Skip to content

Pets for Sale

March 13, 2010

A couple of (brave) people have asked how my pets are doing while I’m fighting the cancer fight.

Seriously? Who gives a shit? They’re pets! I think. To myself. And then out loud.

I know. Horrible pet owner. But really, cats are cats and dogs are dogs. That being said, I do like my pets. Sort of.

Right now, while things seem to be placed in proper perspective, who really gives a poo about how the cats and dogs feel because I have cancer.

With my life in it’s current predicament, plus dealing with my son’s life in his current predicament, I wouldn’t be too sad for too long if the animals wandered off.

Ain’t that something?

I think it has something to do with the fact that it’s Mud Season and that Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, smells like the devil dipped in the carcasses of a million dead moles.

Oh yeah. My olfactory senses are off with the chemo, I’m guessing. Or Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, really does stink. And she was recently taken to the spa.

Also,  that damned baby cat won’t quit sitting on me. She takes up 2/3 of the couch. So when I’m trying to get comfortable, what with the surgery that sliced me from one side to the other, and the achey crap, the last thing I need is a cat wanting to sit on me for hours and refusing to move if I need to shift.

This entry has been brought to you by the dog, who is currently sitting in the back yard because I can’t take the smell of her right now; and the baby cat, who has tried to jump onto my lap, and into my mastectomy scar, several times while I sit at the computer.

(Edited after posting: Of course, I posted this then went upstairs, looked out the window and saw my doggy, all lonely and squirrel-less, sitting in the mud. Let her in immediately. Who’s a good doggy woggy?)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 1:12 pm

    Those people who communicate with animals would say that your cat is trying to heal you with the vibrations of its purring! Yeah!
    Well, it could be true. Wouldn’t surprise me one bit.

  2. March 13, 2010 3:34 pm

    Depends on the animal, just like it depends on the person. We had a lab who would sit with a sick person, not bothering her or anything, just sitting there as if on guard.

    I only had one cat that would sit with a sick kid. The others weren’t interested.

  3. dan permalink
    March 13, 2010 8:31 pm

    she’s baaack hang in there kid

  4. March 13, 2010 11:31 pm

    the cat is totally trying to cure u with the purring. It also wants u to move b/c u created a warm spot. Paradoxical action goes w/all cat activity…

Leave a Reply

