Skip to content

Arm Jock

April 12, 2010

If you blog readers haven’t read by now (what kind of a blog reader are you?), Plain Jane has joined the happy funtime cancer ride. It seems like just yesterday I was giving her crap about  not paying proper respect to my own happy funtime cancer ride. I’m really sad (and a whole lot of pissed) that Jane has joined those of us on the crazy cancer train.

***

I don’t know if it’s the getting out that’s got me feeling better or the feeling better so I’m getting out more. I just know that I’m feeling better.

And I’ve only got 5 antibiotic pills left to take.

I plan to celebrate after my last one tomorrow (after waiting for an hour, of course) with eating of the food at any time I want to eat the food.

There ought to be a law against “take on an empty stomach” antibiotics.

My right arm (where 18 lymph nodes were removed) has slid backwards as far as range of motion is concerned. And I know why. When I thought I found that other lump and stomped my feet and cried like the big baby that I am, I quit doing my arm exercises. I’d been an arm exercise trooper. Doing them a minimum of two times a day, sometimes doing them three times a day. And my physical therapist was impressed with how high I could lift my right arm. Not the T-Rex arm I had right after surgery.

But then physical therapy was over and that stupid lump happened. Which, as you know, my oncologist said was a “seroma”. But I know, because this is how I roll, that it’s another tumor and that my body is riddled with them – and my oncologist knows it but she doesn’t want me getting all negative – so she has conspired, with my husband, that I am to stay positive and then one day I will turn into 100% tumor and I will fall over.

Right?

Okay. Maybe not. But I am still suspicious.

Anyhow, yesterday I vowed to myself to start working on my arm exercises again. Mostly because I couldn’t let my arm just hang at my side without having nerve pain. Stupid nerves. They were traumatized during surgery because they had to be moved aside when the surgeon was scooping out the lymph nodes. I am also suspicious that she used a melon baller to do this.

And no, it’s not that my surgeon did a poor job, dealing with my nerves when she was removing lymph nodes. It’s just what happens when your nerves get moved out of the way. They don’t like that. And they tell you they don’t like that.

Because I have been feeling more nerve pain in my right arm, I’ve decided I need to get over my baby self and start working again to make sure I can get as much motion in my arm as will be possible.

It’s not like the arm exercises are tough. They’re not. They’re pretty easy. They just eek me out when I can see or feel the tightness of the “cords”. Gross. But I know they’ll stretch more the more I stretch them.

And that, my friends, is enough whining about that.

Thank you for all of the hat suggestions. I’ve ordered a bunch of scarves and some under-hat hats from headcovers dot com. Something will work just right eventually. Probably about the same time my  hair will come back!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:39 am

    I am right here celebrating the last of those pills with you! And good luck with those arm excerises. Stretch those cords!

  2. April 12, 2010 10:17 am

    Good luck with the exercises.

    The part about removing lymph nodes with a melon baller made me laugh. I feel like that’s probably inappropriate and if so, I’m sorry. But was an excellent visual.

  3. April 12, 2010 11:57 am

    It’s not funny — but I did bust out giggling when you asserted that the surgeon scooped out your lymph nodes with a melon baller. AH! And now I see I wasn’t the only one who feels that way.

    And now I will become a cheerleader and say, YOU CAN DO EEET! And yay for no more antibiotics!

  4. April 12, 2010 1:42 pm

    I will never look at making melon balls in the same way again – nor eating them either (chuckle). Your sense of humor is so wonderful you truly amaze me.

  5. Floweer permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:16 pm

    We will do arm exercises before and after dinner on Saturday. A group experience. Hey – can Stella Mirra Retrieved Golden come over too? Ellie Myrtle German Labrador is wondering.

  6. April 13, 2010 7:19 am

    “I am also suspicious that she used a melon baller to do this.” And…I laughed so hard I spewed coffee all over my monitor. When will I learn NOT to drink coffee while reading you? BTW, I will never be able to use a melon baller again with out thinking of you.
    Good luck with your exercises!

Leave a Reply

