Skip to content

The New Lump: mymymymy seroma!

March 30, 2010

Edited: With Pictures!

Just got home from chemo. It went well. Only 5 hours this time, instead of 6.

The family who went through chemo class with us, the ones who asked about kids coming along, were in the infusion room with us today. Right next to us. Brought their kids, who were, thankfully, well-behaved. And the parents made sure they were. Thank you! However, they had the place filled. Trying to take anyone’s visitor’s chair if they got up to use the bathroom or get a cup of water for their own chemo friend. Annoying. And at one point in time, there were 8 people visiting. So very loud. I couldn’t have napped if I’d wanted to. Also, whenever I glanced there way, there was somebody staring at me. Grandmas, Grandpa, Dad, kids. People, please! I am not here for your viewing pleasure. You could tell that the nursing staff was getting annoyed, having to excuse themselves to get to another patient. Having to remove their visitors from empty chemo chairs that were needed for the next patient.

Why does one woman need so damned much attention?

On the good side, they asked where I got my Red Owl cap from. That moved them up a peg. From the ground, up one. 99 more to go! It’s a very tall ladder to get my appreciation.

Question for movie buffs – what movie recently had a scene in a Red Owl grocery store?

Next time we’ll be moved into the new facilities. More space. And hopefully, their children will be back in school.

Now about that lump. My lovely oncologist (oh, how I love her!) felt the lump and said “It’s a seroma”, (According to wikipedia: A seroma is a pocket of clear serous fluid that sometimes develops in the body after surgery) and when she had me lay back, she said, “It’s part of a very large seroma. It’s quite large over here. We’ll watch it and if it doesn’t go down, we’ll have to aspirate it. There’s one on the other side, as well, but it’s much smaller.” And then she had the Big Nugget feel both sides so he could check them for me. God, she’s good. I’m glad I waited so that she could see them, feel them, show them to the Big Nugget, and make me feel a million times better.

She also told me that when the swelling goes down, if I still have puffiness due to either skin or fat, that will be considered part of my reconstructive surgery, even if I don’t have implants put in (which I still don’t intend to do) and insurance will cover the liposuction. Sweet!

Again, she apologized for any symptom I had to suffer, gave me lots of great answers to my page of questions, and hugged me just because that’s what she likes to do. I am so glad I stuck it out in the dump. I have the utmost faith in her, and I told her so.

Chemo #2 done. Only 4 more to go.

My plan for the rest of the day: lots and lots of liquids. More and more liquids. Small meals. Mouth rinsing. More liquids. And then more liquids.

Judy Beauty shaved my head yesterday afternoon. I haven’t take any pictures yet. But rest assured, when I do – I will post them. Afterall, other people need attention, too. Just more quietly.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 3:50 pm

    This whole entry made me smile. Thinking of you makes me smile. Wanting to see your bald little head makes me giggle. ONLY FOUR MORE!!! Woot.

    HUGS!

  2. March 30, 2010 4:01 pm

    Yeah I am jumping up and down happy happy! Have AK rub your head for me okay? Only 4 more to go! yahoo!

  3. March 30, 2010 4:17 pm

    Not only do you have a perfectly shaped round head your glasses are off the charts! Dumb question of the day — I know you lose the hair on your head through chemo, but does that mean you are going to lose *all* of your hair *everywhere* Know what I mean?

  4. March 30, 2010 4:30 pm

    I am so glad it was nothing! Woohoo!! So happy about that!
    I am not understanding having vistors for chemo especially at the mercy of others privacy. It is just hours long, I can understand having a support person but whole families and children? It is just strange to me. Of course I am one of those that get irritated when people come in droves to visit you in the hospital when its outpatient or overnight when they have darkened your door or called you in years. Do you think they have some sort of weird thing for watching others go through things or be in pain or distress?

    PS You have a pretty head!

  5. March 30, 2010 4:31 pm

    When they ‘have NOT darkened your door” I need to proof read. LOL

  6. March 30, 2010 4:52 pm

    Yay seroma!

    My sister and I always went with my mother for her chemo (along with my father) but that was because they were old and needed one of us to drive and neither one of us would subject the other to the two of them alone. We sat in a room the size of a phone booth.

