Skip to content

The FU Movement

April 6, 2010

I’m starting something new today. Something to add a little fun to cancer. A person’s got to have fun wherever she can, right? I got the idea from 3 children. 2 of them are the children of my friend, akk. The other 1 is from one of the children of my Alaska friend, Terri.

akk, who claims she has no idea what to do with a friend who has cancer, has been spot-on for what to do with a friend who has cancer. She has rallied her troops (her children) and used them to make me smile. Her son, an attendee of a Chinese Immersion (hmmmm, connection between that and child labor from akk’s children?) elementary school planted the seedling in my noggin’ when he sent me a Good Luck sign.

Did you know that FU (pronounced foo) means good luck in Chinese? Do you know how hard I laughed when I opened the good luck sign he made for me? Had my surgery been in the abdominal area, every stitch would have popped right off and I would have died. It was good luck that my abdomen was not the location of my surgery.

And then akk and her daughter took photos of well-wishes, just for me, and sent them to me via e-mail. Each one made me smile, at the least, or laugh right out loud.

*reserving this spot for one of the photos once I get akk’s permission*

So. Life went on. I got chemos #1 & #2 and you know how low I sunk. Boy, do you all know how low I sunk.

And then yesterday, I got a package in the mail that included something special from child #3 in the list of children who have helped me have fun with cancer.

It was a painting of a Good Luck Monkey. All the way from Alaska!

That FU monkey got put right on the bulletin board that sits smack dab in front of me as I sit at the computer. That bulletin board gets looked at alot these days.

Still, I didn’t come up with The FU Movement until this very morning.

You see, I’ve been chatting, via facebook, with another cancer warrior. She and I have been going into the finest details that are known specially to those who go through chemo…the poop issues.

Chemo messes with your intestinal system. Boyhowdy, does it mess with your intestinal system. And it makes things go from difficult to almost impossible, back to OH MY GOD, I WISH I WOULD JUST DIE!!!!! (don’t worry, no more details) It’s all about the movements. And the good luck with the movements. And the good luck with all things chemo. And all things cancer, from the point of inspection to the point of survival.

So this morning, when I woke up, there it was, my cancer theme…The FU Movement. Which is not just about the intestinal system. It’s about all things cancer and the wishes for good luck.

That being said, here’s my FU Movement item of the day:

FU with finding the right hat.

In the package from Alaska that I received yesterday, were 2 of the most beautiful hats from Terri. Who just learned how to knit this winter. Which does not show in the hats she sent me. One of them got me laughing so hard that it has heavily factored into the FU Movement.

But today I’m not focusing on the awesome hats from Terri. I’m saving those for later.

I’m focusing on a hat I ordered from a crafter who sells hats on the etsy website. In my neverending search of the perfect hats. The description of this adorable hat said that it was for adults. When I got it, it was so cute! So apple green (which I love)! So trendy!

And then I put it on:

FU with finding the right hat, right?

I should check the location of the crafter. See if she resides in the land of the Lilliputians. People! I don’t have a big head! What the heck?

FU! The Movement.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 10:57 am

    Oh My God — I am just laughing my ass off while on a conference call and folks on this confrence call are saying “What’s so funny? Is our presentation that funny?” And what do you say to that, while you are hysterically laughing. That hat is just killing me!!

    What a great idea – FU!

    I love it! Thanks for making me giggle on this rainy crappy Tuesday!

    Happy FU!!! You and Poolie need to go on the road together Kathy – I swear to God:) The performances would be sold out across the nation!

    • poolagirl permalink
      April 6, 2010 1:16 pm

      Whaddya say? Think we could make something of it?

  2. Gretchen permalink
    April 6, 2010 11:28 am

    Best hat ever! Hilarious!

  3. poolagirl permalink
    April 6, 2010 1:16 pm

    OMG! I just opened this at work and I am FALLING OUT OF MY CHAIR laughing! What a great hat!

  4. Claudia permalink
    April 6, 2010 2:10 pm

    LOL at the hat!! OMG~!!! hhahahahahahahahahha!!!!! hahahahahahhahahah!!!!!! Best. Hat. Yet!!! Love it. Love you!

    xoxo

  5. Jenn permalink
    April 6, 2010 2:16 pm

    This made me LOL for reals. Saw the FB pic and decided I had to come by. LOL!!!

  6. April 6, 2010 2:31 pm

    It’s actually “perched” on your head. Make sure no kids come around and try to knock it off your noggin. FU with that.

  7. poolagirl permalink
    April 6, 2010 3:58 pm

    Sorry, I had to come back for another look/laugh. Made my day!

  8. Floweer permalink
    April 6, 2010 4:45 pm

    FU – a perfect theme. Love the hat – perfect for a munchkin!

  9. Angie permalink
    April 6, 2010 5:32 pm

    You in your wee little hat! You are cracking my shi@ up!

  10. Paula permalink
    April 6, 2010 5:56 pm

    That is one hilarious lid.

  11. Floweer permalink
    April 6, 2010 7:10 pm

    You look like the leprechaun from Lucky Charms! Dang cute. I had to come back and look – made me smile.

  12. Claudia permalink
    April 6, 2010 8:34 pm

    Still laughing! Dylan said we need to send you a pirate hat! xoxo

  13. April 7, 2010 4:55 am

    I’m loving the fu!

  14. April 7, 2010 11:25 am

    HAHAHAHA omg I cannot stop laughing! FU, as if that weren’t funny enough… but THAT HAT! It’s just perched up there!! Oh that’s awesome. I wonder if she got “adult” confused with “child-sized.” Oh my word.

  15. Mia permalink
    April 7, 2010 1:54 pm

    Oh Lord that picture is hysterical! FU is awesome, little teeny tiny hat perched on top is awesome. Man, you’re having such a hard time finding good hats your hair is gonna grow back before you find one.

  16. Jean permalink
    April 7, 2010 2:26 pm

    That hat looks like a piece from Mr. Potato Head!!!

    And FU Cancer is just waiting to be a bestselling tshirt!!!

  17. April 7, 2010 5:45 pm

    Loving the hat photo – best chuckle I’ve had all week! Keep smiling.

  18. April 7, 2010 10:09 pm

    Kathy, you are such a cute baldie. Try MiraLAX…near a bathroom. It works miracles. However, as usual, ask your doc before proceeding….then close the bathroom door, sit on your porcelain throne and wait for blastoff!

  19. April 8, 2010 7:07 pm

    You make me burst out laughing sometimes! I have a HUGE Rosie ODonnell head, so I would have to wear that on my elbow! Love you, Kathy!

  20. April 12, 2010 12:42 pm

    Damn Spring Break and missing all the fun! (Although I saw the hat on FB and cracked up.)

    Permission granted. All things that make for happy, smiling, get through those #*($&# days 4-7 are good for posting. (I’ll show the Bits when you get them posted so we know what to send next.)

    HUGS!

Leave a Reply

