Skip to content

Hair Today, Goon Tomorrow

March 23, 2010

Day 14 and so it begins. This morning I took a shower and there was a little bit of hair in the drain catcher doohickey thingamabob.

I got dressed and styled my hair. Hair fell on the counter. Not a lot. But a suspicious enough amount. I ran my hands through my hair and along came a dozen or so in each hand.

I did it again.

And again.

“Thing 1! Come here!”

“What?”

“Look what I can do!” I said, running my hands through my hair, showing him my catch.

“Don’t do that.”

“I can’t st0p! It’s so creepy! And so cool!” I almost started to cry. But then I didn’t because, really, it’s more fascinating to me than it is sad. All that science, going through my body. Breaking my hair and causing it to fall out.

I love science. Cause and effect. Load your body with poison, your hair will jump ship.

I called my neighbor, at her salon, and told her that it was time for the big shave. Tonight’s the night.

“Party?” she asked.

“No. Let’s just keep it quiet. If I make a big deal out of it, it might be a big deal.”

And it is a big deal but seeing as how I’ve shaved my head before, it’s not that big of a deal. I know it will be different when I’m totally bald and I’ll deal with that then. But for now, I need to shave it or I’ll just keep running my hands through my hair, dropping strands everywhere. And that’s just gross.

It doesn’t feel different today. Maybe if I weren’t so hypervigilant and didn’t notice the very day it started to fall out. Can I never relax?

I went in for my lab work today. My white count is back into the normal range. No shot for me. Hurray!

To celebrate, I used this as an excuse and went shopping for more dart-less shirts. I found the cutest Anne Klein ruffly sleeveless shirt. In my past life, 7 weeks ago, I didn’t wear ruffles on my chest. My chest was big enough without them. Now, I’m all about the ruffly shirts.

I am officially no longer shopping in the Big Ladies Department. Now I can go back and forth between the regular department and the petite department. And designers make stuff for me. They didn’t make stuff for me 7 weeks ago. Even better, my local department store is having it’s Goodwill sale. Bring in clothing to donate and they’ll give you 20% off coupons for new stuff. I took over 4 dart-filled blazers and 1 dart-filled blouse.

Hair pictures tomorrow.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 2:21 pm

    Good luck on the shave, my friend. Sending you all my best. And yay for ruffles!

  2. dakotagirl permalink
    March 23, 2010 2:41 pm

    Do you ever watch “What not to Wear”? Last Friday nights show had a lady who had a double mastectomy and chose to not have reconstructive surgery. I was thinking about you as Stacey and Clinton showed her how to dress her boob-free self. I don’t think there were any darts.

  3. March 23, 2010 2:43 pm

    Hey Kathy – Will be thinking about you for sure! Let us know how it goes. Can I send you some really cool looking skull caps for summer? Let me know, they are DA BOMB! Hugs and love!

  4. March 23, 2010 3:57 pm

    Bye hair! I’m sorry I didn’t get to say good-bye to you in person. I wonder where you will go on your vacation and how you will come back. Have a nice trip!

    (Ruffles? Really?!) 🙂

  5. March 23, 2010 4:03 pm

    You impress the hell out of me. Seriously.

  6. March 23, 2010 4:11 pm

    You are awesome. Party on!

  7. Gretchen permalink
    March 23, 2010 4:13 pm

    Wow, that did not take long! Good news on the white count, just more proof that you are a fighter! (sorry, lame comment but it’s been a long day)

  8. March 23, 2010 5:02 pm

    You are doing this with so much grace and finesse. You are amazing! Do you still have that carpoola hat or do you want another one?

  9. Floweer permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:13 pm

    You keep going in the right direction. Not where you want tot be – but you are making choices to have this be a positive journey. We are with you. Call when you need to get out. The greenhouse is warm – you could pretend it is summer.

  10. Claudia permalink
    March 23, 2010 9:00 pm

    So many things to WOW over! The white cell count, the shave, the Goodwill coupons, the ruffles AND the PETITE department!! Go girl! Take care of that bald head of yours!! Sunscreen!!!! Moisturizer! xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