    I keep meaning to comment to you that Cosmic Karen, whose picture still appears on many of our websites, also had both breasteses removed prophylactically, and did not have reconstructive surgery. She had a bra with prostheses which she wore when she felt like it. When I met her, and we were hanging out in her hotel room, she said something like “Oh, I’ve got to get this off!” and she reached up under her shirt and pulled out her bra along with the prostheses and threw them on the bed. Then she said to me “Wanna see?” and she pulled up her shirt to show me what a double looked like. Then we went out for dinner, sans bra and prostheses. If she wore something that needed to be filled out, or she just felt like, she wore it all, otherwise not.

    Bald is a good look for you, btw. I think it’s the smile that helps make it work.

  7. March 30, 2010 5:24 pm

    RE: Chai’s comment — I met Cosmic in real life, and now that I think about it, I realize she had no breasteses. But it took me till someone mentioned her having a mastectomy NOW for me to figure it out. Either I’m dense or it’s just not something that a whole lot of people look at. Unless you’ve got huge bazongas, and then they’re just hard to ignore.

    YAY for the lump not being serious!! I love that your oncologist showed Ricky Nugget what to look for. She’s a keeper!

  8. March 30, 2010 5:25 pm

    New song: mymymymy seroma!

  9. Floweer permalink
    March 30, 2010 5:32 pm

    Glad the news is good. Let me know what you need. I am available.

  10. Suzi permalink
    March 30, 2010 5:49 pm

    Great! Now I have that song stuck in my head! Speaking of head…your head is great bald! I always worry if I lose my hair (chemo or otherwise) that I’d have a horribly shaped head with lots of fat rolls! Yours is perfectly round and fat free. I’ll be thinking good vibes for you to get through this treatment with no nausea….

  11. poolagirl permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:37 pm

    Glad it went well…..and you are darling no matter what.

  12. Paula permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:38 pm

    WHEW! And you do rock the bald and the glasses! I have heard that Zenni Optical (online) has glasses for like $12/pair! I plan to check it out soon, but maybe you want to really start styling?

  13. March 30, 2010 6:39 pm

    That’s where the Big Nugget gets all of his glasses. I plan on shopping for bunch of new glasses, soon!

  14. Lena permalink
    March 30, 2010 6:56 pm

    Three cheers for K-Lo. You look great.

  15. Claudia permalink
    March 30, 2010 7:50 pm

    Great news on the lump!

    I never heard of Red Owl (not a new york thing?) but they sure do make a cute hat!

    Thinking of you. xoxo

  16. March 30, 2010 7:58 pm

    I’m loving your head…makes me want to get out my can of pledge and shine it up a bit.

    Kiddo, you gotta know you are my favourite American Idol…… can you hear me? ( I typing really loud because I live in Canada). Just nod yer shiny noggin….if you can hear me.

    I can’t wait to go bowling with you.

  17. dan permalink
    March 30, 2010 8:05 pm

    ya look great kid keep digging

  18. Angie permalink
    March 30, 2010 10:53 pm

    Ok, you look darling, darling!

    I love the Red Owl hat–please do tell where you got it! Seriously cool! The answer to your trivia question is: A Simple Man. Weird movie, but cool seeing all the St Louis Park-isms.

    You keep on kickin’ ass, grrl!

    Love from Angie, a not-in-real-life-friend, born and bred in Mpls. who now resides in Portland, who thinks you’re the bomb!

  19. Janice permalink
    March 30, 2010 11:10 pm

    What a beautiful bald head you have! I’m so glad the news was good. Yeah!

  20. March 31, 2010 6:10 am

    Only 4 to go! It’s gonna fly! Can you make the next appointments at a different time than the lady with the gaggle of kids? Sheesh, I can understand support, but let’s be reasonable… Your head, it is so perfectly round! I have a flat spot in the back of mine, I think my mother left me in my crib too long or something.

  21. yaketyyak permalink
    March 31, 2010 6:23 am

    That’s good news about the new lump. Phew!

  22. March 31, 2010 3:07 pm

    YAY!!! Glad to hear the news!

Leave a Reply

