Skip to content

The Day After Chemo #2

March 31, 2010

Oh, Angie, so close. The Red Owl hat is homage to the movie A Serious Man (you said A Simple Man. An easy error to make) by the Coen brothers. The exterior of the house was set right here in Bloomington. I’ll try and get a photo of the house for you all soon. I don’t recommend the movie to most people, unless you are truly a fan of the Coen Brothers. Which I am. I drove by the street, when they were filming so I had to watch the movie to see what got put itn. Which was alot. Got a chuckle out of it.

Red Owl was a Wisconsin/Minnesota grocery chain that almost all but died out some time in the late ’80s and was mostly bought up by Super Valu. According to wikipedia, the 2 remaining Red Owl stores are in Green Bay, Wisconsin and Le Roy, Minnesota. Which looks to be somewhere in the direction of Rochester, Minnesota – home of the Mayo Clinc.

My older sis-in-law and friend, Paul, worked at the Red Owl Corporate offices that were in Hopkins, MN, a long time back. We had a Red Owl in our neighborhood, which is where my mom bought our groceries, silverware and stoneware dishes. I couldn’t find pictures of the plates, but this was the pattern of our Red Owl dishes. So 70s. The dishes are long gone, in a landfill somewhere. My mother doesn’t believe in donating. She throws everything in the garbage: crystal punch bowls, silverware, down comforters, books, everything. It drives me bonkers and I offer to come over and box stuff up to take to Value Village but she won’t accept my offer and continues to throw away entire households-worth of reusable goods. Which is where most of my Barbie stuff  currently resides – a landfill near  here.

You can try to get the Red Owl logo hat and coffee mug and other stuff from The Electric Fetus. Home of the t-shirt Ringo Starr wore to the recent grammies. Oh. I just looked at their website and couldn’t find the hats. But they had a t-shirt for $18. Looks like they didn’t have any coffee mugs either. Sorry. Call them and see if they have stuff that’s not listed on the website.

So today, the first day after Chemo #2 and I’m feeling fine. I took my first, ever, Ambien last night and had a good, solid 6 1/2 hours of sleep. Woke up with a normal stomach. Even drank coffee. I know I didn’t do that the 2nd day after my 1st chemo. I think it has alot to do with the fact that I did my normal eating/drinking yesterday and didn’t try to flush all the chemo out in the first four hours. I drank way too much water last time and it made me sick to my stomach. I drank my regular amount of diet coke yesterday and added a vitamin water, lemonade, and some water but not a camel’s worth of water.

I’ve also medicated myself with a prilosec and a senokot-s. Nor more stomachace, heartburn or lack of other things unmentionable like the last time. I want to avoid the anti-nausea medication as much as I can because while it helps the nausea, it causes side effects that end up causing blockage which leads to more nausea.

And then your toenails fly off!

Rumor has it.

I’ll still be on steroids today and tomorrow so I started a “Honey (that’s me) Do” list. Listing such items as “wash kitchen windows” “vacuum up kitty litter that the baby kitty constantly kicks out of the litter boxes” “jewelry birthing!” and “bake something”.

And yes, people who asked, the jewelry I’ve  been making will be going onto my much neglect website soon. I’ll let you know. Poor, neglected website.

Edited: I’m putting some stuff on my etsy website – because it’s so much faster to load it there. For now.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 8:26 am

    How I miss the Red Owl. We would shop there on our vacations in Bemidji.

    Now if you can find a Piggly-Wiggly hat, I’ll buy it for you! (Ooh, look! A reason to google! Off I go!)

    The Ba and your mom would get along mightily. Probably hence the reason We get along so well. 😉

  2. Sue permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:42 am

    Gosh I hope your toenails don’t fly off! You crack me up.

  3. March 31, 2010 8:55 am

    Hell, no, your nails won’t go! I never understood why, because hair and nails are so similar, but my nails — finger and toe — grew faster during chemo.

  4. March 31, 2010 8:57 am

    Just be careful of the toenails. As I said before, I only lost one and that was my fault. I was determined to wear a pair of shoes that were just a tad too small, and there was too much pressure on the big toe! I glad you are handling the chemo so well. I was amazed when I went through it. I was only sensitive to some odors. Hand in there. Love your attitude – gotta keep it positive.

  5. poolagirl permalink
    March 31, 2010 9:53 am

    Gonna send you some steel-toed boots to protect those toenails. Summer is coming. They will look festive with Capri slacks!

  6. dakotagirl permalink
    March 31, 2010 10:38 am

    I worked at our local Red Owl store when I was in high school. My first real job (other than detasseling corn for my Dad).

  7. March 31, 2010 7:05 pm

    have you tried eating mini-marshmallows to quell the nausea?

    i know i don’t have to twist your arm to make you eat candy, but the egg white in the marshmallow causesthe stomach to contract less, so it may help your nausea. try eating a couple when you first feel the slightest bit of nausea, then another every 10 minutes or so.

    it helped me when i was ill.

  8. March 31, 2010 7:37 pm

    You look very cute in a cap, way better than a scarf.

  9. March 31, 2010 8:47 pm

    Somehow, the idea of you walking around the mall shouting “What are you staring at”, just cracks me up!

  10. Floweer permalink
    March 31, 2010 8:52 pm

    Your attitude is awesome. That is your secret to cancer killing powers. Proud of you.

  11. Angie permalink
    March 31, 2010 11:35 pm

    Damn, too many “Man” movies out; A Serious Man, A Single Man. I too love the Coen Bros., but this one was a bit on the depressing side. Will look forward to pics when you’re up to it.

    I will check out Electric Fetus’ website for Red Owl goodies. Thanks!

    Someone at my mom’s chemo clinic suggested she chew ginger gum for her nausea. It didn’t do much for her because she didn’t like ginger, but that’s not to say it won’t work for you or anyone else. I think it’s called Sea-Band Ginger gum and we bought it at a drugstore in the “homeopathic” aisle.

    Hang tough!

Leave a Reply

