the Mr Clean look. I don’t know why people want to ask women why they’re bald when it’s so obvious. I mean, if my husband ever went through chemo, you’d never notice. He’d probably relish not having to razor his head once a week.

    I met a bald woman at the farmer’s market a couple weeks ago. I did chat her up — but only because she had with her an adorable child who ended up becoming my daughter’s new best friend. However, I never once mentioned her baldness, nor did I stare at her head. I figure it’s none of my beeswax.

  5. March 11, 2010 8:39 pm

    Glad the nausea is better. Hopefully you will start to feel better. Seems like it did get better after the 3rd day. My nausea drugs worked really well and I was only really sick once and that was because I made a bad decision about lunch on chemo day! Tiredness and aching joints were my worst complaints.

    Everyone has to make their own decisions about a wig, they are not for everybody. I wore a wig every day to work. I had to try a couple before I found one I liked (and could tolerate) but I just wanted to feel normal and not get all the pity looks and questions. However, I took it off as soon as I got home and wore hats if I went out. I didn’t like scarves, but that was just me. I had some cute hats and wore them all occasionally, but mostly went with a baseball cap and soft cotton hat to sleep in. (your head will get cold)

    Keeping you in my thoughts

  6. judybeauty100 permalink
    March 11, 2010 10:28 pm

    GOOD FOR YOU!!! now what about lunch tomorrow?? xoxo

  7. March 12, 2010 8:05 am

    It would never even occur to me to ask a bald woman if she had cancer! Sigh, I miss the good old days, when people had manners and minded their own business.

    P.S. I think the henna tatto idea is awesome!

  8. Paula permalink
    March 12, 2010 9:01 am

    I am SO glad the nausea is tolerable!! Whew.

    I’m thinking a turban with a big gemstone in the center and a plume.

  9. March 12, 2010 8:35 pm

    I’ve just been able to catch up on my blogs tonight and I’m so glad that you’ve gotten through the first chemo. Thand God for the anti-nausea drugs, right? Hope you’re feeling better each day…oh and love the scarf and sock combo – I may have to repaint my bathroom now!

Leave a Reply

