Skip to content

Folliculae Folliculea Follicuhahahahahahahaha

April 8, 2010

After I posted that FU finding a hat entry, things went downhill. Did I mention that the oncology nurse figured out that the break-out on my head was folliculitis? (inflammation of the hair follicles) I can’t remember if I told you that or not. Anyway, I got a prescription for an antibiotic and I have to make sure that I don’t get a fever.

So far, no fever. But I am getting very weak in the limbs. Not dishrag-weak. Just, white-count-lowish-weak coupled with antibiotics-make-me-weak-weak. And antibiotics make me sick. Also? I have to take them on an empty stomach. 4 times a day for 7 days. That’s a whole lot of empty stomach time. Crap.

This is the tired they must have been warning me about. Not sleepy tired, but I can’t get off of this couch, tired.

I didn’t want to lay around all day yesterday so I called the vetrinarian and got Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, in for her annual exam. No heartworm. She’s good to go. And she’s a very good dog. If you ignore the hyperactivity. When the vet took her rectal temp, she struggled and then whined. But not once did she growl or attempt to bite him. I was very proud of the hyperbeast.

On the drive home, I stopped and picked up some food from The Big Bowl. I couldn’t decide what to order so decided to order 3 things and figure it out once I got home. My lack of chosing is expensive. And I should note here that nothing tastes as good from The Big Bowl as the Panang Curry Chicken. Which, by the way, is very spicy. I love spicy. Only not on those hateful days of 4 through 7. I’ve got to figure out a better way to get through days 4 through 7 the next time.

Today I set up a lofty goal for myself, in order to get off of the couch: Iron a dozen shirts that have been sitting in the laundry for a month. I got through 6 and needed to take a break.

God, I hate our couch.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 12:08 pm

    Hey! Schedule a daily nap for yourself. Of course you’re tired — your body is fighting both the illness and the chemo.

    Have you tried ice cream on the blah days? I don’t know if it will work for you. Generally, “there’s nothing wrong with me that a little ice cream won’t fix.” At least, that’s what it says on my shirt. But sometimes the cold can break through when hot can’t.

  2. April 8, 2010 12:42 pm

    You’ve ironed more in one day than I’ve ironed in the last six years.

    You deserve the nap.

    Thinking of you often.

  3. April 8, 2010 1:01 pm

    Seriously?? Ironing?! Lady, I don’t iron on my best days. Bah.

    Maybe you can set up resting stations throughout the house, so you don’t feel like you’re attached to the house. Is there an armchair you can rest in instead? An Adirondack chair on the deck? Maybe seeing a different view as you’re resting will help. Of course, I am sort of talking out of my butt here, so feel free to ignore as necessary.

    Sending you all my best.

  4. April 8, 2010 1:02 pm

    Errr, attached to the COUCH, I meant. Gah. I really should proofread BEFORE I hit “post.”

  5. Gretchen permalink
    April 8, 2010 1:11 pm

    Do you think it would go better on the “blah” days if you just gave up and ate stuff that’s bland to start with? Lower expectations, less disappointment? Possibly boxed Kraft mac & cheese is the answer?

  6. erinclot permalink
    April 8, 2010 2:42 pm

    I thought about you a lot as the third bag of IV fluids laced with Zofran was drip drip dripping into my arm on Tuesday. Damn dehydration. Spicy food is about the ONLY thing that keeps me going. Did you know you can access Midtown Global Market from Abbott? They have some nice hot La Loma Tamales there.

  7. April 8, 2010 11:16 pm

    You’re tired because your body needs to rest. So…. rest already! Knit something, or make a bobble or a greeting card – sitting/lying down. Doze. Dream. Rest.

Leave a Reply

