Skip to content

Hat Hair

March 29, 2010

Hoo boy, did I ever dump a bunch of hair since yesterday! So yesterday it was all good to run to the grocery store, sans chapeau. But today, not gonna do it. I put on my Red Owl hat (the one The Big Nugget picked up for me while I was getting my breasteses removed and he and my little brother were out shopping, without a care in the world!) to run errands today.

By the way, I didn’t notice anyone staring at me while I was working the fluffy-headedness yesterday. Probably because I wasn’t looking around to see how people would react. I should adopt the emo/punk attitude – dress all funky and be all baldheaded, and then when people are staring at me, I can yell – “What are you staring at?!” Which is what I love about the emo/punks. Dress crazy funky just to engage with crotchety peoply so they can yell at them.

I think I should run around, looking for emo kids – walking around them with my baldheadedness just so they will stare at me  (because I’m crazy, of course) and then I can yell at them, “What are you staring at?! It’s not like I put this baldheadedness on, on purpose!” But I won’t do that. Because I have a soft spot in my heart for kids who paint themselves to draw attention, just so they can use it to let off some steam.

Ahem. Where was I. Some people have asked me, “Why you always so smiling when you take your picture with the no hair, K-Lo?” (Why do I write as though you are Chinese and English is your second language? I do not know!) But I am smiling as I take my outdoor photos for 2 reasons: 1) I wonder what my neighbor, Jan, must be thinking while I’m doing it, because Jan’s family room window faces my patio and Jan’s family room’s blinds are often open as I take my own photos of my baldiness, “Oh dear. Kathy must be insane. Why would she want pictures of that baldheadness?” and 2) That damn dog is out there with me, always doing something redonkulous, like running through the bushes with a giant stick in her mouth, and really? The dog’s giant stick is always hitting the bushes and she can’t figure out why.

Oh. Hey. Remember 3 weeks ago when I took the steroids and wrote about how they didn’t effect/affect/effervescent me? Only to talk in hyperspeed while running errands around the planet earth, without breaking a sweat?

That’s me today. However, today I am well aware of how peppy I feel, and I am also aware of how long a night tonight is going to be. But I’ve got all sorts of latenight plans. I’ve got oodles of thank you notes to write and oodles of jewelry waiting to be born.

Also, The Big Nugget bought this 1966 Range Rover and it doesn’t run, so he figures I should just hop to it and get that thing running. Even though I can barely get my own car started and my car works just fine.

Because, you know, every suburban household needs a 1966 Range Rover that could be used when driving through the bushes, in search of giraffes and zebras and lions.

Here he is, with his cohort in purchasing very large things – our neighbor Bruce, who is always available to assist in the purchases of things that don’t fit in a garage so can sit on the driveway. Do not ask me why The Big Nugget bought this. Apparently my cancer was not entertaining enough and he needed something else to occupy his time. A boys got to do something with his hands and if his wife no longer has breasteses to play with, what’s a guy gonna do?

Oh. Sorry. Did you not want to go there?

I bet I could take this apart. I like to take stuff apart. You got a copier that needs looking at? Let me take it apart! Please?!

Oh, my, I’m peppy.

And hungry. So it’s a good thing that Buzz just stopped by with the world’s best hotdish ever: Tater Tot Hotdish. I’ve got so much more to say about that but I plan to write an entire entry about it later.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:23 pm

    Tater tots! Yesssss! And you certainly do have a lot of pep, my dear. I am thinking of you!

  2. March 29, 2010 9:11 pm

    If I could find your blankety blank address, I would send you my printer that fell and got the ink cartridges stuck in unfortunate places. Would that help? I like the Range Rover. I want one. Can you ask Ricky Nugget and Bruce to please quickly fix it up, and then you could drive it out to visit me, and just happen to forget to take it with you.

    Please?

  3. Jennifer permalink
    March 29, 2010 10:46 pm

    Hello,

    I’ve been reading you for a little while now and decided it was time to de-lurk.

    I wanted to let you know that I like your attitude and your sharing your journey here. I wish I had a journal of my journeys and think that I may start writing them now because someday (probably tomorrow) I am going to be more forgetful (though my husband would beg to disagree because when we argue my mind is a steel trap).

    Anyway, I am a three-time hodgkin’s survivor who is living with long-term side effects of radiation and we survivors – we ROCK.

    Keep posting, laughing and surviving!

    Jennifer

  4. March 29, 2010 11:04 pm

    wow. when he gets the RR going the giraffes and lions and elephants and simba and cheetah will definitely you all. that is one handsome car…

  5. March 30, 2010 2:41 am

    I’m voting for new glasses to go along with your new do.

  6. yaketyyak permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:16 am

    “Why do I write as though you are Chinese and English is your second language?” That made me laugh out loud!

  7. March 30, 2010 7:19 am

    That Range Rover is AWESOME!

  8. March 30, 2010 9:10 am

    Your peppy posts always make me laugh out loud because I picture you zooming around the yard like a hummingbird.

    I bet Ricky Nugget could fit the Range Rover in the garage if he parked it sideways. 🙂

  9. Barb permalink
    March 30, 2010 9:54 am

    Good Luck! today, Kathy. Thinking good thoughts for you.

  10. March 30, 2010 10:35 am

    Nice to see you sticking your nose in pictures of Stella-Mira rather than the other way around.

    I’m bringing the urchins along when you’re ready to go on safari. That Bits will come up with all kinds of crazy Chinese stuff and you know they’ll see the giraffes before we will.

    I might have to go out and buy you and the Nugget pith helmets.

Leave a Reply

