Skip to content

Snatch Your Head Bald

March 26, 2010

I cannot keep my hands off of my hair. I keep running my hands through, coming up with fists full of hair. So creepy. And fascinating.

“Mom! Stop it!” My kids keep telling me.

“I can’t! It’s so cool!”

And then last night, when it was dark, I admitted to The Big Nugget that I wasn’t so fascinated anymore.

By the end of this weekend, if I’m not totally bald, I’m going to look like a crazy patchwork quilt. 51 with the mange. I’m not as happy about this as I thought I’d be. Because you know, for awhile there I really did think this was kind of cool. I’m weird that way.

Yesterday I urgently started making earrings. I figured that my bald head was going to need some fancy accessories.

Photos later.

Today I’m going out with a couple of school classmates for lunch. I miss school. I miss having something more to do than watching my hair fall out and gearing up for the next chemo, which I know will be followed by 7 to 10 days of being far from my happy place.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2010 10:08 am

    I am one of the lucky women who has thin hair as it is, so chemo acted quickly on my hair. I remember sitting in the den, watching TV one night and just pulled it all out. That is one of the vivid memories I have from the chemo!

  2. March 26, 2010 2:01 pm

    Big earrings will save the day. Great big hoopy earrings with a fantastic scarve wrapped around your head. You can do fortunes and make money!

  3. Floweer permalink
    March 26, 2010 7:23 pm

    Glad you are coming over tomorrow. It will be good. Nancy and Patty are coming. See you1

  4. March 26, 2010 8:26 pm

    Ha! I like Diane’s idea. But didn’t they used to scare little kids and tell them the gypsies would kidnap them if they weren’t good?? Yikes.

    Sending you all my best.

  5. March 27, 2010 1:45 pm

    Bald is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

