Skip to content

Hair Pool

March 20, 2010

Yesterday my friend CiNDy got me out of the house. It’s not easy to do these days, people. I’m just not in the mood.  But I figured I better because if I continue to sit here, I’m going to grow to the couch. And I really hate our couch right now. I’m sick sick sick of it, I tell you.

So we went out to lunch and then we wandered into Pier 1 Imports for some browsing. I don’t know why Pier 1. I don’t need any more glasses. Nor do I need any bunny plates. I just figured it might be a good place to go. While wandering I said to CiNDy, “I wish my hair would just drop off. You know. Like when your water breaks before you have a baby. Plop. There it goes. That would be awesome!”

CiNDy didn’t seem as excited about  idea as I was.

“You’d be looking at something and then you’d turn to me and my hair would be all over the place! Cool!”

CiNDy didn’t seem to think it was so cool.

I tell you. If that were the case, you could get me to leave the house all the time. I wouldn’t want to go by myself but it would be awesome to go out with friends and SPROING! there goes my hair. Clean-up on Aisle 3.

Kind of like a baby pool. Whoever is with me at the time, gets the cash.

I figure it’s going to start going on Wednesday. At 11:17 a.m. I’ll keep you posted. Right now it just feels like regular hair. Just like my body feels like a regular body, if you ignore the gigantic scar and the port-o-kath and the swollen parts and that damned right under arm and how it pains me so. Otherwise, I don’t feel like a body that’s riddled with poison.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 8:26 pm

    I’ll be in the dentist chair on Wednesday at 11:17 AM, but I’ll be thinking about you – even if you got the exact time wrong 🙂

  2. poolagirl permalink
    March 20, 2010 10:04 pm

    I’ve marked my calendar and set the iPhone to chirp.

  3. March 21, 2010 1:35 am

    I wish I was there wherever you are. I’d take you to…hmmm…let’s see…a pedicure.

    Ask the big guy to shave your head. Now. As romantic an idea as it seems, it’s no fun when your hair falls out. Especially if you’re wet when it happens.

    • judybeauty100 permalink
      March 22, 2010 10:13 pm

      thats my job. xoxo

  4. March 21, 2010 3:09 am

    Mine didn’t go without warning. (But my chemo was somewhat different from yours.) As I told the nurse, it felt as if someone were pulling my hair. “You’ll start losing it soon,” she told me. It started slowly, but then I did have son bring his clippers.

  5. March 21, 2010 3:26 pm

    I don’t think it is gonna happen. Seriously not everyone’s hair falls out. When Georgie went through chemo her hair thinned out and got gray, but it didn’t all fall out. She had thick hair to begin with so it just got thinner.

    However, if there is a pool, I will go with the last day of chemo, just when you think you are safe from fallage (not a real word). I think that would fall (no pun intended) under Murphy’s Law.

Leave a Reply

