Skip to content

Keeping it Coming, Loves

April 9, 2010

Once this cancer crap is behind me, I’m going to have to figure out a way to keep that from my sister and my little sister-in-law. Because if they find out that I’m better, they are going to stop dropping off food. And if they stop dropping off food, where am I going to get such fantastic food?

Yesterday my sister dropped off her homemade Coney sauce and some hot dogs and buns.

The Big Nugget, who eats almost nothing, had 4 Coneys. I had eaten a bowl of macaroni & cheese before she got there and my stomach was full. So I had just 1. Hey! You would have done the same thing had you smelled that sauce!

This past weekend my little sister-in-law made some chocolate/cinnamon molten middle cakes in ramekins (I just made the title up) and included a container of vanilla ice cream

1 for each of us. 3 of us ate them, Thing 2’s got put in the fridge. The next day I’d decided that I was going to have his. I deserved a 2nd one! I opened the fridge and it was gone.

Damn kid ate his cake.

Not fair! stomp stomp stomp pouty lip whine.

My head is doing better today. Not so hot. Not so itchy. I’ve got the stupid antibiotic schedule figured out. 4 pills a day for 7 days, on an empty stomach. No eating 2 hours before and until 1 hour later. Do you know how hard of a schedule that is to follow?

Very. Very hard.

But I’ve got it down to a fine art. 10…4…10…4  Somehow I always manage to wake up near 4 a.m., take the damn thing, and go right back to sleep. It’s killing my stomach but I’ll get over it.

It’s the not eating the 3 hours around the pill that’s just about killing me.

Killing Me! I tell you!

The horror!

I’ve got friends coming over tonight. The intention was to have a bonfire. But the pit hasn’t been used yet this year and it’s full of crap and I don’t have the energy to do anything about it or even direct the cleaning up of it.

I’m just happy to have them come over and join me on that stupid couch that I hate so much!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 11:40 am

    I agree that a med schedule like that is difficult. But it’s yours, and you know when you ate and when you can eat again.

    One of my problems with Husband, when he still lived at home, was that he really didn’t understand “take it on an empty stomach.” I’d wake him up to give him a pill, and he’d say, “As long as I’m up, why can’t I have coffee and toast?”

    There was one other thing — I am not sure I always gave it to him when his stomach was empty. Because he might have had a couple of candies or cookies when I wasn’t in the room. He was a firm believer that, if I didn’t know about it, it didn’t happen. I have a bunch of these stories I tell to his nurses; they think he’s a riot.

  2. April 9, 2010 3:45 pm

    What the heck is Coney sauce?

  3. Gretchen permalink
    April 9, 2010 4:29 pm

    I don’t know what Coney sauce is, either. I assume sauce you use to make a regular hotdog into a Coney dog?

  4. April 9, 2010 4:49 pm

    That would be the sauce you’d put on a hotdog to make it a Coney dog!

Leave a Reply

