Skip to content

Whatever Lola Wants, Lola Gets

March 16, 2010

I woke up at 5 a.m. this morning, starving. Now I’ve learned that when I listen to what my body wants, it’s not always something I should have. A dozen Dove chocolate eggs were something I should not have allowed this weekend as my body wasn’t allowed to such rich, creamy, delicious chocolate.

So when my body said, “ME WANT GLASS OF MILK AND GIRL SCOUT DO-SI-DOS,” I should thought a little bit about it. But I did not. Because that’s what I do. The first thing that comes to mind.

I got a little glass of milk and two Do-Si-Dos (peanut butter sandwich cookies) then headed upstairs. While walking, I bit the top layer off the first cookie…and part of the peanut butter cream fell off.

Damn. I was trying to remain calm so that I could eat my snack and go back to sleep. Now I had to turn on the light and look for the cream.

I turned the dimmer switch and looked for half a second before I realized that I didn’t want to wake up, I wanted to go to bed. So I turned off the light.

And dropped the cookie that was still together.

I wondered, is something trying to tell me that I shouldn’t listen to what my body wants, that I should not eat the Do-Si-Dos?

I picked the cookie up and tossed it in the trash. I do not like my Do-Si-Dos covered with dog and cat fur. Then I went and grabbed another cookie from the sleeve.

Body trumps psychic cookie smackdowns.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:34 am

    I like having you home during the day!!

  2. March 16, 2010 6:27 pm

    My way of thinking is that, every time I eat a Girl Scout cookie, another Brownie gets a merit badge.

    I am doing my part to fill up the sashes of America.

  3. yaketyyak permalink
    March 17, 2010 4:39 pm

    Send me a Girl Scout – I’ve got a craving for cookies now!

Leave a Reply

